Skip navigation


Went to the playground today to see what else I could capture for the Playground Series and lo and behold, someone appears to be looking out for me ‘cuz right there sitting in the grass under one of the basketball hoops is THE saddest looking ball simply begging to be photographed! 🙂

“Dead Ball” (Basketball with Hoop Shadow) Playground Series (#19), Nikon D300, 46mm, F.6.3, 1/640s, +0.7EV, ISO 200, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

Now really – how does one pass that up? 

I liked what was happening with the lines and the hoop’s shadow so I maneuvered the ball from the grass over to the court and placed a few strategic pieces of mulch underneath it to get the positioning just right.

Game, anyone?

12 Comments

  1. You sure did strike lucky there with that find… and it’s always great to shoot some hoops, in more ways than one… 😉

  2. hehehe…reminds me of the ball in my backyard that has been through a few rainstorms and the Texas sun!

    Still works, though.

    • The well-worn ones are always the best kind. Means they’ve been loved. 🙂

      • Exactly! And that’s why I think you’re wrong about this being the saddest ball…. I think the opposite is true: it’s the HAPPIEST ball! 🙂
        This picture is perfect.. .love the shadow, love the lighting, love the processing.

      • Yes, Michaela, I have to agree with you. It may be a sad looking ball, but it is indeed, the happiest. 🙂

        Thank you, thank you, thank you! 🙂

  3. this gave me a “phWOOOW” moment when i first saw it. i think you’ve put a new photo at the top of my best-of-the-playground-series list. followed closely by the repeating line of tires and the AMAZING rusty backboard. god, i really enjoy that rusty backboard.

    so much about this that i love – the sharp shadow of the ball against the diffused shadow of the net; the competing circular lines; the way the court crumbles away like its the end of the earth. love it.

    • You are so good for my ego, Stpehen! 🙂 Thanks!

      Glad you like it! If that hoop shadow wasn’t there, I doubt the image would be as strong. Ironically, the shadow is from the very same hoop in the backboard photo (mant to be, hmmm?) I wasn’t even looking for a companion shot but, in the back of mind, I bet the thought was there the whole time (sometimes it is nice to think in ‘pairs’ of images). I was actually trying to get a base-ball diamond themed shot (didn’t work out). I’m always happy when the trip is not for naught! 🙂

  4. So we both found some basketballs to shoot. I think I shoot them better with a camera actually than with my hands through a hoop. I love this photo especially the shadow by the basketball. It tells a story about the relationship between the ball and the hoop. 🙂

    • Yes, I guess we did! 🙂

      Thank you, Jan! I thought so as well!

  5. Really nice comp.

    • Thank you! This really was a quick and dirty shot. Sometimes that works well for my type ‘A’ personality…don’t dawdle or stress, just follow the gut and take the damn shot! 🙂


Leave a Reply

