Skip navigation


If you’ve all been wondering what I’ve been up to (and why I’ve been a bit behind in posting and commenting), well it’s because I’ve been feverishly working on a photobook based upon the Playground Series images!

I self-published the book today just in time to enter it into the Blurb 2010 Photography Book Now contest – so exciting! 🙂

A preview of the entire book can be found below. If the text is too small to read, even in full screen viewing mode, you can zoom your browser (for example, in Internet Explorer, the zoom control is located in the lower righthand corner). You can also add your comments on the Blurb website. Not sure if that will influence the judges or not but it can’t hurt, right? 🙂

I must say that putting together a professional-looking book is much harder than you’d expect and I now have newfound respect for editors! I cannot tell you how many times I thought the book was ‘done’ only to upload it and discover yet another typo or layout error. Here is one time where my eye for the small details came in handy!

Many thanks to those who helped to review some draft versions – your feedback was much appreciated! Quite a few things have changed since the versions you reviewed, so go ahead and give it another looksee. I’m very proud to have followed this project through and can’t wait to see it in print! 🙂

50 Comments

  1. Tracy, I’ve left a comment on your page and you know I loved loved loved these on the blog… here in the book they are even more stunning so if you could let me know postage costs to The Netherlands I’d like to sort out buying a copy from you please.
    You’ve done a brilliant job on this! Wow! Well done!!!

    • WOW Kiwi – I am stunned and amazed and this is FANTASTIC!!! 🙂

      I believe you can purchase the book directly from Blurb. There is a drop-down menu that should allow you to select the currency (it defaults to US but you’d be Eur – correct?) and then you can go through the process of purchasing the book. I haven’t even seen MY copy yet (just ordered today!!) and I pray I don’t want to change anything (I’ve been VERY diligent in my editing process so I think the chances are slim to none that that will happen).

      IF you have any issues placing an order, do NOT hesitate to write me!

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You have no idea how much you’ve made my day! 🙂

  2. Really well done, Tracy. The photos are great to begin with but really come to life in book form. Congratulations on another job very well done.

    • Wow. Seriously….WOW. For someone who typically knows how to express herself, I think I am too shocked to do this justice, but here goes.

      I can’t believe you did a post on your blog about the book! You’ve completely stunned me! Just shows what a really great guy you are. Truly, no words can express what it means to me. Just when you think no one is paying attention, you go ahead and show me I’m so completely wrong! You are AWESOME!! 🙂

      Thanks so MUCH, Dave!!

  3. Fantastic, congrats!!

  4. Very nice Tracy. I thought about publishing through blurb some time, so do let us know how it goes.

    • Thank you, Lynn! I’ve already sold TWO books – woo hoo!!!! 🙂

  5. You already know how much I LOVE the book. Good luck with the contest!!

    • Thank you, Michaela!! I truly am proud of it and hope that people like it! Keeping my fingers crossed! There are SO MANY really great books entered!

  6. These photos are amazing, and the book design does them justice. You’ve done a great job capturing the nostalgia and memories of these playgrounds.
    Congratulations!

    • Aw, thanks, JP! The design was one of the very first things I nailed down as I knew that would either make or break it. Most photobooks have either a black or white background but that just didn’t work with the antique tone of the images. Also, all dark or all light pages didn’t work either. Every placement, image size, etc. was agonized over so it really means alot to me for you to pick up on the design! Thanks, again! 🙂

  7. Freaking GORGEOUS!!!!
    I want it.
    Congrats!

    • Thank you, Danielle!!!! Much appreciated! 🙂

      Lucky for you, you can BUY it!! Isn’t that awesome??!!! 😉

  8. Really, really nice job! I can’t wait until it comes in the mail! I posted the link on Fb so all my friends and a lot of our cousins can see your book and know how stinking talented you are! 🙂 Love you. ♥♥♥

    • Hi Lori!! Thanks! You are AWESOME!! 😀

      Nice to see I can still surprise you! (I can’t even imagine what the cousins will think!)

      Love you, too!! ♥♥♥

  9. The book (and the photos, of course) are wonderful. Congrats!

  10. Very cool, Tracy! I hope all your hard work pays off for you in a big way.

  11. Excellent job. You already know how terribly proud of you I am and this just ups the score. Love you. Ditto from Dad

    • Thanks, mom (and dad!) Love you, too!

      Well, now, one of us kids has to be the star of the family, right? 😉

      Let the bragging to your friends and neighbors begin! 🙂

  12. This is such a great book, great work and I love the layout and the colors of it too. 🙂

  13. Sweet…What a great idea. I saw alot of these photos on your blog, but they look so cool in book form. Congrats Tracy.

  14. Rupe will be happy to promote it on his FB and other.

    Just say the word …..

    Congratulations!

  15. Woohoo… Good to hear it’s finally complete… Quite the task, and I bet quite the relief too when it was done.. Btw, on page 7, did you realise you have… teehee.. I’m kidding… I bet it’s going to look amazing when it arrives..

    • Thanks, Brian!!!

      Whoa, that is soooo not funny! You know how much I agonized over this!!

      I hope so! 🙂

  16. Congratulations Tracy, you have done a beautiful book. It is interesting to see how your nice photos are even more interesting to look at here. I am going to study it closer and read the text, when I have my big screen again, soon.

    • Thank you, Birgitte! I really appreciate it! (and I also hope you get your big screen soon!) 🙂

  17. Tracy, I put in my order yesterday and will let you know when it arrives, yes?

  18. The photos in your book look great. So does the layout.
    The fruit of all your work has ripened.
    Congratulations Tracy.

  19. Wow. I’m so happy for you and so inspired by you. The book looks really lovely. Good luck in the contest too.

  20. Congratulations Tracy!!! I am so happy for you! The book is beautifully done. You are such an inspiration. 🙂

  21. I got my book today! It’s FANTASTIC!!! Shared it with my two guys. It brought back a lot of memories for Lon. Lil Lon just said it was cool! I can’t wait to show all my friends! Love you! ♥♥♥

    • I can’t BELIEVE you got your book BEFORE me! I ordered mine a day before you and paid EXTRA for 2-day shipping! (Mom got hers today as well and I think she ordered hers a day later – wtf??) Sigh. Mine is due to arrive tomorrow and I can’t wait to see it!

      Thanks! It is a relief to hear the book is good. You just never know if the reality is going to be as good as the vision. Ugh…I’m still so bummed I’m not the first to see it… Love you, too! ♥♥♥

  22. Congratulations with your book! It looks VERY nice – and your playground photos deserve such a book. But you have got a problem now: You will have to make MANY books showing ALL the other great photos you have taken……..!

    • Thanks so much, Truels!

      Believe me, if this book sells, I’ll certainly be inclined to create more! 🙂

  23. Just took a look at your book. It’s beautiful. Hopefully later I can order one. I know you’re proud of it. You are truly talented!

    • Thank you, Jan! You are sweet!

      I would be honored if you bought one! I’d hold off a bit as I just received my printed copy and am currently working with Blurb to correct a color issue – just a background color, but hey! it’s MY book and yes, I’m that picky that it be correct! 🙂

  24. Tracy,
    Here in the Netherlands my copy of the book has arrived!!! It’s wonderful and I’m absolutely delighted with it. Thanks so much for taking the time to put this amazing series of photos into one book.

    These photos are not just arty and beautiful with their rustic and timewarn subjects but also literally a snapshot in time, as my children have the “health and safety” version of playground furniture and will never know the “dangers” we parents faced as children LOL.

    Too soon your subject will have been replaced and a window in time will be closed. I’m delighted that a snippet of the past is not only in my memory but also in my bookcase for me to reminisce over as often as I want.

    Thank you so much!!!

    • Wow, Kiwi! That was quick! You received your book only a few days after I got mine!

      I’m SO GLAD it met with your expectations! Your comments are so sweet and very much appreciated. You’ve warmed my heart today.

      Thank YOU and you’re welcome! 🙂

  25. This is absolutely fantastic! Love it, and will most certainly be getting a copy! Very nice job with this…


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Quick post to draw your attention to Tracy’s latest artistic venture – a new book via Blurb called Child’s Play. I’ve seen many of the images on Tracy’s blog and must say they are stunning. The images included in the book are accompanied by Tracy’s witty blog posts, which add to the fun. Take a moment, if you will, and check out Tracy’s blog: Milkay Photo, where you’ll find her post announcing her new book Child’s Play. […]

Leave a Reply

