Skip navigation


Found some more dandelion seed heads to play with today, though they were all pretty battered by the prevailing winds. (For those unaware, it is feeling more like Marchthan May on the coast of Northeastern Massachusetts! 😦 )

“Day Glow” (Common Dandelion Seed Head, Taraxacum officinale) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5.6, 1/160s, -0.7EV, ISO 500, Color Efex Pro ‘Bi-Color’ Filter

With the wind gusts whipping the heads around, I was stunned I was able to capture anything! (In fact, this was the onlyΒ salvageable shot!)Β 

As I was about to hit the ‘delete’ key, I sensed a certainΒ tension in the image, as if at any moment, the seeds would be ripped from the head and sent traveling on the winds to destinations unknown.Β 

Well, ideally, to someone ELSE’S yard! πŸ™‚

25 Comments

  1. The bi-color filter is PERFECT for this shot! I like this a lot!
    Dandelions aren’t so bad… they willgive you more photo ops when new ones grow, and you won’t have to sneak into the neighbor’s yard to get the shot πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, M! (Man, you are quick on the draw today…I am soooo behind!) πŸ™‚

      Yeah, I’m beginning to see your love of these…they are so very interesting and provide different photo ops from one day to the next!

      (Oh, and I have no issue sneaking into my neighbor’s yard!! LoL!)

  2. My favorite of the series, hands down.

    Great treatment of it on top of the clarity. The treatment/filter gives the illusion of a light leak, and just the right one. You’re right, the tension is wonderful. I especially like just how crisp each divot in the dandelion head is.

    • Wow – thanks, Sean!

      The light leak was sort of already there but needed a little ‘bump’, ya know? I’ve just recently gotten into the Nik Bi-color filters and I couldn’t even tell you what made me think to try one today. It just worked! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, even the background is green on the left side with the green part of the plant and yellow on the right with the yellow side with the seed heads… I love the tension and the imminent sense that the last bits could be whisked away by the wind at any second. Maybe it might have been the only usable shot, but it’s still stunning!!! great detail (and I adore detail)Wonderful photo… I’m SO enjoying this photo series (even as much as the Playground series)Thanks once again for another brilliant photo πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kiwi! Not an official series, but who knows? If I sees ’em, I photos ’em! πŸ˜‰

      The coloration you see is intentional and (mostly) due to the bi-color filter I used in post-processing. Things were already heading in that direction and the filter pushed it right to the edge. Oooooh, I love your wording so much better than mine: ‘…the imminent sense that the last bits could be whisked away by the wind at any second.’ Very poetic! πŸ™‚

  4. lovely light – it really makes the seeds glow.

  5. This is a really cool shot, I really like the colors as well.

  6. Great movement in this shot and you don’t have to tell me about the freezing weather and winds, I know them all too well.

    • Thank you, Lynn! Yeah, this weather sucks. 😦 Tracy not happy.

  7. The only salvageable shot… lol.. I can’t believe you even contemplated deleting this… I was going to try my idea with some of our dandelions, but unfortunately you’re not the only one with horrible weather, and the rain has beaten them all in to submission… Maybe I’ll find a salvageable dandelion though and get a similarly salvageable shot… lol… or maybe not… πŸ˜‰

    • Ah, c’mom, Brian, you know how it is. You are going through the images and you find yourself saying ‘crap’ [delete], ‘crap’ [delete], ‘crap’ [delete]…it is easy to get ahead of yourself and delete some that have potential. I am just glad I stopped myself in time! πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Brian! It is still horrible here…cold and today it will damp as well. Adding insult to injury. Those folks in sunny California don’t know how good they’ve got it!

      • Haha.. Yeah I know, and then they get a few spoonfulls of rain… πŸ˜‰

  8. The part I do too well is deleting photos. I know I have vanished some that could have been saved. Such is life in the digital age.

    Glad you gave this one a chance, Tracy.

  9. Wonderful job processing this image! Just beautiful!

  10. I love the way the remaining seeds are pointed toward the lighter side of the photo; it looks like they are getting ready to “head toward the light.” πŸ˜‰

  11. i find the post on this post verrrry interesting. there is a feeling of tension between cold, empty death and warm, bountiful life. turns it into a commentary how quickly you can go from one to the other. or something. thinking too hard, mayhaps?

    • You know how to leave me speechless, Stephen! All that from this image? Wow. You’ve made me look at this in a whole new ‘light’. πŸ˜‰

      If and when I EVER have a gallery showing, I need you there to stand around and spout stuff like this!!!

      Thanks so much! πŸ˜€

      • oh god, i’m the pretentious jackass that i hated in college when they were “pontificating,” making up nonsense meanings for poetry. like if the poet were listening he would scream WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??!

        on the other hand, this is what i saw, and i apologize to no one!!! πŸ™‚

        WHEN you have a gallery showing, i’ll be there! (you will be showing in los angeles, right?)

      • Ha! You crack me up!

        Well, when I am WORLD famous, of COURSE I’ll have exhibits in LA! But by then, I’ll have to pretend I don’t know you… πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

