Skip navigation


Blushed

“Blushed” (Paeonia suffruticosa ‘Kinkaku’, Japanese Tree Peony), Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/8, 1/80s, ISO 640, Built-in i-TTL-BL Flash, -1.0EV, Color Efex Pro ‘Duplex’ Filter

I’ve been saving this image for quite awhile, waiting for the perfect day to post it. Well today is my sister Lynn’s birthday and I can’t think of a more fitting time!

Unlike myself, Lynn decorates for the holidays in subtle hues reminiscent of a Victorian Christmas (think shades of pink, cream, gold and pale greens nestled amongst twinkling white lights…soooo pretty). You won’t find a stitch of Christmas red and forest green but trust me, you won’t miss it one bit.

Lynn is a master gardener and if it weren’t for her, I doubt I would have any sort of green thumb. She helped nurture that seed in me oh, so many years ago when I was a new homeowner completely overwhelmed by the large landscape I had acquired. She lives across the state so I don’t get to see her very often but, we do stay in touch via telephone and when I’m in the garden or doing anything with flowers, I can’t help but think of her.

So, today’s post is all for Lynn, sending warm wishes, hugs and kisses! ♥♥♥

20 Comments

  1. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Will Lynn also receive a huge print of this goregous photograph?
    !!!
    Seeing this sure lifted my mood. Merci.

    • Thank you so very much white buffalo! 🙂 So glad to lift your mood!

      Sigh…well, if I had THOUGHT of it sooner, yes, that would have been a very good idea, now wouldn’t it? Of course if Lynn wants a print of this I would certainly send her one. For now, she will simply have to make due with the birthday flowers I sent (she called to thank me and said they are lovely!) 🙂

  2. How nice to see you posting again, Tracy!
    This is a lovely shot, and your sister’s Christmas decorating sounds gorgeous. Maybe she’d let you take some shots to share with us some time?

    • Thanks, Karen! I was certainly motivated and determined to post today! 🙂

      I’m sure she would. I just don’t make it to Chicopee all that often…

  3. SO beautiful!
    Happy Birthday to your sister!

    • Thanks, M! I’m sure she’ll appreciate your birthday wishes! 🙂

  4. Should I also accept your warm wishes since I have the same name as your sister? Beautiful photo in one of my favorite flower colors, that pink and yellow. Happy Birthday to the other Lynn.

  5. Happy b-day to your sis! And a lovely image – been missing your posts!!

    • Thanks so much, Derrick! Yes, sorry to be so absent of late. I’ve been trying to keep up with everyone’s blogs! I’m sure after the chaos of the holidays you will see much more of me, here and everywhere! 🙂

  6. Beautiful. Happy birthday to your sister – if she is the reason for your beautiful flower photography, then we have much to be grateful to her for.

  7. Nice! And I love your description, when you talked about the Victorian Christmas it brought me back to a distant memory. When you see something so beautiful, but only once in your life time, it brings a pleasant nostalgia when something triggers you to remember it! Thanks!

    • Thank you very much, Rock! Glad I could spark such a lovely memory for you! Your kind comments made me smile! 🙂

  8. Great to hear from you again, Tracy! 🙂 And what a post you come back with here: It is a great and unique photo your sister gets for her birthday. And please give your sister a collegiate birthday hug from a Danish gardener!

    • Thanks so much, Truels! It was good to have motivation to post! I’m sure Lynn will appreciate the hug! ♥

  9. What a nice tribute to your sister. This is such a gorgeous shot. Beautifully delicate and such pretty color too.

  10. This is so beautiful.

    • Thanks so much, Meg! And thanks for stopping by – always nice to see a new face in the comments! I hope you visit again! 🙂


Leave a Reply

