Skip navigation


The great lengths Disney Imagineers go to to transport visitors to other lands via their theme parks is no more evident than at Disney’s Animal Kingdom. On this trip I made a concerted effort to notice all the ‘little things’ and spent much of my time meandering through areas taking in all the scenery that many whiz right past on their way to the next show, character greeting or thrill ride.

“This Way to Cool” (Coca-Cola Signage, Disney’s Animal Kingdom Theme Park, Asia) Nikon D300, 40mm, F/4.5, 1/500s, -0.7EV, ISO 640, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

For example, I came across these very authentic-looking advertising signs on my way to ‘Asia’ and even though I’ve never been to the continent, Disney’s reputation leaves no question in my mind that I’d find similar items there.

“Refreshing in any Language” (Coca-Cola Signage, Disney’s Animal Kingdom Theme Park, Asia) Nikon D300, 24mm, F/3.8, 1/250s, -0.7EV, ISO 640, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

And oh, what a welcoming sight they would be! (Sorry Pepsi). 🙂

Happy with my capture, I continued up the trail following the direction of the arrow to learn the signs didn’t lie. (Well technically I suppose they could have as I didn’t actually go inside to verify said beverages existed but for argument’s sake, let’s all just agree they did, k? 😉 )

So, if you ever find yourself parched in the land of Asia, rest assured a familiar (and frosty) American classic is not far out of reach.

10 Comments

  1. Nice stuff, glad to see you back and refreshed!

  2. I’m starting to miss Disney pretty badly already, and you’ve only just begun to post your shots. Between you, Scott, and Danielle, I’ve got a hankering!

  3. these are great photos. I was at the Animal Kingdom in 2006 and I don’t recall these, great job

    • Thanks, Consuelo! I’m hoping many of my images will make folks say just that! 🙂

  4. I am a sucker for all those little details and drive my family crazy pointing them all out! LOL

    • Ha! I’ve learnt to keep the little details to myself. Typically, one moment hubby and I will be walking side by side chatting away and before he knows it, I’m off and running with no warning to capture something that has caught my eye! 🙂

  5. Sigh…you do know I work for a Pepsi bottler, right? It’s okay, I drive all my flickr contacts nuts when they post Coke photos. Heck, I even took a few myself on my last trip.

    Anyway, Animal Kingdom has some of best details of any of the parks. Especially, the signs used there.

    • I did not know that! I’ve always been a Coca-Cola fan…just tastes better and you CANNOT beat the vanilla cokes made the old-fashioned way at Beaches & Cream! Something tells me the two (Pepsi and Coca-Cola) are not hurting for fans


Leave a Reply

