Skip navigation


This is our second day of needed rainfall and as the ground squished under my shoes, I made my way around the garden performing the usual morning tasks of filling the feeders and checking on all the plants.  

No watering can required. 🙂  

A green lacewing fluttered by me, struggling to fly in the gusting winds, landing ultimately on the wooden trellis at the grey shed. With their delicate transparent wings, a bright spring-green torso, reddish face and large eyes, lacewings are not only quite the interesting-looking insect but also a welcome friend in my garden since their larvae devour a variety of pests! As I’ve yet to photograph one, I went back inside to grab my camera but, unfortunately, by the time I returned, the lacewing had fled the scene. Shoot! 

Well, now that I had my camera, I traipsed around the sodden landscape seeking out another worthy subject. Hmmmm, what will it be?

"Belle" (Clematis viticella 'Betty Corning') Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5.6, 1/160s, -1.7EV, ISO 1000, Silver Efex Pro Filter w/Selective Toning

A solitary Clematis viticella blossom drenched with raindrops was just begging to be noticed! I love the violet color, bell shape and those delicate, frilly edges. Surprisingly, not much was done in post except for some selective color removal along with dodging to highlight the bloom’s texture and edge details.  

So, as much as I would have liked a go at the lacewing, I’m inclined to think this was the shot that was meant to be. 🙂  

23 Comments

  1. Very pretty! That would make a really nice lampshade 🙂

    • Ha! I suppose it would… for a really, really tiny lamp! 🙂

      Thanks, M! Glad you’re back!

  2. Great shot! Sorry about the lacewing, though. Reminds me of Saturday evening when I was sitting on the patio, when a hummingbird decided to pay a very rare visit. By the time I had grabbed my camera, he was gone. Sadly, I didn’t have nearly as beautiful second option as you have here. great job!

    • Thanks! 🙂

      Yeah, I just needed to be a bit more on the ball, as they say. Most mornings I do have my camera with me, but with the rainy weather, I doubted I’d have anything at all to shoot. Wrong!

      Oh, I can sympathize! The hummer’s here have been eluding my lens all summer long!

  3. I’ve never seen a clematis that shape before! My clematis are long gone – is this typically a later bloomer or is this a rogue you happened to find?
    I didn’t know that larvae fact about the lacewing.

    • That is probably because you’ve only seen the large flowering kind, I bet! Clematis actually has quite a few varieties with interesting shapes. This one is particularly a nice, long blooming one, having several flushes throughout the summer. Oh, and is it prolific! Never fails to amaze me! It grows along with another variety (a large flowering type) called Etoile Violet. Both are simply wonderful and combined, very spectacular!

      This particular bloom is probably just the last little hurrah for the season. Doesn’t matter to me! It is beautiful!

      See? You also learnt something new today! 🙂

  4. Lovely!! Just lovely!

    And what’s this “rain” biz you speak of?? I think I’ve forgotten what that’s like….

    • Thanks, Derrick!! Thanks!

      Yeah, when it began falling yesterday we all looked up thinking, ‘My, what is this strange wet stuff??’ 😉

      • Yeah, you must have rubbed off on us here in Texas. 😉 FINALLY got good, hard rain last night and temps about 20 degrees lower. ahhhhhhhh.

  5. I love clematis! You always pick the flowers that are my favorites!

    This has such perfect focus and DOF. It is truly a masterpiece!

    • Well then, YOU would LOVE my garden! I have over a dozen clematis vines!

      Thanks so much! You are sweet! 🙂

  6. The delicate colours suit the delicate flower… lovely.

  7. You should have seen the rain we had here last night… I went to bed with the window open, and woke up early hours soaked, where it had blown clean across the room… lol… Didn’t get any drippy flowery shots though unfortunately… Sorry ’bout that… I’ll leave that to the experts… 🙂

    • Oh, poor widdle Bri-Bri got all wet? 😉 Probably explains why you were dreaming about shooting the rapids – ha!

      Hmmmm, so are you implying that I’m an expert?? Thanks! 🙂

  8. Lovely, but I have to ask – is your camera waterproof?

    • Thanks Lynn!

      Not waterproof but not delicate, either. I wouldn’t drop it in a pool BUT I don’t worry too too much about it in the rain. However, on a day like today, I would protect the body in a plastic cover we have. Better yet, I won’t be taking it out today! 🙂

  9. Beautiful shot, I love the exposure. It’s awesome.

  10. So lovely. Reminds me of the dancing skirt of a ballerina’s dress.The rain drops are real nice too.

    • Yes! I see it, too! Mother Nature is just awesome (at times!) Thanks, Amber! 🙂

  11. very cool! really nice luxurious color. and it’s so dramatic how it just fades into black. something about this shot says old victorian decadence to me.

    • Wow…victorian decadence…I like that! 🙂 Thanks, Stephen!


Leave a Reply

