Skip navigation


"Swaddled" (Weigela florida Blossom Tucked into Hosta Leaf) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/7.1, 1/125s, -1.0EV, ISO 400

Walking the garden beds this morning, investigating if any damage had occurred in yesterday’s rainstorm, I came upon an unusual photo opportunity.  

The branches of my neighbor’s enormous old-fashioned Weigela hang over our fence and put on quite a showy display of small, trumpet-shaped flowers in spring.  

Yesterday’s storm knocked a slew of those blossoms off, divinely dropping one inside the ideally shaped crevice of a hosta leaf that sits below.  

Now, how could I pass that up? 🙂

22 Comments

  1. Fantastic image!!

    Do you think that your 365 project helped you to see things like that, or did you already know how to “see” before you started?

    • Thanks, Derrick! 🙂

      Good question. Hmmm, I actually think the best thing my Project 365 did for me was to make me waaay less lazy. I now take the time to achieve a great shot, instead of settling for a mediocre one. For example, I shot a bunch of these, went inside, looked at them on computer and realized I didn’t quite get what I was looking for. I had some nice captures, but, you know?? So, I went back out and shot another series and ended up with what I had envisioned. Also, I think since my skills have improved I no longer get as easily frustrated as I did in the past so I am more able to stop and think about what I need to do when I may not be getting the results right off the bat. Wow. I never really thought this much about it but I guess I really needed to do that project! 🙂

  2. Was that *one* day off? 😀 See, it’s a virus and you won’t be cured by just a date!

    Wonderful image. I love the pink wrapped by the green.

    • Ha! Yeah. I was afraid you guys might go away and forget all about me!

      I really like not having to post, but wanting to. It’s a nice place to be. And, if the landscape is gonna hand me photo opps then, what am I to do? 😉

      Thanks, Sean! The minute I saw it I was intrigued and so glad it came out!

      • Yeah, I knew before I started that I would probably quit photography altogether if I officially did a 365 project. I tried for a shutter click a day but got bored. Now I just like weekend bonanzas and opportunistic moments. That gives me more than a photo a day to share.

      • You are a wise man, Sean. 😉

  3. Such a great find, and perfect capture of it!

    Go away and forget all about you? NEVER!! When you didn’t post, I almost went into withdrawal!! Then yesterday there were THREE new posts! Goody!! Except that I couldn’t see the images of two of them in my reader, so I waited until today to come and comment, hoping the images were back. Turns out they only didn’t show up in the reader (still don’t), but they are fine here.

    • Thanks, Michaela!

      Ha! You are funny! I know you’ve realized the magical ‘three’ posts really weren’t…sorry about that! It’s just that I realized I had mis-spelled Weigela in the old post so I corrected it. As for the other one, I had to change the name since I wanted to use “Perfect Fit” on this post, but woke up this morning with an even BETTER name so it was all for naught! Welcome to my crazy thought process! 🙂

  4. That picture is great! So that rainstorm also had nice result 🙂 The green colour in contrast to the Weigela ( a lovely bush – mine are not flowering – yet. But the greatest is the background(s): The upper part has these lines from the leaf – perfect!!

    • Thank you, Truels! I think it is the least Mother Nature could do after sending that heavy rain which toppled many of the peonies! (Had to clip many and now my house has vases filled with blooms – not necessarily a bad thing, mind you). 😉

      This particular variety of hosta (‘Sum & Substance’) is a beauty, putting out enormous leaves (talkin’ HUGE here!) with really great lines. Not the first time the hosta has graced the blog. First time was here and second time, here.

      • Oh, that were 2 great hosta pictures in your prev. posts. I must have more attention on this plant – your pictures of these green colours forming the structure of the leaves attracts me 😉

      • Thanks, Truels! 🙂

        In all honesty, before this project, I didn’t pay the hosta leaves much attention either! Silly us, huh? 😉

  5. It is marvelous…the intersection of a wonderful moment in time and your lens. The image is quite romantic, isn’t it?

    • Thanks, Burst! I actually have to thank you twice, ‘cuz your comment sparked a creative thought in my brain and I’ve changed the image title to ‘Swaddled’. Better, yes? 🙂

  6. Well that sure was a lucky find… You should have said you’d discovered some new type of plant though…. and even given it your own latin name, like the milkayohfleurapuss or something… You’d have had me fooled anyways… 😉

    • Ha! Yeah, I’m not that smart! I guess momma raised me to be an honest girl… 🙂

      Thanks, Brian! 😀

      • Momma raised me to be an honest girl too… I guess that explains why I suffered so much at school.. It must have been the pink dresses… lol… 😉

      • You crack me up!!! 😀

  7. I’m only echoing the others at this point, but wow, what a great find. I would have been running for my camera too!

    By the way, I thought of you the past two mornings: when I got up both yesterday and today, there was a red squirrel nosing around my grill! Despite needing to get ready for work, I ran for my camera. I got one shot of him/her posing on top of the closed grill before it dashed off into the garden. It managed to squeeze itself through the small opening in the back of the grill and poke around inside! Good thing we weren’t cooking.

    • Thanks, Karma! 🙂

      So, red squirrels have made it to Western Mass! How fun! S/he must have been drawn to the smell of food or perhaps looking for a home?? Keep an eye on that…would not be good id s/he started building a nest inside!!

  8. i promise, all evidence to the contrary, i have not gone away and forgotten about you!

    this is a beautiful shot! the colors are so rich! and the texture of that leaf – luxurious. i wish i was that flower, all cuddled up in the pillowy leaf.

    • Ha! I’m glad! 🙂

      Yes…the perfect definition of swaddled. Thanks, Stephen!


Leave a Reply

