Skip navigation


Noooo, not that cosmos silly, the flower! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

This is great time of year to shop your local nurseries for flowers and plants to reinvigorate a waning landscape. With the lack of rain in my area, many of my annual containers have seen better days. So,ย off to the nursery I went.

"Pink Infinity" (Cosmos 'Sonata Mix') Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5, 1/60s, ISO 640

I was thrilled to see the large S A L E sign in bold red letters and to learn it meant all annual plants were on clearance! I picked up an ENORMOUS pot of Cosmos ‘Sonata Mix’ (a lovely collection of daisy-like blooms on 24″ high stems in shades of pink and white) for the low, low price of $5.00. Needless to say, it immediately went into my wagon along with several other pots of annuals,ย a couple of late-blooming perennialsย and a simply gorgeous trumpet vine.ย ย 

"Edge of the Cosmos" (Cosmos 'Sonata Mix') Nikon D300, 105mm, F/5, 1/50s, ISO 640

Theย injection of theย new plants not only added needed pops of color to the gardenย but also sparked my desire to once again, pick up my camera and shoot.ย 

"Center of the Cosmos" (Cosmos 'Sonata Mix') Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5, 1/160s, ISO 640

And that, my friends, could be the best bargain of all. ๐Ÿ™‚

39 Comments

  1. These are great shots! each unique in its own right. I love the second shot where only the leading edge is in focus. very different – very good. Great job.

    • Thank you! That is so very kind of you to say! The second one was a very difficult shot to get only in that there seemed to be this fine line of how much to keep in focus and how much to blur. I was so glad I ended up with one (out of the many, MANY) that I liked! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You are right, is time for a new round of planting. There is nothing more inspiring than the colorful sight of new fresh flowers in the garden. It sounds like you have had a dry period, is is normal for your area? Iยดm glad to know that you feel ready for catching whatever you find interesting around you, canยดt wait to see what that will be.

    • Thank you, Birgitte for the encouragement!

      Yes, we have been having an extreme dry spell. Even areas around us have been getting rainfall but by the time it hits the coast, the clouds break apart and we only get a sprinkling. We do irrigate and hand-water but without Mother Nature to provide some assistance, it is impossible to keep up with everything in the landscape and inevitably, some plant succomb.

      No worries. I like to keep the local nurseries and farms in business and will gladly purchase their plants to ‘feed my need!’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. If you’re trying to convince me to go to a nursery then you’re gonna have to try more persuasive methods than $5 bargains… especially as it’s gonna cost me thousands to get there.. and they’ll likely be shut too, and shopping in the dark really isn’t wise in those places… what with all the spiders and bugs and flowers and stuff… Anyways… I digress ever so slightly.. but I blame you, as it’s easier and you’re too far away to slap me… Oooh, there I go again… Real nice pink things Tracy… ๐Ÿ˜€

    • LOL, Brian! You are hysterical! You must be giddy from using your new lens to say such crazy things!

      Sigh…and there I thought I had the perfect lure to get you to go! Oh, well…maybe if I told you there are lots of nice-lookin’ young girls working at the nursery wearing their Daisy Duke shorty-shorts and belly shirts? No? ๐Ÿ˜€

      Oh, and trust me, I could slap you from here! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • I’m on my wa…. DAMN !!… Need my passport… HOLD THE PLANE !!!…

  4. As the late Carl Sagan would say, “You got bill-yon and bill-yons of pixels in those flowers.” ๐Ÿ™‚ You enjoyed the trip through the cosmos.

    • Ha! I suppose he would, Scot! Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t usually grow cosmos as they are an annual typically started from seed but seeing these beauties, I may just have to! Once addicted to plants, always addicted to plants! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Beautiful Tracy! (I started to respond LOL and somehow I hit enter, so if you got a previous unfinished reply from me, just ignore it and chalk it up to a dumb blonde moment. Thanks!)

    • LOL, Carol! Nope, no unfinished reply was received so you have a saved ‘dumb blonde moment’ for future use. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Love the candy colors!

    • Thanks much, Derrick!

      (Sounds like someone is hungry… ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

  7. The macro and DOF of these flowers are awesome.
    I liked viewing your book too, I voted for you.

    • Oh, so sweet of you to say, Martina! Thanks so much for stopping by and WOW! double thanks for looking at my book AND voting! You’re awesome!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I am somewhat allergic to nurseries, due to having been dragged to far to many as a child, but I fully support them if they inspire shots like these! Love that first one – the swirl of the out-of-focus petals around the centre is just perfect.

    • LOL! Ah, what childhood memories I’m able to drum up! Not sure if I should thank you or apologize to you! I guess I can do both! ๐Ÿ™‚

      That is my favorite, too! I almost think it looks as though it is spinning. Neat how photography can do that, huh?

  9. Cosmos are my faves!!! These are great shots and for a bargain price!

    • I’ve never had them in the garden before but boy am I glad they are here now! Thank you, Amy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Wow, great deal that led to some great images. Hopefully you can have them pay for themselves and then some. ๐Ÿ™‚ The color contrast and pattern is wonderful!

    • Thanks so very much, Sean! Mom taught me to be a great bargain hunter and sometimes, it pays off in spades! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. i usually don’t get too worked up about floral shots (except for that amazing b/w creepy spider amazingness), but the second one is kind of blowing me away.

    • Aw, thanks Stpehen. I really try to capture something ‘different’ to the point that often times I simply end up frustrating myself! That second shot in particular gave me some trouble but I’m glad I persevered since it struck a chord with a self-proclaimed ‘non-floral’ guy… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Love, love, LOVE the first one!
    So wish I had pops of color between the brown grass.

    • Thanks, M! I do, too!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Ouch! Yeah, I bet your Texas landscape isn’t looking so nice these days with you not there to tend to it? Luckily, there are nurseries even in Texas and I’m sure the local growers would just love for you to take a few plants off their hands! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. These are beautiful flowers. I love the colors too and the way you captured them ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Consuelo! If you know me by now, I simply cannot resist PINK so these guys were destined to be photographed! Glad you like them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. That pink is really joyful! And by the way, your birds from yesterday are truly amazing. I think you are extremely gifted – you should do a bird book.

    • Yes it is! And that is probably why I like pink so very much!

      Thanks, Tammy! You are extremely kind to say so!

      Hmmmm, a bird book….I will keep that in mind! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Sigh. Just returned from vacay to find just about everything in the yard fried & shriveled. Maybe I’ll go exploring for some cosmos of my own….

    • Aw, Christine, so sorry Mother Nature didn’t take care of things while you were away. She seems to be keeping the water to herself (well, in our area)!

      I prescribe a nice trip to the local nursery to cure what is ailing your garden! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Oooh you got a trumpet vine? Will we be seeing shots of that soon too? ๐Ÿ™‚ Love this splash of pink, especially the second shot. I like the softness with the focus on the edges of the petals. Very nice.

    • Yep, sure did! A really lovely one with apricot-peachy blooms that are larger than I’ve ever seen on a trumpet vine. Yes, they will definitely get photographed! Just waiting for some nice light to inspire me!

      Thanks, Amber! It appears the shot that gave me the most trouble is the most intriguing. Funny how that always seems to be the case, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Very nice – my perennial garden looks so sad, with so few flowers blooming. I have been diligent with my pots so they are in bloom. Hope your slump is over.

    • Thanks, Lynn! Yes, my prennials are a bit sad as well and we even irrigate! It just isn’t enough, I guess. Not sure about the slump…much going on with me that is also interfering with my photography. We do what we can, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Wow! I just stumbled across your blog, and I had to comment on how much I love these shots of this pink flower ๐Ÿ™‚ Excellent job!
    -Heather

    • Thanks, Heather! Welcome! Always nice to see a new face in the comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope you stop by again! If you really like what you see, feel free to subscribe and then you’ll get an e-mail when I post! Take care!

      P.S. I forgot to add that if you do follow along you will soon realize I am a sucker for anything PINK! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’ll definitely be stopping by again, I’ve posted a link to your blog on my page ๐Ÿ™‚
        And the pink thing? I love it, too!

      • Thanks for the link! MUCH appreciated! Nice to know you’ll be back ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

