Skip navigation


Yep, that’s right folks! Only 30 days left in this Project 365 of mine! Woo-hoo!  

I really can’t believe I’ve almost made it! How will it end? Weeelllll, you’ll just have to stick around and find out, now won’t you? 😉  

Living in a sea-side town, it is very common to see lobster buoys strung out on fences and on the sides of ramshackle buildings. Where do all these buoys come from? One will never know but they do make for colorful decorations!  

“Lobstah Buoys” (Lobster Trap Buoys) Nikon D300, 50mm, F/8, 1/60s, -0.3EV, ISO 400, Color Efex Pro ‘Cross Processing C04’ Filter

I realized I’ve never stopped to photograph them, so this time I did. Once home, I cross-processed the image in Color Efex Pro to yield a Jaws sort of treatment.  

Budump

26 Comments

  1. Aaaaahhhh…..nothing says coastal New England better than a group of buoys, (or lobster pots or fishing rope too) 🙂 I JUST replied to your last photo about how happy I am to have found your 365 project……I look forward to it everyday so I hope it doesn’t end on me in 30 days! I have a feeling it won’t and I hope I’m correct or I’ll be very sad!

    • My, Carol, you are quick on the draw tonight! 😉

      Yep, I agree. So funny that this is the first time (ever) I stop to photo them…strange, huh?

      You are very sweet, Carol! Thank you for your kind words! I doubt my blogging days will be over at the end of the month but I don’t think I will be committing to posting every single day. I need my life back! LOL! So, I have 30 days (left) to figure this all out. Stay tuned… 🙂

  2. I like the colors you captured here – very cool !!

    • Thanks, Mel! I took alot of images of all the really colorful ones but for some reason, these mostly white ones seemed more interesting, especiallywhen I knew I’d probably give them some sort of treatment in post. Funny how that works out that way.

  3. Whew! So glad your blogging days won’t be over yet! Yours is one of my favorite blogs!!! Here’s a little secret to making people THINK you post every day… schedule your post. I started doing that a while ago, and sometimes schedule weeks in advance! I just need to remember the last day that I scheduled a post for, to keep from getting myself in trouble 😉

    I’m not surprised that you never photographed the buoys until now (nice processing, btw)… I live close to Southfork Ranch (remember “Dallas”?) and I had seen it from the outside several times, but it took YEARS until we finally took the tour.

    • No worries, Michaela!

      It’s not that actual posting every day, it’s the pressure to get a great image to post every day! It’s just too much for this type ‘A’ girl. 😉 I’d like the ability to relax and only feel the need to post when I have something I am really excited about!

      Ha! Yeah, I guess the things in our very own neighborhood which we see every day we become blind to.

      Thank you, Michaela! I thought that processing set the mood very well. 🙂

  4. Nice, I think you’re going to need a bigger boat. 😉

  5. Lobster…didn’t get past that. Can you buy them right off the boat? I love lobster..oh, and the photo has a nice feel to it. Jaws is one of my all time favorites films.

    • Mmmmmm, lobster. Yes, I am a lobster fan myself and make a pretty mean NE lobstah roll! 🙂

      Not sure if you can buy them right off the boat, but probably. We get the lobster meat by the pound at a nice little fish shack right near the docks. They do all the work – we get all the yumminess!

      Who doesn’t love Jaws??

      Thank you, Scott! 🙂

  6. Don’t you just love when you notice something different about an object you see almost everyday? Love the colors and textures in this one! And aww, I’m so happy you’re almost there! 🙂

  7. I hope the blog doesn’t end also, especially since I just found you! I do understand the daily pressure of the 365 project. Its a great learning experience, as well as fun, but I remember having plenty of days running around scrambling to figure out what to take a photo of. At least you live near the sea, so that gives you some interesting subjects, like today’s shot.

    @Michaela: do you actually take a new shot everyday or just post one daily?

    • Thank you, Karma! I will be so happy that I accomplished this not-so-easy task! As for what comes next? We shall all have to wait and see. 🙂

  8. Neat shot. I love lobster. So what are you going to do once your 30 days are up?

    • Thanks, Dave! Lobster rules! 🙂

      If I told you I’d have to kill you… 😉

  9. Very cool shot, Tracy. I really like the high-ish contrast this photo has.

  10. Great PP on this. The yellow one with the shiny red band rocks.

    Too bad they didn’t reflect the breaching shark behind you. 😉

    • Hey, thanks, Sean! I LOVE that yellow one!!! Thanks for noticing it!!

      LOL! Yeah, now that would’ve been killer! 😉

      (Oh, and is it just me or does that one with the red on the bottom sorta look like blood??)

  11. awesome shot! the yellow one is rad, and the handwritten markings on some of the others are really cool.

    i will allow you to become a teeeensy bit less rigid with your postings in 30 days, but i won’t stand for slacking!! 🙂 (from a guy whose posts are sporadic, at best.)

    • Thank you, Stephen! Isn’t it strange the things that stand out? I particularly like the ’21’ (or ’27’ can’t be sure) that is hand-written on one. Must be some secret fisherman’s code.

      HA! Yeah, like I’m gonna worry about your approval! 😉

  12. I started posting one a day from that day and then decided to just shoot every day to see what happened, next thing I knew I had way too many photos to post. I’m almost at a year and a half and thinking about revamping everything, but you know what, sing along to “it’s my blog and I can do what I want” and you can too (sung to It’s my party by Leslie Gore)

    • Ha! Excellent advice, Lynn! Congrats on making it through a year and a half! I agree. Someone once commented, ‘as far as I know, there are no Project 365 police so go ahead and do what you like’. I just want to make it throught the rest of this month, then sit back, relax and decide what to do from that point on. I know all you guys will support me which is very comforting! 🙂

  13. Fantastic shot here and the treatment is perfect.. This has a nice “feels like home” feel to it for me.. Missing Newburyport now, oh how I need a trip home sometime soon!!

    • Thanks, Joe! Didn’t realize you were originally from Newburyport (your blog just cryptically states ‘North of Boston). Bet you are missing some good seafood!! (Lobstah roll, anyone??) 😉

      Thanks, Joe! Glad I could take you ‘back home’ for a bit! 🙂


Leave a Reply

