Skip navigation


Man, today was one of those days! The kind that, right from the get go, you just want to get over with and it seems to drag on forever.  

One thing that helps me wind down from a day like this is a nice walk around the neighborhood, camera in hand. I simply tried to enjoy the fresh air and the sounds of the early evening, all the while focussing my lens on those plants I don’t grow in my landscape. 

Alexandrina

“Alexandrina” (Magnolia x soulangeana aka Japanese Magnolia) Nikon D300, 170mm, F/5.6, 1/125s, -10.0EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro ‘Glamour Glow’ Filter

Remembering there was a large Japanese Magnolia tree just around the corner from my house, I headed in that direction and sure enough, found it to be in full glorious bloom! With the light fading I worked quickly, the heavenly perfume of the blossoms wafting all around me and ultimately, lending inspiration to the overall feeling of the photograph. It really is a stunning tree! 

Now, the walk was great but who am I kidding? The only proper way to end this kind of day involves two scoops of Oreo Cookies & Cream… 🙂

24 Comments

  1. Breathtaking. Just lovely – I can almost smell the flower through my screen.

  2. Gee, guess what I did on my lunch hour? Walked around a neighborhood taking pictures of trees not in my garden — primarily magnolias! I’m uploading them as I type this. Cosmic or just that kind of day?

    • Wow, Lynn – that is uncanny! Now, if you tell me you also finished your day with ice cream… 😉

      Can’t wait to see your images! 🙂

  3. ah, or a glass of wine.
    lovely, lovely, lovely. your pix…and the wine.

    • Make it bubbly – champagne or proseco, either is fine – and it works for me!

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!! 🙂

  4. The flower looks great, so are the OOF flowers in the background. M. soulangeana is so beautiful – wish I had room for one in my yard.

    • Thank you, Tom – much appreciated. Yes, you are very astute as it was primarily the OOF flowers in the background that did it for me.

      You need to talk one of your neighbors into growing it for you… 🙂

  5. Composition gold. Nice.

  6. Beautiful shot !!! It makes me so ready for spring here LOL – but I have been saying that forever it seems 🙂 I love your composition and the shape of the stem !! Wonderful !!!

    • Thanks, Melanie! No spring for you guys yet? Well, we seem to dabble here…cold is coming, (again). I have to catch it when I can! 🙂

  7. oh my god, now i would kill for some cookies-n-cream. that was just a mean thing for you to say. best ice cream flavor, in my opinion. can barely handle myself when i come across a big cookie chunk.

    as for the photo- very beautiful. wonderful placement of the bokeh flowers. very pretty how it looks so dark but the blossoms still pop.

    • LOL! Well, then, this should just about kill you! It wasn’t just cookies-n-cream it was OREO cookies-n-cream (nothing worse than getting the ‘knock-offs’ that use ‘chocolate cream-filled cookies’ instead of Oreo’s…might as well enjoy that with a nice can of RC cola…).Oh, and it wasn’t just the ice cream, but ice cream with some marshmallow topping, whipped cream, a drizzle of Reese’s PB topping and rainbow sprinkles (rainbow sprinkles make me smile). YUM! Hit the spot for sure!

      Thanks! Yes, once I saw the diffusion of the background blossoms, I intentionally underexposed to make them pop. Also, I tried to line up the composition such that the main bloom was sort of dancing amongst them.

  8. Yes, the perfect picture for a scratch ‘n sniff monitor 😉 This is beautiful!
    I love Japanese Magnolias. I think ther is ONE in my neighborhood somewhere, but the Southern Magnolias are much more popular around here.

    • Oooooh, wouldn’t that be fun! 🙂 Go on and invent that now, k? But make sure only GOOD scents are allowed through! Lol!

      I love them as well. They line the streets in one neighborhood in Boston and it used to be sooooo pretty driving through this time of year. There are a few in my neighborhoon – this one was just accessible without being invasive. (I really do try not to trespass!)

      Thank you, Michaela!

      • That’s right! I would NOT want to smell those cows you posted not too long ago. Eeewww!! LOL

      • LOL! Too funny (but soooo true!!)

  9. Awesome macro.. Very nice tone and color in this. Nice work!!

    • Thank you, Joe! Nice of you to stop by and comment – appreciated! 🙂

  10. Oh, this lovely picture reminds me, that I must have a look at all the new flowers opening in my garden – also on the 2 Magnolia trees, I planted a few years ago, they’ll have many flowers this year – soon!

    • Thank you! and YES, go out and explore those magnolias!!! LOL! 🙂


Leave a Reply

