Skip navigation


Well, at least for the robins! πŸ™‚Β 

You just can’t beat the personality of the bird in the first image! Doesn’t he look like he is having a ball??Β 

“Shake Your Tailfeathers” (American Robin, Male) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/6.7, 1/250s, +0.3EV, ISO 500

In this second image, I really like the colors and movement seen in theΒ water as well as the ‘glow’ surrounding the robin’s head (courtesy of some chartreuse-colored leaves waaaaay off in the distance).Β 

“Bathing Beauty” (American Robin, Male) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/6.7, 1/100s, ISO 640

You’d never know that seconds ago he,Β too, was going nuts in the water! πŸ™‚

28 Comments

  1. Yea he does look like he is having a lot of fun in that first shot – but the second one is amazing !!! Great closeup!!

    • Thanks, Mel! I’m glad folks aren’t getting bored with the ‘birds at the birdbath’ shots! πŸ™‚

  2. Both of these are great. The stop action with all the water caught in the air is fun. The last one is just plain clear and sharp.

    Isn’t it nice to not have to worry about ISO creeping up a little?

    • Thanks, Scott!

      Oh, yes…so great! Altho, I really don’t push my D300 past ISO 640 too often even know ‘they’ say that the noise is minimal! I like crisp! πŸ™‚

  3. LOL My first thought was “someone’s having fun!”
    The pretty water really stands out in the second one.

    • I was glad to see someone havng fun in the water! With the way our weather pattern is going, we should be opening the pool some time in August…lol!

      Thanks, Michaela! πŸ™‚

  4. True nature of life captured.

    • Thanks, goodiegirl!! πŸ™‚

      (That thyme lemonade recipe sound so yummy!)

  5. I love the effect in the first shot – perfectly sharp robin with splashing water all around. That looks like something that could be used for Scott’s new challenge!

    • Ha! Thanks, Karma!

      I did think about that but Scott wants an explanation of why we chose a specific exposure for a certain situation! Many times, sad to say, I get lucky. The first robin showed up right when I had set up the camera so there wasn’t much time to think! Just shoot, dammit!! πŸ™‚

  6. Hey since I started stopping by, this is my first bird “in the birdbath” shot. Most of the others have been on it. This one has some action which is great. I think the top shot, the expression seems more to me of a “um excuse me, you with the camera, ever heard of privacy?” πŸ™‚

    • Ha! You are a stickler for details, Sean!

      I seem to capture alot of those types of expressions. I imagine in the “critter world” of my landscape, I am known as the “papparrazzi”! But, I am also known as “Mrs. Food” and if these guys thought all the treats and fresh water were free, well then, they are sadly mistaken!

      Thanks, Sean! πŸ™‚

  7. Chartreuse !?!?… Lol.. And there was me thinking I made up my own words… hehe… Yeah ok, I know… I guess it does sound more impressive than “greeny yellow”.. lol… And it has to be I guess to go with this shot… Greeny yellow doesn’t quite cut it to be in with that robin eh… Real nice pair of shot Tracy… πŸ™‚

    • LOL! Yeah, I had started to write ‘yellowish-green’ and then just thought chartreuse would either confuse folks or make me sound really, really smart!

      Thanks, Brian!! πŸ™‚

  8. Great Capture, I love the moment you captured..so cute πŸ™‚

  9. How beautiful is he! Look at how the water droplets radiate out in the same shape as the bird… he has a really scrubbed look.
    In the second photo he’s clean and pleased with himself, and the detail in the feathers , beak and eyes is amazing. Gorgeous photo!!! Thank you so much!!!

    • Thanks, Kiwi! I so love watching them in the birdbath – they always have a blast!

      These are actually two different birds (who can tell, right?). This particular bath is a favorite since it is nice and shallow, yet big. I’ve even seen several in there at once! πŸ™‚

  10. Whooooo these are sooo cute πŸ™‚ Love that splashy little bird in the top photo. And in the second I swear he’s thinking, “who’s that peeping chick?”.lol. Sooo cute

    • Thank you, Amber! I think by now they know their privacy is all but lost in my landscape. They don’t seem to be shy!! πŸ™‚

  11. You amaze me!

  12. fantastic textures in the second shot. why is it so amazing when water looks so . . . “liquidy?” and the feathers are beautiful.

    plus it looks like he has an awesome mohawk.

    • YES! Like liquid metal…LOVE that! πŸ˜‰

      I didn’t notice the ‘mohawk’ – I think he was fluffing up the feathers to dry off. I agree – awesome! What surprised me about this image is the perspective I shot it. Was spur of the moment when I saw him filling the frame. All the other elements just drove it home.

      Thanks, Stephen!

  13. great shots! I am forever telling myself, ‘be happy with the gear you have’ but looking at so many of your shots makes me want want want!

    • Aw, thanks Pat! I feel very fortunate to have the gear I have and try my best to do it justice. Be careful what you wish for… more gear means more pressure to shoot! πŸ˜€

  14. I love both shots, but I love seeing the fun time he’s having in the first shot. That’s such a great capture of a wonderful moment in nature. Just beautiful! Can I come sit with you in your yard one day and watch? πŸ™‚

    • I couldn’t decide between the two, either. I thought the first shot showed such great action and emotion while the second shot was all about texture and details. Thanks!

      Of COURSE! Wouldn’t that be so much fun? Warning – there’d probably also be some snacks and drinks involved…just saying…I like to play ‘good hostess’ to my guests! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

