Skip navigation


“Fantasia” (Common Dandelion Calyxes) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-Ring Extension Tube Set, F/5.6, 1/20s, -1.0EV, ISO 800, Color Efex Pro ‘Bi-Color Filter’

 
I hope you are not tired of dandelion photos! 🙂 

This time we’re focussing our attention on the calyx ends (those hairy things that help to carry the seeds along the breeze to their final destination which typically, ends up being my lawn 😉 ). 

For some reason, this shot makes me think of that famous ‘March of the Brooms’ scene from Disney’s Fantasia. 

I don’t see any buckets of water so I think we’re safe from drowning! 🙂

24 Comments

  1. Excellent reference, Tracy. I like the processing of this one.

  2. You do have a way of making a common weed look beautiful.

    • Ha! I think it’s because I feel a little bit sorry for them… somehow they’ve been deemed ‘weed’ instead of ‘flower’. Can you imagine if having dandelions in your garden were an enviable thing?

      Thanks, Lynn!

  3. I love the simplicity in this shot – the composition, colour and DOF all complement each other beautifully.

    • Thank you and welcome! I love seeing a new face! 🙂

      I took a look at your photo blog and really great work there. Your style is very journalistic and so well done. Just about every image could grace the cover of a travel magazine. My head is spent mostly in ‘macro world’ and I envy those who can see and capture the ‘big picture’.

      Thanks so much for visiting! 🙂

      • Thank you so much! Macro photography is something I love looking at, but haven’t done much of. I must change that 🙂

  4. LOOOVE this!! I have SO many dandelion photos myself, and never thought to photograph them from this angle.
    The background looks gorgeous, too.
    Can’t speak for everyone else, but I never get tired of dandelion shots 🙂

    • Wow! I can’t believe I’ve impressed the dandelion master! 😉

      It’s funny, the more I go back to the images I took, the more I see something interesting in many of them that I didn’t see before. I am so glad I didn’t delete the whole lot!

      Thanks, Michaela! 🙂

  5. Every time I think you couldn’t possibly get any closer on a macro shot, you do!
    Love the Fantasia reference! Haven’t seen that in many years, yet the picture is very clear.

  6. I never get tired of photos of dandelions. I like your composition and your depth of field..awesome

    • Thank you, Consuelo! I think there might be a few more ‘keepers’ comin’ up! 🙂

  7. LOL… Love your connection to Disney’s Fantasia… It sure does have that look to it… Wonderful detail Tracy, and great colours too…

    • It’s my way of sucking you all into my wierd little mind…mwuhahahahaha… 😉

      Thanks, Brian! 🙂

  8. Fantasia is the first ever video I ever bought… yes, so true these do look like the marching brooms LOL!
    So much detail in so much simplicity, what a gem! Composition is crucial in this shot and you definitely got it right here, magnificent photo !

    • It IS an amazing work of animation! 🙂

      Thank you so much, Kiwi! 🙂

  9. btw Tracy, with photos like these who could ever get sick of dandelions? Not me…! They are beautiful !

  10. I LOVE your dandelion shots (too), and will NEVER be tired of them!!! And these colours: WOW 🙂

  11. you do awesome things with your bi-color filters. makes it very interesting while remaining natural.

    i see feather dusters, myself – the sexy little french lady feather dusters from beauty and beast, to be exact.

    • Thank you, Stephen! The filters are great and I agree, the change is very subtle – just seems to add that extra something.

      Hmmm, first you’re looking up ballerina skirts and now you’re thinking about the sexy french maid/feather duster from BATB. A little, uh, lonely there Stephen? 😉

  12. Just beautiful!!


Leave a Reply

