Skip navigation


Eighteen years ago today, I married my best friend. 🙂  

I felt like a princess on that day, complete with horse-drawn carriage and handsome prince charming by my side. Unlike Cinderella, however, my dream didn’t end at midnight and I’ve been living the fairytale ever since. 

“Love Charms” (Dicentra spectabilis aka Pink Bleeding Heart) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5.6, 1/200s, ISO 640

Has it been easy? Nope, of course not! Keeping a marriage alive and well takes constant vigilance, but the trying times are long forgotten as we’ve made it well past the growing pains. Life is good. 🙂 

He promised to make me laugh and he does so every single day.  

He promised to take care of me and he does that better than anyone.  

He promised to support my dreams and he’s been the greatest fan of my life.  

He promised to love me and chooses to do so even on the days I make it oh-so-easy not to!  

He promised to always be mine and he makes me feel like I’m the only woman on earth.  

I love you, babe. Now and always

Happy Anniversary!  

P.S. I’d still say ‘Yes‘. 🙂

36 Comments

  1. Gee, Tracy, I’m really glad I found your site. Not only do I love your photos, we have some things in common: both grew up in Western Mass, both love bleeding hearts (LOL), I will also have been married 18 years this year, and while today is not my anniversary, it is a special day for me too – my birthday. Have a great day!

    • Happy, happy birthday to you! 🙂 I hope you have a great day as well!

      Funny coincindence, huh?? Small world. 🙂

      Thank you for the wonderful comments. I truly appreciate it!

  2. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY Tracy & Jim!
    Wishing you many more happy and beautiful years together.
    The photo is so perfect for today 🙂

    • Thank you, Michaela!! So sweet!

      (Hmmm, almost like I planned it, eh? 😉 )

    • Lori Hitchcock-Mietk
    • Posted April 24, 2010 at 9:21 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Happy Anniversary Tracy & Jim! You guys are more in love today than ever! Have fun today, miss you love you! xxxooo

  3. Congrats and happy anniversary to you both!

  4. CONGRATS!!!!!! That is awesome:) Love the “heart” flower very cool and creative!!! My husband and I are going on 10 years in November – I hope we make it to 18 too!!!! Have a wonderful anniversary!!

    • Thank you, Melanie! Yeah, this prestigious occasion just screamed for pink hearts! 🙂

      Oh, you and hubbby just HAVE to plan something special for your 10th. (We renewed our vows at Disney – complete with Mickey and Minnie). Was a blast! 🙂

  5. Great post and wonderful photo… My schaatje (sweetie)and I will celebrate our 15th in a few months like you I’ve found a soul mate. Mine’s still the one too…. How lucky can we get? I say Thank You God every day 🙂

    • Thank you, kiwi! YES, so very lucky!!! We really are the best of friends and can be content doing absolutely nothing as long as we are together. Like I said, life is good! 🙂 (Congrats to you and hubby…15th is very special!!)

  6. Congratulations! 18 Years is a good start. 🙂 Nice photo, too!

    • Ha! Thanks, Sean! I couldn’t agree more! Jim and I talk all the time about how we hope we are that ‘cute old couple still holding hands while walking around the Disney theme parks’ when we are in our 80’s’…..! 🙂

  7. Beautiful, I love the colors. And Happy Anniversary. My husband and I have been married for a while too. It’ll be our 17 year wedding anniversary coming up later this year. And yes, I totally feel the same way about our marriage and still going strong. Life isn’t a fairytale, if it was, then everyone who met someone for the first day would be married the day after…and someone would pick a bride only if the glass slipper fit…lol

    • Thank you so very much, Consuelo! We had a very lovely day!

      Congrats to you and hubby! It appears the early 90’s was a good time to get married! So many happy folks! 🙂

      You are sooo right….not a fairy tale but a wonderful adventure when you’ve found the right person to share it with! I feel very lucky!

  8. Awww that’s sweeter than an ABC After School Special. Brings a tear to my eye. Sounds like you landed a good one, Tracy. Happy anniversary to you and yours.

    • Yeah, I know. Kinda sickly-sweet, isn’t it. 😉

      Yes, indeed I did! Who knew the kid in the Levi’s, colorful converse sneaks, Mr. Bill t-shirt and that curly mop of hair would turn out to be the best thing in my life?? 🙂

      Thanks, Dave!

  9. Very sweet in every way.

  10. You can’t say fairer than that… I’m guessing he’s one happy bunny too… 🙂
    Happy Anniversary to you both…

  11. Congratulations and happy anniversay Tracy! Love the photo…..very suited to the occasion!

  12. How beautiful this is ! Pictures and words, thoughts and images they create. Happy Anniversary to you both today and every other day 🙂

  13. congratulations! hope you had a nice day! this is a very sweet post. great color.

    • Thanks! Well, yes, we did but the day would probably sound very boring to someone as young as you. We are just happy to spend the day together (and ending with a nice dinner and a bottle of bubbly doesn’t hurt either!) 🙂

  14. Happy Anniversary!

  15. Whoooo hoooo!!! Happy Anniversary!!! :)) 18 years, WOW. A Huge congrats. :))I hope you two had a wonderful weekend of celebration. Oh and this is a beautiful image to match the occasion.

    • Ha! Yeah, we’re old. 😉 We did have a good weekend! I’d say more productive than celebratory but that works for us. It’s all about being together, building a life and a home. And I wouldn’t want to do that with anyone else! 🙂

      Thank you, Amber! Bleeding Hearts just seemed perfect! 🙂

  16. Great photos on here and congrats with the Anniversary.

  17. Babe – Thanks a bunch. You mean the world to me. I would still ask, glad you would still say yes.

    PS. We all know I am not that good.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Perhaps Tracy of Milkay Photography would be able to let us know if she agrees since it is a special day for her as well!  However, here in Western Mass, the day was about as beautiful as you could ask […]

Leave a Reply

