Skip navigation


Many apologies for my lack of posting lately, but with the book keeping me busy last week and my getting ready for a 3-day art show this weekend, I’ve had very little time to shoot, let alone process and post! Plus, our temperatures have been extremely hot so any down time I get is spent by the pool. (Summer is much too short to be sitting at a computer!) 

Even when poolside, I typically have a camera with me just in case something attracts my attention (or, the hummingbird decides to make a visit!). This week I noticed the table-top zinnia’s and how I could alter the mood of the photo simply by changing my angle of view. 

In the first photo, the bright sun was shining right on the blossom with the pool behind. One of our colorful pool floats kept bobbing through the frame providing some vibrant pops of background color and creating what I think looks like a very happy, summertime photo. 

"Summer in Paradise" (White Zinnia) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/10, 1/400s, +0.3EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro 'Glamour Glow' Filter

Moving to the other side of the flower completely changed the mood. Now, the flower was somewhat backlit with a very muted background courtesy of the (dying) grass and foliage (did I mention it has been extremely hot?). For me this one is similar to the mood change that occurs in a restaurant when the house lights are dimmed and all the room becomes aglow. Romantic, no

"Jeu de Lumière" (White Zinnia) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/9, 1/640s, +0.3EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro 'Glamour Glow' Filter

Right now I’m preferring the second image but that is simply because it is hubby’s birthday and the mood I’m hoping to set is ‘Ooh la la, mon chéri ‘ ! 😉

Happy Birthday, babe! ♥♥♥

35 Comments

  1. LOVE the colors on the top photo – they just pop behind that white flower.

  2. Well I have to confess to liking both… Love the colour and vibrancy of the top one, and the subtle hues of the bottom one… Simply amazing how much the mood changes just by moving round the flower…

    Next time the mood deteriorates in our house, I’m going to take heed of your advice and move next door.. lol.. 😉

    • (pssssst, I like them both, too). Thanks! 🙂

      Ha! Your wit is priceless, Brian! But, methinks your wit gets you into trouble sometimes with the missus??

      • Ummmmm… Maybe… lol… I kinda think it would also get me in to trouble with the neighbours too, were I to move.. 😉

  3. Babe – Thanks a lot. great pictures as usual (although I like the “rainbow” background on the first picture better).

    Oh la la, works for me. . . Big time!

    J

    • You’re welcome and thanks, babe!

      Yeah, your just a rainbow guy at heart. And that’s why I love you. 🙂

  4. Love love love shot #1. That one virtually screams summer!
    I think I get a more “old fashioned” feel from #2. That’s one of the great things about photography – how it makes each of us feel.

    • Thank you, Karma! That’s what I thought, too (about shot #1).

      Hmmm, I can see that in #2. And yes, I totally agree. So subjective which is half the fun and half the frustration at times! Sometimes, I actually get customers (like when we are at an art show) that will INSIST they know what an image (that I took) is all about!

  5. An art show with your work??? Oooooh sooo cool. Congrats! And on the book too. Lovely shots here as well. I am loving the cheery bright colors of the first image 🙂

    • Not that kind of art show (meaning like a gallery show, now that would be cool…someday I hope). No, by ‘art show’ I meant ‘art fair‘ where you hock your wares in a tent when you’d much rather be laying poolside!

      Thanks, Amber! 🙂

  6. I like them both! (I’ll just be over here, sitting on my fence…)

    Good luck with the art show.

  7. Tough to pick a favorite… I like the bright colors in the first, and the unusual angle in the second.

  8. I love that first shot with the blue behind it. I wonder why the +0.3 on the ev? I have a friend trying to convince me to use ev rather than adjusting shutter and aperture so much. He is convinced it is much quicker to use the ev.

    • Thank you, Burstmode!

      Oh my gosh, YES, changing EV is so much easier and quicker to change than to fuss with manually changing aperture and shutter speed! I shoot primarily in Aperture Priority mode as most times, I like to have control over my DOF and typically don’t have to worry too much about shutter speed (unless I am shooting quick-moving wildlife). For this particular shot, I was also using Spot metering which, when focussed on the brightly lit flower, was tending to underexpose the shot a bit. I saw this on my LCD and compensated by dialing in +0.3EV (my EV increments are in thirds). I go back and forth between matrix metering and spot metering and can usually determine very quickly which is the better choice for a particular lighting situation.

      Good question! 🙂

  9. Love both pictures. Give Jim a big belated birthday kiss for me. :>)

  10. P.S. received my copy of your book today and it is just super. Well done.

    • WHAT??!! I haven’t even received MY copy yet and I paid for 2-day shipping!!

      Sigh. Well, at least I am glad to hear it looks good! Mine is due to arrive tomorrow – I can’t wait!

  11. Liking the candy color #1 more, but that’s just ’cause I love candy colors. 😉

  12. So many people forget that the background is as important as the foreground and you have show that beautifully.

  13. I love the vibrancy of the background colors in the first one. 🙂

    • Just says SUMMER, for sure! Almost like a floral beach ball!

      Thanks, Jan! 🙂

  14. Beautiful shots, I love the background colours on both of them.

  15. Lovely flower. Crazy how it can look like two different flowers simply by changing your position. Personally, I’m digging the first one.

    • Crazy, indeed. With the lazy hot summer days we’ve been having this week, the first one is certainly appropo!

      Thanks much, Dave!

  16. Well these two lovely photos certainly make up for your absence. Love the colors in the top one.

  17. first shot very pretty! second, for me, very nostalgic. in my mind, the background in the first is a bright raft floating in your pool, and i want to be on that raft right now!

    • Right on the money there, Stephen! The pool floats have been getting alot of use lately! 🙂


Leave a Reply

