Skip navigation


Many apologies for my lack of posting! Simply put, life has been overwhelming lately and unfortunately, the blog took a backseat. Rest assured that I am doing my very best to get back into the groove.

Today is the first day in quite a while that I’ve had a decent span of time to process any images. This one I captured back on September 22nd as the sun was sitting low in the sky. The day’s weather was beautiful with temps in the low-80’s and I was feeling a bit sad realizing one of the best summers we’d had in a long time was inevitably coming to a close. Sigh.

"Fade to Fall" (Backlit Fountain Grass, Pennisetum alopeduroides) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/3.5, 1/8000s, ISO 640

With that in mind, I walked the landscape in search of a photo that would encompass what I was feeling at the moment… something to wrap my emotions around as the summer light faded.

Mission accomplished. 🙂

37 Comments

  1. Aye, the summer was great. The fall weather-wise hasn’t been to bad. Color-wise, it hasn’t been great.

    Figured you were busy. Looking forward to you getting your groove back on. 🙂

    • Thanks, Scott! Leaving for Disney on Wednesday so hopefully, the change of scenery will be the creative spark I’ve been needing!

  2. Happens to us all Tracy… and life always has to come first in my experience… lol.. Good to see you around though, and hopefully things have calmed a bit…

    • It really has been insane. I kept saying, “tomorrow I’ll post…tomorrow I’ll post” and tomorrow stretched into a month. There will be another break, I’m afraid, as we are taking a must-needed vacation before embarking on a home-improvement project.

      Lord help me…. 🙂

  3. Beautiful photograph! Simple and elegant.

  4. Welcome back Tracy. I’ve missed your postings, but totally undestand how life can get in the way. I hope all is well with you!!!!
    Carol

    • Thanks, Carol! So nice to be missed!

      Things are okay, just hectic as all get out. Not much relief coming tho, I’m afraid. After some time away things will get even crazier as our kitchen is torn apart! Hopefully, photo ops will emerge!

  5. My first response to this image was bend, don’t break. 😉

    Nice capture.

  6. Yay! Tracy is back! Your photos are inspiration to me, so it will be nice to see them back again – even if you can’t post as often as you’d like.

    Your photo truly captures the feeling of summer leaving us. I think we’ve “spoken” before about how we feel similarly about the passing of the season. It looks like it could be an album cover from the 70’s, filled with melancholy tunes.

    • Thanks, Karma! 🙂 Yes, we are kindred spirits when it comes to being ‘summer girls’. Luckily, our weather has been warmer than usual so the changing of the seasons hasn’t ‘hit’ me quite yet. I’m sure I will get a rude awakening once we return from vacation!

      I totally get the 70’s album cover vibe….could be for the ‘Mama’s aand the Papa’s’ or ‘Bread’ or the ‘Carpenters’ or…. 😉

  7. Missed you Babe… I’m delighted to begin my day with one of your photos 🙂
    I know all about “Life Happening” LOL, I hope you have some smoother times ahead and that you can relax with the camera.
    Welcome Back!!!

    • LOL! Thanks Kiwi! How sweet! (Hubby calls me ‘babe’… 🙂 )

      I’ll only be back for a short bit and then I will be gone again as I doubt I will be posting while away on vacation. How mean of me, eh? 🙂

      I am sooooooo behind on your blog…need to grab a cup of tea, sit back and catch up on all YOUR adventures!

  8. Welcome back Tracy.
    Enjoy your Disney vacation.

    — There are so many grasses so I gave up learning their names long time ago.

    • Thank you, Carsten! We are going to eat and drink and relax…how awesome is that?? I WILL be taking my camera (of course) and hope to capture some nice pics to post when I get back.

      Yeah, me too. Good thing I still had the tag from the nursery or else I wouldn’t have had the name!! 🙂

  9. Hope to see you back more regularly now 🙂
    This is a very peaceful image, and very pretty.

    Have a great vacation!!

    • Thanks, Michaela! At the time I took it I fought the urge to delete thinking it was ‘eh’. Seeing it again I decided that it really did capture what I was feeling at the moment. I am so like that with my photos! I always seem to need a little distance to really ‘see’ what I took instead of anything/everything I might think is technically lacking in it!

      I hope so, too, well at least after vacation that is. 🙂

  10. Hey, nice to see you back (however briefly). Enjoy the holiday!

    (And I love this shot – simple beautiful)

  11. I think you have captured the mood very well in this photo. It looks nice with the slightly red/brown color, – making the photo a little bit happy, too. Have a nice vacation, – eating, drinking, relaxing…that sounds just wonderful.

    • Thanks so much, Birgitte! It is hectic getting TO the vacation part, but by this time tomorrow, I should be well on my way into wind-down mode! 🙂

  12. Have a GREAT time! 🙂

  13. Nice pic and glad to hear you have some down time as well. Hope everything is going well and don’t worry when there is an ending, there’s always a beginning 😉

  14. Beautiful photo! Lovely golden light. I love the arches made by the bending grasses. I love that sort of beautiful detail, especially when it’s framed so well.
    Seems to summarise the summer-autumn transition period pretty well to me!

    • Thank you so very much, Kai! It is wonderful when it all comes together! I’m so glad you like it! 🙂

  15. incredible work! the warm glow in this is absolutely amazing. beautifully done!

  16. I am glad you are back in blogging-world again for a moment – and to read you are well. Blogging and photographing is nice – but LIVING is so many other things and is much more important: I wish you good luck with your vacation, kitchen and…. Take your time!!!
    And that photo you posted here was worth waiting for: Composition, lines and fall-colour – it tells so much – I am simply impressed…
    I admit I had to google AWOL to understand that word: “Absence without leave” – It’s actually an important thing to do (often) in life….

    • You are very wise Truels! I agree – life IS more important but I DO like to post and had been missing it. My hope is that the vacation recharges the creative batteries as well as the soul such that the kitchen project doesn’t push me over the brink and I go AWOL again!

      Hmmm…is that term just a USA thing? I just figured most military establishments had something similar! Either way, we BOTH learned something new today!

      Thanks, Truels! I appreciate your comments! Hugs!

  17. Lovely image Tracy and I know overwhelmed way too well. I do have to disagree with you about this summer – it was too hot and too humid for me. Give me crisp fall days like we are having now and that makes me happy.

    • Thanks, Lynn! Yeah, I remember a time when you were overwhelmed. Tho, you seemed to handle it better than I as you didn’t stop posting.

      Spoken like someone who doesn’t have a pool! 😉 For those of us that do, hot and humid makes for a perfect summer!

  18. Glad to see you back! I was getting worried 😦 I understand being overwhelmed though. Sometimes the blog just needs a break. I’m jealous of your pool! Do you have a hot tub too? If so I’m coming! 🙂

    • Thanks, Amber! No worries!

      No, no hot tub. Too much to maintain during out cold NE winters! 🙂

  19. Just lovely!

    …I’ve been absent a little too myself.


Leave a Reply

