Skip navigation


A female American Red Squirrel has taken up residence in our large yellow bird house and she has been so much fun to watch and photograph! 🙂

Momma Red

“Momma Red” (American Red Squirrel, Female) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/8, 1/250s, +1.0EV, ISO 500

My hope is there’s a nest of baby red’s inside the house and I’ve been spending lots of time making sure ‘momma red’ is comfortable with me and the camera. (Placing peanuts at the entrance has earned me mucho brownie points). 

Here is a fine capture of her as she sits on the roof of the house in gorgeous late afternoon light. She just finished cleaning her face when she turned towards the camera, sporting this classic female pose. 

My, what a gorgeous girl! 🙂 

15 Comments

  1. awesome shot!!!

  2. She’s adorable! I really hope you get to shoot some baby squirrels… with the CAMERA of course!

  3. What a cutie. Funny, I saw an albino squirrel yesterday and you posted an albino bleeding heart on the same day.

    • OMIGOD! An albino squirrel??! I would have been ALL over that!! 🙂

      (I figure if the mom is this darn cute, can you just IMAGINE if I get to photograph her babies??!) Thanks, Lynn! 🙂

      • I saw it and had to park the car, jump out & grab my camera before the squirrel spotted me and went on it’s merry way

      • Years ago when I worked at Old Sturbridge Village, there was an albino squirrel in residence near the schoolhouse. It’d be pretty funny because I’d be in the midst of giving a group of children a tour and I’d stop mid-sentence to announce “there’s the albino squirrel!” I’d totally have to re-focus the kids’ attention after we spent several minutes trying to see the squirrel, but it was worth it.
        I love your shot of the red-head! Very cute. We mostly have the big grays around here, but occasionally I spot a red, and sometimes even a black one.

      • Thank you, karma! Ooooh, the black ones…those are cool! We didn’t have them in Chicopee but I know my folks see them at their place in Brimfield (on Little Alum, not too far from Old Sturbridge Village which I know well). 🙂

        Ha! I would probably do the exact same thing if I saw an albino squirrel! The kids were probably more interested in that anyways! Ha!

  4. She is so cute and great capture 🙂

  5. She’s cute. Hope you get some shots of the babies.

  6. yikes! i have some catching up to do.

    i really like how the curve of her tail continues around in the white fur on her belly.

    • Hey, where’ve ya been??

      Thanks, Stephen! Well, who doesn’t like a white furry belly? 😉


Leave a Reply

