Skip navigation


When I was a child, my dad was a giant to me. At a height of 6 feet, he stood a whole foot taller than my mom making him seem larger than life. His hugs would completely engulf you and once captured, you weren’t safe from a barrage of kisses! Yes, my dad loves his kids, and me being the youngest girl, I think I got more hugs and kisses than the rest. Lucky me. 🙂  

I’ve inherited many things from my dad (height not being one of them). My sweet tooth (yeah, my thighs thank him for that), the ease at which I make friends, the ability to drum up a conversation with a complete stranger (a trait of his that used to annoy the hell outta me as a kid), a non-judgemental attitude towards life, a love of the outdoors (especially water) and an almost extreme persistance (okay, stubbornness) when it comes to wanting to know how things work. But, above all, he gave me the propensity for all around ‘nice-ness’. If nothing else, my dad is a nice guy. I don’t think he knows any other way to be.  

"Daddy Longlegs" (Harvestman Arachnid) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/8, 1/40s, -0.7EV, ISO 1000

Living a distance away, I don’t get to see my dad very often. But, even just talking on the phone, I can feel the warmth of his hugs as he says (again) how so very proud he is of me. I can’t tell you how many times that is exactly the kind a thing a daughter needs to hear.  

Happy Father’s Day, Dad! ♥ ♥

22 Comments

  1. Sweet tribute. Slightly creepy photo! 😉

    • Ha! But it’s a DADDY Longlegs…get it? I thought it was appropriate and actually, a pretty cool image of the arachnid! 🙂

      Thanks, Karma! 🙂

  2. Aww, what a sweet post!
    (I hate spiders, so I’m going to ignore the picture 😉 )

    • Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      Technically, it’s an arachnid and not a spider (I learned that little gem when doing the research!) Spiders have segmented bodies and eight eyes. This guy has only two eyes and his body isn’t segmented. All spiders are arachnids but not all arachids are spiders. Now, don’t we all feel smarter? 😉

  3. What a great tribute Tracy… and being a dad of two daughters myself, I’m pretty sure he’s gonna be an extremely happy dad right now…

    • Aw, thanks Brian. Well, he will be only if my mom shows him this post…LOL! Dad is many things but computer savvy ain’t one of them! 🙂

  4. That was a very sweet post! I hope he reads it, or that you tell him. He sounds like a wonderful person.

    • Thank you, Birgitte! I’m sure my mom will show him. She’s wonderful, too. 🙂

  5. Aw that is sweet, I’m sure you’ll bring a tear to his eye when he reads this. I love this photo by the way, such a cool shot.

    • Thanks so much, Consuelo! I hope I at least make him smile! 🙂

      It’s not that I go out looking for spiders/arachnids to shoot (especially after growing up being very afraid of them) but this guy just begged to be photographed! I was totally drawn to the position of how s/he was hanging upside down on that leaf/stem. It is amazing to me how the smallest things get my attention! 🙂

  6. Don’t like spiders, but I know I would like your dad. Aren’t we lucky for getting good daddys. 🙂

    • So noted! 🙂

      Yes, we are oh-so-very-lucky! Thanks, Jan! I think you would, too! 🙂

  7. Hi Bummer,

    Mom did show it to me and i’ll tell you, you really made my day today. Thank you very much for saying those nice things about me, and it’s true (what one of the commenters said), it did bring a tear to my eyes. I love you very much and I am extremely proud of of you.

    LOVE, DAD!

  8. Tracy, you have a lovely father – and you must be a LOVELY daughter! I have two lovely daughters (and a lovely son)- and I hope I for many years can go on giving them all the love and help I am able to give. They hate spiders, but I am SO proud of them anyway;-)

    • Aw, you’re sweet to say that, Truels! Thanks! I hope I am! 😉

      LOL! You are also funny! I’m sure all your kids know how proud you are! 🙂

  9. Happy Father’s day to your dad! It wasn’t father’s day here in Brazil. We celebrate it on the second sunday of August every year. 🙂

    • Why, thank you, Babs! So, on the second sunday of August I look forward to reading all about your dad! 🙂

  10. Wonderful tribute to pops. I hope to have a nice relationship like this with my own daughter down the road. She did call me on father’s day and we chatted which was great. She’s nineteen in a week, so now is the time for her to make her own life.

    Oh yes, creepy photo!

    • Thanks so much, Bob!

      If you are already thinking about this with your daughter, then it is safe to say that you are probably on your way. Nineteen still seems pretty young to me so you have at least a few years left to mold her. 😉

  11. your message is sweet and warm, even if the photo is all things not! a clever and charmingly odd photo for a tribute to your dad. even if it creeps me out.

    i won’t let my spideyphobia influence me into assuming your dad is creepy, though.

    • LOL! Thanks (I think) ? 😉

      It is funny…I don’t find spiders creepy at all anymore. Well, as long as they are not crawling on me! I find them extremely fascinating through the lens.

      I was just trying to post an appropriate image since it is really hard of me to think of flowers as appropriate for a guy. Sooooo, enter in Mr. Daddy Longlegs!

      Please don’t! My dad is not even remotely creepy! He is all the things I wrote. 🙂


Leave a Reply

