Skip navigation


My old friend the White-Throated Sparrow returned today and offered me the opportunity to get up close and personal! 🙂

Spirit

“Spirit” (White-Throated Sparrow, Adult White-Striped, Zonotrichia albicollis) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/6.7, 1/160s, ISO 640

At this close range we really get to admire all the colorful markings that makes this sparrow stand out in a crowd. I, for one, am diggin’ that little stripe of gold (no, no, not the obvious one on the crown – yes, I agree that is brilliant -but the one right there underneath the eye, see it?) as well as the touch of gold in the wings. My, such a lovely little bird! 🙂

26 Comments

  1. I love your photos of the chipmunks, squirrels and even more: birds – all of them! – And today I am – again – just sitting for a long time looking at this fellow – astonished, overwhelmed, admiring, glad…….. Gorgeous!

    • How sweet of you to say, truels – thank you! You are very kind! My goal is to give all the birds (and critters) their due time in the spotlight! 🙂

  2. Not only did I love this photo but I called my kids over and they did too, so much so that we went though all of your older wildlife photos and they Ohhhed and Aghhhed in delighted fashion and a few of the birds and the chipmunk / squirrel photos topped the favourites list.(They couldn’t decide on a clear favourite LOL) We are marveling on how close you can get with your lens (great zoom!)and all the amazing detail. Great work! Thanks!

    • Awww, that is so sweet, kiwi! I am so glad to hear you and your kids enjoy the critter pics! They bring me joy as well and never fail to make me smile. 🙂 There WILL be more, that’s for sure!

  3. S/He sure as heck beats our run of the mill House Sparrow with those splashes of yellow… Yet another stunning capture of the little critter… 🙂

    • Hey, now, Brian, ALL of the sparrows have their own beauty! I bet this guy/gal gets picked on more by predators ‘cuz of that patch of yellow that is like a little beacon that screams “Hey there Mr. Hawk! Tasty treat over here!” LOL! 😉

      Thanks, Brian! I was very pleased with this shot!

  4. I’m amazed at how sharp your photos are with that big lens! Did you use a tripod or was this hand held?

    • Thanks, Michaela!

      Hahahahaha! Handhold a 600mm lens?? Have you SEEN the size of this thing?? Definitely on a tripod – no doubt about it! (But I appreciate your confidence in my skills! 😀 )

  5. Obviously, this bird wasn’t totally pleased with your first efforts and decided to give you a real model to work with. 🙂

    I think even Roger Tory Peterson would have put down his brush and yielded to this photo. The yellow eye accent is magnificent.

    • (Hmmm, many of my ‘models’ might say the same thing! 😉 )

      Thank you, Scott! That is quite a high compliment! Not sure what to say, but again, thanks much! 🙂

  6. Photos of birds remind me when I was little and took care of a bird’s wing for days. He was so tiny… he then got better and flew away. 🙂

    • Oh, what a lovely story! I am so glad this image reminded you of your childhood and the kindness you showed that little bird! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. Is this guy trying to impress the finches, chickadees and sparrows all at the same time? Great shot! The yellow eye-liner is killer.

    • Ha! Sean, most definitely (and s/he’s doing it!!)

      I love the surprises seen through the lens. I ignorantly thought all the sparrows in the yard were the same. Heck, I thought all the ‘little brownish, stripe-y bird’ were the same. WRONG! 😉

      Thank you!

  8. Just beautiful.

    I need to get me one of those teleconverters, it will be very handy when I go back to the Huntington Library and shoot more photos.

    • Thanks, Juan!

      Yes, the teleconverters are a neat device! I really, really like them! 🙂

  9. I’m still at the point you used to be at with sparrows, I’ll have to pay more attention, get a longer lens or binoculars.

    • Either will work, Lynn! I’ve been amazed at how colorful all the little creatures really are!

  10. What a beautiful bird indeed and I do like the gold under the eye, great capture 🙂

  11. Such brilliant color.. BEAUTIFUL! He’s so cute and ‘sharp’!

    • Thanks, Jan! I can’t take credit for the ‘cute’ part or even the sharp part (that D300 is sweet!) but I’ll take credit for the capture!! LOL! 🙂

  12. Gorgeous shot Tracy of such a gorgeous bird! I am so glad that I have found you (or did you find me first?LOL) Either way, I’m so glad to be able to view your photos everyday. You’re amazing!!

    • Thank you very much, Carol! Hmmmm, now I don’t recall who found who, but no matter! I enjoy your photos(and stories) as well so we are definitely in a win-win situation! 🙂

  13. Lovely photo of the little bird.


Leave a Reply

