Skip navigation


Just outside our side entrance sits a large planter containing a collection of gorgeous Morning Glory vines. And for several weeks now I’d pass by thinking, “I really need to photograph you,” but then I’d just keep on walking as too many other things needed my immediate attention. 

Today was finally the day I could hold off on all those other things for a moment and set about capturing a unique perspective of this very common annual flower. 

"My Blue Heaven" (Morning Glory 'Heavenly Blue') Nikon D300, 105mm, F/5.6, 1/80s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

These two shots couldn’t be more different! The first and somewhat abstract image is a result of a technique I like to call ‘shooting loose’. Fighting my usual propensity to get everything tack sharp, I instead focussed solely on the amazing colors, allowing them to softly bleed into each other to create a really cool tie-dye effect. 

"Gloriana" (Morning Glory 'Heavenly Blue') Nikon D300, 105mm, F/10, 1/40s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

The second image is totally more along the lines of my usual style. Shooting low and from the side really highlights the blossom’s elegant trumpet form. I also think that lovely twisted bud adds just the right amount of unexpected background interest. 

I’m so glad I made time for this today as these are definitely the kind of blues I can handle! 🙂

56 Comments

  1. These look real nice Tracy.. Love the colours, and I think I’m definitely going to have to buy me some flowers and try this myself one day… or for some brownie points I’ll tell the wife the flowers are for her… That sounds like a plan dontchafink… 😉

    • Thanks, Brian! Couldn’t reall go wrong with the colors. However, took some doing (and about 100 shots from all different angles) to achieve shots that are a little more unique than what is typically seen of morning glories.

      Flowers for her, flowers for you…sounds like a ‘win-win’ plan to me! 🙂

  2. Nice stepping outside your own boundaries from time to time! Both images are wonderful, and compliment each other quite well.

    • Thanks much, Derrick! I don’t do it often enough. Sooooo easy to get lazy! 🙂

  3. Lovely captures both soft and sharp. Nice to break one’s own rules once in a while. 🙂 It’s good for the soul.

    • Thank you, Scott!

      I don’t even think of it as ‘rules’ but I guess you have a good point there. Sometimes I do get stuck in what could be called my ‘style’. It is just what I like and what I am most comfortable with. Venturing out means risking failure (gasp!) and as a full-on Type A personality, failure doesn’t sit well with me. Silly, huh?

  4. The softness is very pretty, Tracy.
    I also love the way the light comes through in the 2nd shot; reminds me of a Tiffany lamp somewhat.

    • Thank you, Karma! Yeah, these flowers have such a nice translucency when lit from above!

  5. There is a beautiful watercolor feel to the first image. I like it alot! My Blue Heaven is such a perfect title too.

    • Thanks, Amber! I thought of several image names but ‘My Blue Heaven’ just seemed to fit!

      Plus, that center spot is sort of like the proverbial, ‘I saw a white light…’ that folks often say when they claim they’ve seen heaven! 🙂

  6. Surely amazing colours in that first “rule-breaker” – and the lines and composition in the second are impressive, a perfect work of art 😉

  7. Look at you, getting all “loose”! With great results, I must say. Glad to see you back!

  8. These are absolutely beautiful Tracy, I like both shots

  9. They are both lovely and go well together, underlining each others style. A glimpse of optimism just before autumn…. – sorry to remind you, but the weather here does it impossible to ignore 😉

    • Thank you, Birgitte!

      Yeah, can’t stop the seasons. I actually do like fall (eventually) it just takes me a little while let summer go. We are having a gorgeous late summer day today so I will be out enjoying it while I still can! 🙂

  10. Love the lighting in that second shot!

  11. I am glad you stepped back and let the colors speak for themselves. I am also glad you added the beautiful second shot!!

    • Much appreciated, Burst! Me, too!

      Many times, images like the first one occur when I am just so darn frustrated with myself that I finally let it all go. Who knew photography can also be therapy? 😉

  12. The second shot is B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!!

  13. Well done. I really like the second one. Do you use a tripod or is this handheld?

    • Thank you, Dave!

      Funny, I started OUT using a tripod (and extension tubes) and after about 5 minutes, I took off the tubes and went hand-held. I’m such a rebel… 😉

      • You’re a rebel, alright. I don’t even know what those extension tubes are supposed to do. 🙂

      • LOL! Yeah, that’s me…crazy like a loon! Look out! 😉

        Not sure if you are serious or not, but hey, I’ll tell ya. Extension tubes are designed to enable a lens to focus closer than its normal set minimum focusing distance, which means, they let you get in really, really close. I typically have to use manual focus when using them which also means a tripod, which of course, is sometimes just too much work for me (hmmmm, who is the lazy photographer now??) But, sometimes they are so much fun to use that the extra work is worth it. In this case, I found I didn’t need to get in so very close to get some great shots!

  14. Isn’t it wonderful to be greeted on cool mornings to that lovely blue. I like the trumpet one the best.

    • Most certainly! The planter not only contains these very large blue flowers, but also smaller ruby-amethyst blooms (which I haven’t achieved a nice photo of – yet) so it is doubly nice!

      Thanks, Lynn!

  15. STUNNERS!

  16. Those are amazing! The first one is so beautiful that it looks like a Georgia O’keefe. The textures in the second one are stunning. Morning glories don’t grow where we live but I do love them.

  17. These are both great shots. The second one is just outstanding!! I’m glad you finally stopped. great job.

  18. these are both absolutely gorgeous. i’m really liking the second one, incredible colors! very nice work!!

  19. Agree–these are blues I can handle. Love both shots. Great angle on the second.

  20. why hello there! it’s been so long! 🙂

    i LOVE the first one. i tend to go for graphic, bright blocks of color, so this is perfect! and the second looks like sunlight shining through a stained glass window, so you pretty much can’t go wrong with that. i personally think the twisted bud takes away from the light, airy, dare i say -ephemerality- of the shot (at the risk of you calling me an over-thinking lawyer), but i dont even care about it.

    • Hello back! Yes, it has been long. Too much going on in life right now.

      LOL! I have missed your interpretations as you always seem to see things in such a cool way – thanks! 🙂

  21. They’re both beautiful – love the curving lines and diagonal orientation in the second one.

  22. Stunning, stunning stunning color!

  23. Beautiful photos, Tracy! I especially like the trumpet in the second photo – excellent composition, superb light, details and colours. The bud distract me a bit but still it is a great photo.

  24. These are both such gorgeous shots. And you’re right, they couldn’t be more different! I’m glad you stopped to take their pics 🙂

  25. I definitely love the second one. The sharpness of your work is what I admire most. 🙂

    • Awwwwww, thanks Jan. 🙂

      It’s funny you should say that since what I often admire in others’ work is their ability to be ‘loose’!

  26. Hi Tracy. I imagine that you have so many photos to show now, that you don´t know which one to choose. I suggest that you close your eyes and point at one. Tomorrows date is 10.10.10, that would be a good day for posting a photo, especially at 10:10. I think it will mean luck in some way 😉

    • Hi Birgitte! You are very kind but the truth of it is, life has simply been overwhelming lately. So much to do and not enough hours in the day and the blog is the easiest thing to toss by the wayside. I do have a backlog of photos and am glad to report that TODAY I will get the chance to begin to go through them and (hopefully) post!! Keep your fingers crossed! 🙂

  27. Inspiring photography.


Leave a Reply

