Skip navigation


“Nehi Orange” (Orange Plastic Swings) Playground Series (#16), Nikon D300, 46mm, F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 250, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

Once I outgrew the baby swing I so loved, I graduated to the ‘big girl’ swings at the playground. 

Swings have gone through several manifestations over the years but the ones I most remember are those whose seats were made of molded plastic (hey, it was the 70’s). I preferred this kind since a favorite game of mine to play was to swing as high as I could then jump off, hopefully landing feet first into the sand below. (So, mom, if you were ever wondering about those dirty knees I would come home with, well, now you know. 🙂 )   

When the plastic ones wore out, playgrounds began replacing them with belt

“Rubber Soul” (Black Rubber Belt Swing) Playground Series (#17), Nikon D300, 80mm, F/7.1, 1/320s, ISO 200, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

types. Some were woven of heavy-duty canvas while others were made of  thick rubber. Didn’t really matter the type as each were notorious for wrapping tightly around bare thighs (well, shorty-shorts were the rave) leaving those tell-tale red marks.

Wait, it gets better. 🙂Sometimes the rubber seat was embossed with the manufacturer’s logo which would invariably become branded on said thighs. Seriously! 

I didn’t care much for this type for the reasons listed plus one more: in the heat of summer, the seat would somehow manage to laminate itself to one’s skin making removal tricky if not altogether painful. Ouch!

What we endured for fun, huh? 🙂

10 Comments

  1. <——— rubs thighs knowingly

  2. i’m going to disagree with your conclusion for the following reason: you could flip the belt-type seat over and over until the chain started wrapping around itself, making the seat higher and higher. this was AWESOME because 1) some tall people would have a hard time getting a really good push when the swing was too close to the ground; and 2) the higher center of balance allowed for much faster, much higher, much more dangerous swinging.
    they really need to make these for adults!
    i love the “old west” toning action like it makes me dinner and pleasures me afterward. (too far?)

    • Well, that may have work for you outrageously TALL folks but for us that are vertically challenged, that wouldn’t work! I have to be able to REACH the swing! I still vote plastic (or wood, not picky there).

      And, uh, yeah, but I think what you meant to say is it gives you the nice warm fuzzies. Shame on you! 🙂

  3. Nice shots, we grew up on the rubber version and I still like them!!

  4. I definitely prefer the plastic over the rubber, just because they were more comfortable, AND you could stand on them while swinging.
    I can’t believe these swings don’t have the plastic-wrapped chains!! Don’t these people know how unsafe that is??!! I remember getting pinched by the chains, especially when you’re high enough to get slack in the chains.

    • I forgot about that ! Standing up and swinging was sooooo much fun, too!

      I’ve not seen the plastic-coated chains, anywhere. I guess we like to live dangerously here in Massachusetts! 🙂

  5. Interesting, my elementary school only had those rubber seats. We could make those babies go really high. I found the plastic ones that came later to be a bit hard on the backside.

    • Interesting that the guys seem to prefer the belt swing.

      Perhaps, your backside isn’t quite as padded! 😉


Leave a Reply

