Skip navigation


"Gloria" (Rhododendron maximum var. 'album', aka Rosebay Rhododendron) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/10, 1/200s, -1.0EV, ISO 500, SB900 w/Flash Ring, -0.3EV

Is it cliché to give a mom flowers on Mother’s Day? I suppose so, but moms and flowers have so very much in common, dontchathink? 

Both have a unique beauty and will glow when lit from within. 

Both are delicate, yet much stronger than they appear. 

Both are taken for granted but can be counted on day after day after day. 

Both blossom if given a little attention and flourish if given a whole lotta love and care. 

No doubt about it, my mom was one of those ‘strict moms’ and it took me well into my 30’s to understand all that she sacrificed so that I would grow up to be a strong, creative and independent woman. She taught me how to cook, how to shop, how to manage my money, how to find the best deals and how to achieve anything I put my mind to. She raised me to be polite and kind and humble. 

There isn’t enough space on this blog to adequately thank her for her role in giving me a great start in life, but I hope these words and this image in her honor (and namesake) will, at the very least, give her a reason to smile today. 

I love you, mom! Happy Mother’s Day! 🙂

16 Comments

  1. What a beautiful post.. and beautiful picture.
    I haven’t known you for all that long, but I can tell that your mom did a great job, raising you 🙂

    I didn’t get any flowers today… guess I will buy myself some “Happy day AFTER Mother’s Day” flowers tomorrow.

    • Awwww, thanks Michaela. My mom will be glad to hear…er, read, that! 🙂

      No flowers?? Geesh! Well, if I were you, I’d also toss in some “Happy day AFTER Mother’s Day Chocolates” too! LOL! 🙂

      • We bought some strawberries, bananas and some chocolate to dip them in, yesterday… and so far a certain somene has NOT gotten off the couch to make them. If I have to make them myself, then I’m goint to eat them all by myself, too!! (Sounds fair, right?)

      • Oh, you are SO RIGHT on that one! If I were him I’d strongly re-think this!! 🙂

  2. So pretty! And what an awesome tribute to moms! Very nice.

    I did get some flowers today – a couple hanging baskets from hubby, and surprisingly, two small potted roses from my daughter’s boyfriend! Guess he’s going for the brownie points, eh?
    More photo – fodder! Yay!

    • Thank you, Karma! 🙂

      Sounds like you had a lovely day! And yes, boyfriend is pushing all the right buttons there…he’s a smart one! 🙂

  3. Aw, that is so sweet. I’m sure your Mom will love it. I love the photograph too. It’s awesome. I know what you mean about really knowing what your Mom did for you when you got older. It rings true with me too:)

  4. Thank you for the wonderful tribute. My best gifts are what you and your siblings are doing with your lives and I am oh so proud of all of you. God has been very good to me and I can never stop saying how very proud of you that I am. Love and Kisses.

    • Awwww shucks, mom, that means alot to me… 🙂

      (I’m still your favorite, right? 😉 )

  5. Wow, not only is your tribute wonderful, but then what your mom wrote. Bring out the tissues. My daughters were very sweet to me as well.

    • Aw, thanks, Lynn! Yeah, she’s a sweetie!

      Glad to hear you have sweet daughters. A nice reflection on their mom, for sure. 🙂

  6. a very nice gift for your mom! hi tracy’s mom!!

    • Ha! Thanks, Stephen! 🙂

      (Mom – this is Stephen. He is the author of the blog ‘BatteredLeatherJournal’ detailing his trip to China (month long, I think?). He tells wonderful stories and features beautiful photographs. It’s best to start here so you know a bit of background and then begin at the beginning. Who knows? Maybe your next trip will be China! 🙂 )

  7. What a beautiful tribute to your Mom. It gave me goose bumps! Not only that, but the photo itself is absolutley gorgeous! I hope your Mom enjoyed her day!

    • Thank you, Carol! I spoke to my mom that night and we had a wonderful conversation about this ‘n that. The true celebration is when I can have her and my dad out to the house for a visit including some really good food and wine!


Leave a Reply

