Skip navigation


Make 'em Laugh

“Make ’em Laugh” (Juvenile American Red Squirrels) Nikon D300, 240mm (200-400mm F/4G), F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 2000

I should have said TRIPLETS! Holy cow! This is becoming the clown car of birdhouses! 😉  

Count ’em – three baby red squirrels!!! (Now I know why Momma Red looks so exhausted!) 🙂  Speaking of Momma, she is never too far away and she trusts that I’m not going to hurt her babies so I’ve been allowed to get really close. 

These three are getting very adventurous so I don’t think the vicinity of the house will contain them for long. I am working on shooting some video and hope to post a short snippet so that you can all see just how adorable they are in action!  

 

Bookends

“Bookends” (Juvenile American Red Squirrels) Nikon D300, 350mm (VR 200-400mm F/4G), F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 2000

It’s funny –  like children, they have spurts of tremendous energy, using the house as a veritable jungle gym, sniffing and exploring all around, diving back into the hole at the slightest strange sound, only to pop back out to explore once again. After a period of about 10 minutes, they are worn out and return to the safety of the nest for some needed nap time. 

I never thought I’d ever witness such a wonderful thing and I feel so very blessed to have this opportunity to capture the experience and share it all with you! Enjoy! 😀

Update: I did decide to change the name of the second image from ‘Triplets’ to ‘Bookends’ – just seems to fit, right? 😉

34 Comments

  1. Careful, you’re going to get overrun with critters! Could the bottom photo be any more posed?!! Such hams!

    I’ve been enjoying the slow reveal of the birdhouse over the last couple weeks. One day the lens will pull far enough back to see the whole yard. 😉

    Very fun shots

    • Thanks, Sean!

      I know! I’m getting a little worried at where this is going…each day, another squirrel! 🙂

      The two were really trying to get the third one to come out (must be the runt…they did finally succeed). I almost called the second shot ‘Bookends!‘ They stayed like that for five clicks!

      Once the pool cover comes off (probably tomorrow when hubby is back), the bamboo fence is completed (4 more sections to install) and things are cleaned up and arranged I’ll post some shots of the yard – I promise! 😀

  2. The second one is a keeper for sure. You could not have asked for better positioning of the three reds. I think you need to rename the “birdhouse”. 😉

    • Ha! I’ve been thinking that myself! I figured I’d wait and see if the present occupants ever leave!

      Thanks, Scott! When you take about 300 shots, one of them is bound to be a keeper! 🙂

  3. How lucky you are, to have this little squirrel family so close to your house,and perhaps they are even a bit tame. These photos are SO very cute! It will be interesting to follow them.

    • We LOVE our critters and treat them oh so very well! But yes, VERY lucky that for us that this year momma red decided to make a nest so close and allow us to watch the little miracles! I did get some really adorable video today that I hope to post soon. This is such a precious time as there will come a day when these three will no longer be friends and will fight for food, water and territory. I wish I could freeze this moment in time and keep them just like this forever. Sigh.

      Thank you, Birgitte! Nice to have you following along! 😀

  4. Did you build their house? They remind me of Disney’s squirrels! Remember them? Used to love their cartoons!

    • No, I didn’t build their house but I could have (this girl is handy with powerr tools!). 😉

      What you are thinking of are Chip ‘n Dale and they are chipmunks! The red squirrels do resemble them, tho! 🙂

  5. Haha… Didn’t I question your quantity of nutty neighbours… What an amazing couple of shots, and the bookends is one that you could normally only wish for… Superb Tracy… 🙂

    • Yes, I think you are somewhat psychic, Brian! You somehow knew all along there’d be more! Three does seem to be the limit as I watched and no more emerged today! WAIT until you see the video! OMG – cuteapalooza!!! 🙂

      Thanks, Brian!!! It has been a good couple of shooting days! With subject matter like this, you just can’t lose!

  6. sounds like the bookends shot is getting enough love, so i’ll say that i think the top shot is AMAZING. the crazy positioning of the two on the outside, and then you notice the little upside down face (ha! secret Family Guy reference for anyone who gets it) in the hole – it’s like a 3 stooges frame. the sparkling foliage in the background is so idyllic. plus we get to see more of that elvish fantasy birdhouse.

    really beautiful, happy, sunny mood!

    • Ha! Hey thanks for noticing the upside down face – I chose that shot because of it! What a little goofball!! 🙂

      Yes, I’ve been in a good mood all day because of these little reds! So much fun to watch! 😀

  7. Awesome!!!! That bottom shot is fantastic. I am enjoying this right along with you!

  8. They are adorable – both are great shots! Can’t wait to see the movie. 🙂

  9. THREE?? I think you’re going to have to find a bigger birdhouse next year 😉
    I really like both pictures, I can’t pick a favorite.

    • I know! Poor li’l Momma Red!! I have photos of her and she just looks wiped out. She’s been getting extra peanuts these days!

      Aw, thanks, Michaela! 😀

  10. Love the upside down face. I love the birdhouse, it’s so ‘fantasy’ like. This would make a great children’s story with all the photos. “Three Little Reds” by Tracy

    • Thanks! That birdhouse was a real score a few years back! LOVE it!

      LOL! ‘Three Little Reds’ – precious! 😀

  11. Very cute! Yesterday I saw a birdhouse in a gift shop that was made to look like an airstream trailer. If this little family gets too big, you may have to send them on their way!

    • Thank you, Tammy!

      Ha! That must have been cute! I can see it now…’Three Little Reds’ on the road – lol! 😀

  12. this is great, they look like their have a lot of fun, love the moments you captured 🙂

  13. My gosh! these photos are just super cool! My favorite is “Bookends”, that’s a great capture!

  14. Wow, is that adorable! Love picture #2.

  15. OMG that second shot is a one in a million catch, Tracy. Really sweet.

  16. Super great read. Really.

  17. hehehe these really make me smile!! 🙂

    • Cool! From how busy you’ve been, I imagine you needed one! Thanks! 😀


Leave a Reply

