Skip navigation


Ocupado

“Ocupado” (Female American Red Squirrel in Birdhouse) Nikon D300, 1000mm (600mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/7.1, 1/400s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

 
 
For the past few years, a family of wrens have taken up residence in our large yellow birdhouse.

I snapped this shot last year on the very rainy June day the male wren was stocking the nest and wooing potential female mates (he succeeded). 

Suffice it to say, this year, the wrens will need to find new accomodations! 🙂

35 Comments

  1. Lol… Oh dear… Well lets hope he doesn’t have a stock of food in there to eat, or he#ll never get out… Nothing like some bijou accommodation… Sweet shot Tracy… 🙂

    • Wow – you are quick today, Brian! (And I am so far behind…oh, dear). Thanks!

      I know for a fact that SHE 😉 has a stash of food inside AND out since we’ve been giving her plenty of peanuts and sunflower seeds (we love our little red squirrels!). We believe she has a family inside and I am DYING to see them! 🙂

      • Lol.. I was doing my catching up before I post something new…
        And there was me trying to avoid mentioning squirrels nuts and you step right in there… but I guess as it’s a she we can gloss over that… Not gonna ask how you know it’s a she though… Lol… You do have to love them though eh… 🙂

      • lol! We’ve been watching her for quite some time now and have a few photos already of her on the blog. When you have as many squirrels as we do (both greys and reds) you can tell RIGHT away males from females. Males are quite proud of their, ahem, anatomy. We have one grey we affectionately have named ‘Big Balls’ because, well, ah, I’ll let you figure that one out… 😉

  2. That is SOO adorable!! A much cuter subject than the wrens.
    Just don’t feed her *too* much or she’ll turn into Winnie the Pooh, stuck in Rabbit’s house 😉

  3. Cough !!!… “Big Balls !!”… LOL… Reminds me of one of my favourite sayings… “As nutty as squirrel poo”… I think I’ll leave it there though… 😉

  4. Priceless!!! I don’t know squirrels well but don’t you think she has a tiny touch of punk hairdo with the red tuft on the top of her head LOL?
    What gorgeous eyes and again the detail… stunning!

    • Oh, definitely!!!! She is ONE cool chick. FULL of spunk and is quite the spitfire – adorable!! 🙂

      Thanks, Kiwi! 😀

  5. LOL – cute shot !!!!!!

  6. Haaaaaaaaa! So cute! What a great catch!

    • Thanks! I’m like the papparrazzi…I stake out my location and wait for the inevitable! 🙂

  7. The trim on the peephole looks a bit like wings. He’s kind of angelic this way. Fun little shot!

    • We’ve actually have had to change those decorative wood pieces twice since getting the birdhouse (4 years ago, I think?) as some critter had destroyed them over the winter months! This was the first spring that we didn’t!

      And SHE is no angel I assure you! 😉

      Thanks, Sean!

  8. Just too precious. I love this shot!!I can’t wait to see the babies!

  9. I wanna squeeze this little guy, Tracy. I wanna squeeze this little guy soooo badly.

    • Ha! So do I! If you saw her in person, I know you would just coo. She is that damn cute! 🙂

  10. Aw, that is such a cute shot..you’re so talented…such a great moment to get on camera. 🙂

  11. Too cute and a nice cheerer upper for a sleepy Monday morning.

  12. Great timing!!

    • Ha! Yeah, when you watch them for awhile, you learn what they do. She was hoping we’d be getting her more peanuts! 😉

  13. I´ve been thinking a bit about how you manage to make these great squirrel photos, compared to mine, wich mostly is showing a lot of tree and very little squirrel. I´m beginning to think that the two of you have made a deal of some kind…peanuts…hmnn…I wonder if this could slow down my little bandit, too. (It has disturbed almost every bird nests in my garden). This photo is SO cute!

    • Ha! Yes, I’ve been cultivating a really good relationship with the critters in my landscape (squirrels, birds, chipmunks, rabbits, etc.) for many, many, many years! All are extremely well-fed as we have 10 feeding stations (this incudes feeders and platforms), 5 birdbaths and 8 houses, one of which is ENORMOUS and can house 12 families at once! I’ve tried very hard to create a great habitat and it pays off. The peanuts in the shell are a favorite of the squirrels and chipmunks as well as the bluejays, titmice and other birds. It’s gotten to the point that when I open the screen door, they all come running or flying. We’ve even had a few squirres that we can hand-feed, and I can recall a time where I was photographing the chipmunks and had a cup of black-oil sunflower seeds at my feet and one munk came right up to the cup and tipped it over!

      Of course, I also have some really large lenses which allow me to stay far but get great close-up shots! 😀

      Thanks, Birgitte!

  14. ha! little sneaker.

    also, that’s a very cool birdhouse.

    • Yes, she is. 😉

      You have very good taste, Stephen, as this is my favorite birdhouse! I found it on Clearance a few years back at Homegood’s (do you have those in CA?) and loved the artistry and details as well as the fact that it was a WORKING birdhouse (metal-lined hole, good sized, roof comes off for easy cleaning, etc). Plus, you just can’t beat that golden yellow color! It has gotten quite beaten up from the weather and the critters chewing on it but that is called ‘character’, right? 😉

      Thanks, Stephen! 🙂

  15. Very cute, and well framed too!
    🙂

    • Thanks! As you can see, I am partial to all critters – whether they be feathered or furry! 🙂

  16. OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG this is SOOOOOOOO CUTE. What else can I say? Love it!

    • I think you have won the award for most OMG’s in a comment! 😉

      Yep, those red squirrels are just too damn cute for their own good! Thanks! 😀

  17. Very adorable. Can’t believe you caught this! Good timing!


Leave a Reply

