Skip navigation


“I Heart You” (Dicentra spectabilis ‘Alba’ aka White Bleeding Heart) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/7.1, 1/50s, -0.7EV, ISO 500

ย 
Happy Earth Day! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

I tried to spend as much time as I could outdoors today simply soaking up all that this beautiful planet has to offer. (That is, until thunder clouds rolled in!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Even so, it wasย stillย a lovely spring day for the most part with lots of activity in the greening landscape.ย 

Bleeding Hearts are one of my favorite plants (amongst many) and I grow several varieties in my garden.ย 

How can you not love theย heart-shaped blooms that dangle oh-so-sweetly off delicate stems?ย 

They are Mother Nature’s magical charms for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

16 Comments

  1. It’s been an amazing day over here too and well worth being out and about… Great shot here though of these cool little flower things.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ours ended with quite the storm! It was short but, man, did it pour!

      Thanks, Brian! (not sure if you’ve noticed, but I’ve added you to my blogroll). ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Awww this is precious. Very beautiful!!!

    • Thank you, Amber! As precious as this planet itself. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. OMG, that is an awesome shot. I love this one. These flowers are beautiful. It’s great that you were able to go out today and enjoy earth day. Looks like a successful day ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Consuelo! Indeed it was! Beside photographing flowers I also got the chance to observe and photograph more of the birds and critters. Always makes for a good day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. is it called a bleeding heart because it looks like there is something dripping off the bottom of it? very interesting flower.

    very cool shot. nice smooth, calming lines.

    • Yes, and if you ever see the pink variety, they look even more like hearts! This is a young blossom ‘cuz as they mature, the greenish-white along either side of the drop part flairs outward, making the whole thing look more like a 60’s hair-do. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nothing else really like these in the garden. I have an unusual variety called “king of hearts” that I’m not sure survived the winter. It blooms much later so there is still hope! Thanks for commenting, Stephen! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love bleeding hearts too! They grow so quickly and delight us with those little hearts early enough in the season to brighten things up after a cold winter. Nice shot! I have one of each type of bleeding heart plant – the white and the red.

    • I agree! I also like how they blooms last a really, really long time. I have an unusual kind called ‘king of hearts’ as well – a real delicate bloom with a lighter pink heart. At one time I even had a yellow variety called a false bleeding heart…that one didn’t survive our NE winters. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thank you, Karma!

  6. I love hearts, so of COURSE I love this photo ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wonder if they would grow in TX? Need to do some research…

    • Ha! Thanks, Michaela!

      You would probably have to plant then in a shady area (they are for the shade) but they shoudl do just fine. Byt he time it gets really hot, the foliage will die back. I have found it good to plant something else near them that will grow up when these are dying back. A late-blooming hosta would work.

  7. A bleeding heart on earth day? A political comment? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the angle and the light.

    • Ha! No, no political commentary. Just my love for Mother Earth! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks!


Leave a Reply

