Skip navigation


Today’s image is all about the background!  

When I first noticed this teeny-tiny spider, I was on the opposite side shooting in the direction of the bright sun, attempting to capture the threads of the web as they glistened like golden strands. They really were quite stunning but, try as I may, the background color and pattern was simply yucky no matter what angle or aperture setting I used. Sigh.

"Jultagi" (Green Garden Spider) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5, 1/320s, -0.7EV, ISO 640

So, I moved my setup to the other side to see if the background improved. To be honest, I really couldn’t tell as now the sun was over my shoulder making LCD viewing virtually impossible! All I could do at this point was shoot away and hope for the best.  

No idea where all these interesting colors are coming from but I am not one to question life’s little photographic surprises! I love how the web looks like some cosmic galaxy spinning in the background. Pretty darn cool, huh? 🙂

21 Comments

  1. It does look like another world – love the colors – great job!!

  2. I wish I had your skills! Seriously. 🙂

    • Ha! But then you’d have to give up your FANTASTIC cartoon abilities and I wouldn’t want that! 😉

      Thanks, Babs!

  3. The background looks like a Venus Fly Trap waiting for a meal.

    • Hmmm, feeling a bit ‘little shop of horrors’ today, huh? 😉 LOL!

  4. Oh my gosh, I totally love this. I do love the colours and the web and little spider certainly add to the photo.

    • Thank you, Consuelo! This is one of those shots you simply cannot plan for. No one is more surprised than me! 🙂

  5. YES! the bokeh queen is back. this is amazing. stellar and interstellar.

    how, IN THE WORLD, did you coerce the spider into being the same eerie colors as the background?

    • “Bokeh Queen” – my, that is quite the distinction!!! LOL! Thanks, Stephen! 🙂

      I have control over the insect world, didn’t you know?? 😉

      Are you sure you like this one?? Could we be getting over our arachnophobia?

  6. Methinks it’s lucky he’s a teeny tiny spider.. I remember shooting spiders the first time I got my macro lens, and was doing fine until one attached itself to the end of the lens… lol… I’d completely forgotten how close you needed to get…

    You’re right with the colours and galaxy feel here though.. Looks amazing.. 🙂

    • Ha! Now that hasn’t happened to me, but I have had insects jump at the lens and totally scare the bejesssus out of me!! I suppose you can’t blame them…can you imagine this GIGANTIC eye coming closer and closer to you??? Must be pretty frightening for the bug!

      Thanks, Brian! Much appreciated! 🙂

  7. Love the background! Would have preferred a “cuter” bug, but the spider will have to do 😉

    • Ha! Yeah I know you are not fond of spiders. It was the web I was truly after but really needed the spider for context. I don’t have any issues with the little arachnids which is strange because as a child, I was very afraid of them – even Daddy Long-legs (which are totally harmless!) Turns out, most spiders we see are harmless. Of course there are those few who give the entire species a bad name!

      Thanks, Michaela! 🙂

      • I don’t mind spiders THAT much either (as long as they’re small!) and have taken pictures of a few of them myself.

      • Yeah, but, wasn’t that in a blog post titled ‘Squished’? 😉

  8. Wait… a cuter bug on a LEAF (or something), NOT caught in the spider web!!!!

  9. I remember trying to capture a sparkling wet spider web for a picture of the day. It was frustrating! The camera just didn’t seem to see what I saw. I agree that your background here is very cool – otherworldly. I could do without the creepy yellow spider though!

    • Yes, it can be so very frustrating! I’ve had photographic experiences JUST LIKE THAT! Sometimes, you just have to move on and try another day. Or, if you are Type A like moi, you work the subject to DEATH and try just about every trick you can come up with and hope the magic happens!

      Thanks! That spider is no more than 1/4″ dia in size…he just LOOKS creepy in the photo! (But, I suppose we don’t look so good when some stranger shoves a camera in our face! lol!) 🙂

  10. Thanks, Alan! Much obliged! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Alan S. Hochman Photography on 04 Jun 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Golden Silk Spider and web…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

