Skip navigation


My, what a different feel those same magnolia blossoms have in morning light!

"Morning Magnolias" (Magnolia x soulangeana aka Japanese Magnolia) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/5.6, 1/250s, +0.7EV, ISO 640, Selective Sepia Toning

“Morning Magnolias” (Magnolia x soulangeana aka Japanese Magnolia) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/5.6, 1/250s, +0.7EV, ISO 640, Selective Sepia Toning

Since the background was naturally leaning towards sepia, I opted to enhance those tones while allowing the blossoms to retain their lovely pinkish coloring.  

Works for me! 🙂

14 Comments

  1. the background is awesome! it looks like light sparkling on water. beautiful, soft tones.

  2. They’re almost glowing! SO pretty!
    I looked for that magnolia tree in my neighborhood but couldn’t find it (I know which street, but not sure which house). Maybe it’s all done blooming already, or the snow last month kept it from blooming?

    • I know! – amazing, right?

      You crack me up as now I have this image of you sneaking around your neighborhood looking for magnolias! Hmmm, don’t know about the snow but I suppose it could happen. Magnolias are just known for being pretty hardy.

      Thanks, M! 🙂

  3. Wonderful, I love the sepia tone in the background, awesome Tracy.

  4. sepia seems to evoke a warmth in the viewer and the softness of magnolia petals adds to feeling of gentle softness.

  5. That’s one of the most beautiful photos of flowers that I’ve ever seen. I love the sepia and the pink. WOW!

  6. Of the two recent ones, I prefer this one. I gives me the impression that there is a nice calm pond and a flower garden just outside the frame.

    • Ha! I wish! More like a VERY busy city street! Ooops! Sorry..didn’t mean to spoil the fantasy, so, well, yes, a lovely pond filled with beautiful, white swans surrounded by the most lovely asian garden!! 🙂

  7. Oooh this has a magical feel to it!


Leave a Reply

