Skip navigation


“L’il Kitty” (Snowshoe Siamese) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/6.7, 1/160s, +0.7EV, ISO 400, Silver Efex Pro B/W Filter

My sister, Lori, has been nagging asking me for quite some time to post photos of my beautiful Snowshoe Siamese cat, Cleo. 😉

It’s not that I haven’t tried to get decent shots of my little girl; it’s more that Cleo isn’t all that, shall we say, accommodating?? If she even suspects that I’m taking her picture, I instantly get the ‘look’. So, I have to resort to using my long lens and catch her completely unawares. 

I was going to save these for Lori’s birthday near the end of the month, but what the heck, Sis – here’s your birthday gift a bit early! 🙂 

The post actually does double duty today. With hubby travelling for business, I know he is missing his furry baby girl back at home, so these will certainly make him smile. 

“Blue-eyed Girl” (Snowshoe Siamese) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/6.7, 1/100s, +0.3EV, ISO 400

Now, as for me, while I am missing seeing his baby blues, I can look at Cleo’s and think of him. 

Awwwwww.

28 Comments

  1. Finally! I’ve been waiting all day for you to post something! 😉
    I didn’t realize Cleo was a Siamese! Those have always been my favorite cats, ever since I was little, because of their pretty blue eyes.
    Love the b&w pic!

    • Oh, what a day it has been! And after a fairly tiring weekend. Too exhausted to explain. Will have to wait until tomorrow.

      Our Cleo is quite the little beauty, ain’t she? Hard to believe she turns 16 this year. She has never lost her ‘kitten-ness’. And her personality is just as sweet. Her eyes have lost a bit of the blue due to her age, so you can imagine what they looked like in her hey-day. We got her from a shelter and cannot imagine the person who decided to abandon her on the streets. Their loss, for sure!

      Thank you, Michaela! 🙂

  2. Wow those eyes are amazing !!! Great shots – really I have no words for these – AMAZING !!!!!!!!

    • Thank you, Melanie! Yes, those eyes get me everytime! I feel so fortunate to have her in our life. Rescued animals are the best! 🙂

  3. Two days in a row and I’m the first to comment LOL! I love the photos of Cleo. What a beautiful girl! My Abby (a toy poodle) is the same way……when she sees the camera, she will NOT look at me. It’s so difficult to get a good photo of her. My Rudy (schnoodle) on the other hand is a big ham!! Please give Cleo a big hug for me and I’m sure hubby will be thrilled with the photos. Happy early bday to your Sis as well. 🙂

    • Welllll, not exactly, Carol. Michaela and Melanie beat you (I’ve been a little slow on approving comments (as well as commenting on other blogs. Sigh. Long day.) But, no matter! I so appreciate your enthusiatic comment!

      Cleo is such a PIA sometimes! You’d think I was trying to steal her essence or something! 🙂 Sounds like Cleo and Abby are cut from the same cloth!

      Consider Cleo hugged! Thanks so very much, Carol!

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you! All my nagging, ahem, asking has paid off BIG time!! She is still quite the beauty, isn’t she?! I love what she is saying to you in the black and white! Now I’ll have to think of something good for your birthday, only 2 weeks after mine!

    • You’re welcome! You’re welcome! You’re welcome! Geesh! The things I do for family… 😉

      Yes, she is still quite the little princess. Funny, in the b/w she is saying “Who is makin’ all that &%$! racket over there?” (It was our neighbor, Nancy.) “Can’t you see I’m trying to hunt here??!” LOL!

  5. a beautiful cat! i like the first one particularly – you can practically see her roll her eyes in the next second.

    • She IS! (And I will tell her she has a tall blonde fan in CA) 😉 Thanks, Stephen!

      Oh, you have her so pegged! If she had any idea at all that I was shooting her, major eye-rolling would have ensued! Typically, she just turns her back to me in disgust and walks away in the pefect “gawd, she is such a dork” stride!

      The b/w one seems to be the favorite. I only converted it because her coloring wasn’t as pretty as in the second image (a little washed out) which seemed to work to the advantage side of things upon conversion. Strange how that works sometimes.

  6. I’m a confirmed Cat person… I don’t have any, but I definitely prefer cats. The first photo in B&W especially is FULL of personality, Cleo is her own person (well … own Cat LOL) and you can clearly see it.
    The look in her eyes is giving you a direct line into her soul, and her stare back, is looking directly into yours… Wonderful photo!

    • Thanks, Kiwi!

      I love dogs, as well, but I, too, am a confirmed cat person!! We couldn’t have gotten a sweeter little kitty than she. You cannot tell from the photos, but she only weighs 6.5 lbs, and most of that, I imagine, is FUR! She has THE softest fur (that sheds everywhere) and her eyes are so pure. I love/hate that about pets and kids – their eyes DO NOT lie! What they are feeling comes through loud and clear (which, of course, is good and bad). 🙂

  7. Cleo is indeed a beauty. My cat is also very camera shy. Only photo that’s any good was when he was stock still watching some wild turkeys in my front yard. Guess I should get out the 80-400 next time. 🙂

    • Thanks, Scott!

      Cleo is less camera shy as she is more ‘camera annoyed’. 🙂 Like she is so above being photographed! She gets photographed often, doing just about anything (and I mean, anything). She already has her own photobook so she is simply acting like the diva she knows she is!! 🙂

      Yes, pull out the big lens and I bet you’ll get a good shot!

  8. I’m sure Sis will be very happy with these shots, and lol at your cat not being photographically accommodating.. Mine is completely disinterested when I get the camera out, and I can even get macro shots… All I get is the “here we go again” look.. These are amazing though, considering you were incognito… 🙂

    • Oh, she is, Brian! (her comments are above).

      I know that look well. That one along with Really? Again?” and “What is it with you and the camera? Enough!” and “Totally not feeling you here. Go away.” LOL!

      Thanks, Brian!

  9. OMG your kitty is soooooo adorable. I just wanna snuggle and cuddle her…awwwwwww….. ok, sorry for the gushing…I just love cute kitties and this is one CUTE kitty!! And beautiful images of her. For a kitty who doesn’t like her picture taken she sure is photogenic. 🙂

    • Thanks, Amber! Oh, you can gush as much as you want to! I don’t mind! 🙂

      I know!! You’d think anything THIS beautiful would LOVE to be photographed!!!

  10. Awwww is right, a very cute kitty.

  11. Beautiful I especially like the black and white treatment.

  12. I’m not a huge cat lover, but I LOVE these photos! Especially the black and white. So cute.

    • Ha! That is a pretty high compliment, Jan – thanks!

      You just couldn’t resist those eyes… how could you?? 😉

  13. This looks my snowshoe, except pretty and probably less ornery.

    • Ha! Cats do have their own personalities, huh? Cleo is very independent, unless, of course, she wants attention or a treat!

      Thank you! 🙂

  14. Oh my gosh! What a beautiful cat Cleo is! and the pictures are just lovely. My favorite, though, is the b/w one.

    Superb shots.

    You’re a cat person too, huh? no wonder you rule. 🙂

    • Ssshhhhhh, she’ll hear you and then she will be impossible to live with – lol!

      Thank you, Juan! I thought you knew? That is why we get along so well! 🙂


Leave a Reply

