Skip navigation


After yesterday’s INSANE winds (that snapped one of our patio umbrella poles in half and the umbrella wasn’t even open!), it was so nice to have a calm, sunny, blue sky day today. 

"Pink Sno-ball" (Azalea mucronulatum 'Cornell Pink', Pink Manchurian Azalea) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/7.1, 1/400s, -0.3EV, ISO 400

I was chasing the bumble bees (with my lens, thank you) that were madly scouring the Cornell Pink azalea but with only bee butts to show for my efforts, I turned my focus to the luscious pink blooms instead. 😉 

Upon seeing this shot on-screen, my first thought was of a favorite childhood treat – the Hostess Sno-ball! A creme-filled chocolate cake covered in marshmallow and smothered in pink-tinted coconut – yum!

17 Comments

  1. lovely shot and I agree it does look like a Sno-ball 🙂

  2. Yeah, me too – that sounds good !!!

  3. I love the colors here with the blue sky as the back drop. I know sometimes those bees are just hard to catch.

    • Thank you, Consuelo! Yes, today was just not a good day to catch bees! Next time… 🙂

  4. The wind broke the umbrella pole in half? 😦 um…that is crazy. Sheesh… Well, this flower looks absolutely yummy. mmmm 🙂

    • Yep, right in half. I was actually outside when it happened (picking up other stuff that was getting blown around) when I hear a creak then a snap! and the umbrella is down for the count. Broke right below the metal piece that attaches the two parts of the pole together. Crazy, indeed!

      Of course it looks yummy…it’s PINK! 🙂 Thanks, Amber!

  5. Those sure are some pretty colours… Well, apart from the pink obviously, as I couldn’t possibly admit to liking pink… lol… The blue’s nice though, and so’s the flower too, but do they do them in red, or yellow ??… 🙂

    • Oh, you SO like pink, Brian!! 🙂

      I was just getting tired of all the yellow and muted images of late! Had to shake things up a bit and pink being my favorite flower color (it’s just a happy color, no?) it typically wins out in instances like this. Yeeeeessss, I would have like a nice, little fat bumble bee to accompany the pink-ness, but they were too busy gathering pollen.

      Yea, you can get azaleas in ALL sorts of colors. So, no fears, Brian!

      Thanks! 🙂

  6. The pink is gorgeous against that BLUE sky!

    • Thank you, Michaela! Yes, we had quite the blue-ness yesterday! 🙂

  7. My girls commented on these. “ooooooh, pretty”. You captured their favorite things. Pink & flowers. I think you have two more fans 🙂 I also like the great blue/pink contrast here. Nice!

    I’m now anxious to see some bee photos. 🙂

    • Wow – I am not sure there is higher praise than that! 🙂 Children are such honest souls that when you get their approval, it is an honor indeed! Thanks! Please tell the girls I am so very touched! (Oh, and thanks to you, too.) 😉

      The blue sky definitely won this shot for me in addition to the gorgeously pink blossoms. I photographed some bees awhile back…(https://milkayphoto.wordpress.com/2009/09/10/a-couple-of-bumbles/), I was just hoping for some in flight! I just couldn’t help but think of you when all the bees were giving me yesterday were butt shots! LOL! 😉

  8. I had to chuckle at the reference to the “snowball” treat – when we were kids this was one of my mom’s favorite treats, and my sister and I detested them for completely different reasons. I don’t like coconut and she doesn’t like marshmallow! My mother would smile as she grossed both of us out! LOL!
    The azalea is lovely (and another similarity between our gardens!)

    • Ha! Coconut isn’t my favorite thing but I do LOVE the marshmallow! We used to peel the outer marshmallow layer off of the cake and eat them seperate (hey, it isn’t fun if you can’t PLAY with your food!) 😉

      Thank you, Karma! 🙂

  9. the color is very striking. and i immediately see the sno-ball reference.

    i never was a fan of them as a kid. i had a little-kid-aversion to coconut. don’t know that i’ve ever actually eaten one.

    • Thanks, Stephen! Glad it’s not just me! 😉

      Oh, the chocolate cake with the creme filling is so yummy….so you could have peeled off the marshmallow and coconut quite easily. In any event, I would bet that as an adult, you would find these yumm-o-delicious! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Ooooooh, that smell « Milkay Photography on 03 May 2012 at 1:58 pm

    […] Pink” Manchurian Azalea. Now, while its ‘pinkness’ is indeed impressive (as seen here), I found this time I was more captivated by the flowers’ graceful stamens as they […]

Leave a Reply

