Skip navigation


Heading down Mickey Avenue towards Pixar Place is like walking back into your childhood toybox! I mean, where else can you find a gigantic scrabble board overrun with green army men? OR, larger-than-life monkeys in a barrel??

In the spirit of things, I simply couldn’t help but play around a bit with these images!

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

“You’ve Got a Friend in Me” (Oversized Scrabble Board with Green Army Man, Pixar Place, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 34mm, F/5.6, 1/125s, ISO 200, ‘Poster Edges’ CS3 Photo Filter

 

“To the Moon!” (Barrel Monkeys, Pixar Place, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 60 mm, F/5, 1/100s, ISO 200, ‘Poster Edges’ CS3 Photo Filter

 

“Monkey See” (Barrel Monkeys, Pixar Place, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 52mm, F/6.3, 1/160, ISO 200, Silver Efex Pro with Selective Toning

 

“Neon Friends” (Oversized Scrabble Board with Green Army Men, Pixar Place, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 34mm, F/6.3, 1/160s, -0.3EV, ISO 200, ‘Glowing Edges’ CS3 Photo Filter

32 Comments

  1. Looks like a fun place!! I can’t wait to take our boys there for their first Disney experience πŸ™‚

    • It IS!! SO much fun! I wish I had photographed more of the toys that were there. It was just difficult due to the crowds. Oh well, there’s always next time! πŸ™‚

      When you do take your darling 4 boys, you will definitely need many, many media cards as the photo ops are infinite! πŸ™‚

  2. This is so cool looking! I don’t remember any of this stuff at Hollywood Studios. I love what you’ve done with the pictures – that neon pic is really neat. Is that “Camera Dept” sign really there or is that a bit of your personal magic? Very appropriate for you either way.

    • Thanks, Karen!

      Pixar Place is relatively new to Hollywood Studios (well, Spring 2008) so that is probably why you don’t remember it!

      The “Camera Dept” WAS really there – not added by me! (Trust me, I am not that savvy in Photoshop!) I, too, LOVE that it is there and for me, makes the image all that more special! πŸ™‚

  3. These are so fun! I sooooo want to go back to Disney! I haven’t been since…. 1994 I think? If we ever to take the girls, we’re not going to tell them, because they’re NOT talking us out of it – again! (2 years ago we were supposed to go to Disneyland, but they begged to go to Legoland instead 😦 )

    • You HAVE to go to Walt Disney World! It has so much more than Disneyland! The girls don’t know what they are missing! A surprise trip would be awesome! Put them on a plane and let them figure it out once you’ve landed! πŸ™‚

      Hehehe…legoland…I think Walt just turned in his grave! πŸ˜‰

      Thank you, Michaela!

  4. I never saw these scenes at Disneyworld. It just goes to show how great photography really is. It let’s us see what we may have otherwise missed through the eyes of another photographer. Awesome shots

    • Well, then, Consuelo, that means you just have to go back and see for yourself! πŸ˜‰

      Aw, shucks. That is such a wonderful compliment! Many thanks! πŸ™‚

  5. i want to go back!! I want to go back!!! I WANT TO GO BACK!!!!

    we were there this spring and what an awesome experience. was just as much fun watching the kids take it all in as it was doing all the cool things myself.

    • LOL! I completely understand the feeling! I’ll be living this trip vicariously through posted photos for weeks to come. I’m sure!

      (psssst….hubby and I wish they’d make a day just for grown-ups….no strollers allowed! πŸ˜‰ )

  6. Too much fun! πŸ™‚

    • Trust me – I soooooo wanted to play with all the toys! πŸ™‚

  7. Great fun Tracy. I love the giant scrabble and the different ways that you showed it.

  8. Did you go into the ride itself, Tracy? There is even more toys from our past.

    All those wanting to go to WDW, I am available for tours and personal photography of your trip. πŸ™‚ I know PhotoPass is probably a cheaper alternative.

    • Not this trip, but when it first opened YES and the ride is AMAZING! SO MUCH FUN! We tried to go on several occasions this trip but by 10:00am, all the fast passes were GONE for the day and there was simply too long a wait. When we go in Jan-Feb, typically the crowds are much lighter so perhaps then.

      Be careful what you offer there, Scott! If someone takes you up on that, your ‘vacation’ would become ‘WORK’! πŸ˜‰

      • I waited through the standby queue this time so I could get up close to Mr. Potato Head. Then he had the nerve to call me a hockey puck! πŸ™‚

        I will take that kind of work anyday!

      • LOL! Too funny, Scott! πŸ™‚

  9. Tracy, the glowing edges really works on what was already an unreal image. Congrats on your bonding below too.

    • Thanks, Lynn! That is quite a compliment! I did take many straight-on images and found the angled ones to be much more interesting. A bit out of character for me and I LIKE it! Glad you did, too! πŸ™‚

  10. Love that first one!

  11. Great shots! You can really feel the bustle and fun in them! I love the last in particular.

  12. Great shots! πŸ™‚

  13. You made me grin with that huge Scrabble board and green men shot–LOL–wonderful image! Merci.

    • You’re so very welcome and you’ve returned the favor in kind as YOUR wonderful comment made ME grin! πŸ™‚

  14. wow i had a rough time figuring out the actual perspective of the first one. i thought it was a real scrabble board for a while. cool!

    • Ha! Yeah, I guess if you don’t have prior knowledge, it could lappear a bit strange! πŸ˜‰

      It’s is a gigantic scrabble board hanging off the side of a building so the only way to shoot it is by looking up.

      Thanks, Stephen! Glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

  15. Dear Tracy
    Hi from Sydney Australia!! Love the scrabble board shot and would love to purchase this as a poster / print if it is available or possible?? Would love to give it as a gift to a very special friend:) ! Let me know please !! Many thanks for your time and assistance . .keep up the great work ! Kindest regards . . Glenda Bailey

    • Greetings Glenda! I’m so glad you like my work! Your words are very kind, indeed! πŸ™‚

      I am sending you a private email regarding your request for print, but in general, all sorts of photographic prints/posters of my work are available for purchase on Redbubble. I am realizing that these specific images are not yet posted on that site (I never know which will appeal to the general public) but I can certainly create an entry for the one you are interested in.

      Thank you so very much! πŸ™‚


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By A very good year « Milkay Photography on 17 Nov 2011 at 1:58 pm

    […] in November 2010, fresh from a trip to Disney, I had posted a series of photos from Hollywood Studios. The […]

Leave a Reply

