Skip navigation


Yeah, you could say I decorate for Christmas. 😉

There’s just something about the twinkling lights and the ornaments and the candles and the nostalgia that gets me every time. And even though I utilize the same decorations each year (well, perhaps with a few new things thrown in from time to time as well as a few items retired), rarely is anything placed in the exact same location from one year to the next. I find this challenges both my creativity (and my sanity) but keeps things fresh and new for us each season. The biggest and most difficult change this year was the switch over to almost all (say, 95%?) warm LED lights. Good for us and good for the environment! 🙂

So, shake off the cold and enjoy this tour of just a few of the areas of our home all decked out for the holidays. Feliz Navidad! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please Note: Unfortunately, I cannot control how quickly the images advance. HOWEVER, if you hover your mouse over the slideshow area, a set of controls will display allowing you to STOP the auto advancement of the images. Then, you can use the forward and back arrows to scroll through the images at your leisure.

28 Comments

  1. beautiful! your house and yard look amazing! hope you and family had a wonderful day!
    merry christmas!!!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Stephen! (But did you have to drink ALL the egg nog??? :D)

      We DID have an amazing day! I hope you did, too. (Personally, I made out like a bandit. That $20 I slipped the elf to get me on the ‘nice list’ really paid off!) 😉

      Merry Christmas to you and your family!!!!!

  2. YOU HAVE EGGNOGG??? I’ll be right over! 😉
    Your home looks beautiful. I love your newest ornament, so adorable!

    • Yep. And rum. And whipped cream. And cinamon. And nutmeg. And elastic-waist pants. 😀

      Thanks, Michaela! Now you understand why I’m so tired? 😉

      Yeah, that little Santa is a cutie! My friend Nancy is the BEST!

      • You know what else is good? Vanilla Spiced Eggnogg (Walmart and Target have it, and some grocery stores) with Kahlua and whipped cream! YUM!! That’s what’s on my “cookies for Santa” picture. Sara saw the whipped cream (she doesn’t like whipped cream) on the eggnogg and asked “Is that even good??” Umm, YEAH!!

      • Sounds delicious!!

        Sara DOESN’T LIKE WHIPPED CREAM?? I didn’t even know that was possible! 😉

  3. So many beautiful things! You have an amazing sense of beauty. Just gorgeous. 🙂

    P.S. How did you get your cat to pose with a Santa hat? Is it photoshopped in? So cute!

    • Thanks so much, Karen! I really like to put together all sorts of things to give our home a different look than everyone elses. It is filled with hand-made items, Craigslist finds, auction finds, hand-me-downs and discount home store goods all mixed in with new things. That is true for our everyday furnishings and accessories as well as the holiday decorations. I seem to go for the unusual – something with a twist – and boy-oh-boy do I love a bargain! 🙂

      HA! Being a cat owner, I know you KNOW that you can’t get a cat to do anything! All you can hope for is some brief toleration! Cleo was sleeping on the bed and we simply walked up to her with the little santa hat, allowed her to sniff it, then stuck it on her head. (As you can see from the photo, she is thrilled with the idea…). We did this a bunch of times (she kept knocking it off) and this was the best image we got. I love the ‘this is so humiliating’ look! 🙂

  4. That’s great!! Merry Christmas!

  5. OMG is this real and not a piece of scenery made for a film? It´s just SO beautiful, and very far from what I see around here. What a clever artist you are! Your beautiful house makes it even more marvellously.

    • You are so very kind, Birgitte! Thank you! 🙂

      Yes, I assure you all you see is real and sooooo many years in the making. Our home is my one little piece of the world where I can do anything my little heart desires. So much blood, sweat, tears, elbow grease, broken fingernails, sore muscles, dirty hands and knees and yes, many, many cursewords have gone into this place! It is our castle and we love it!

      So glad you stopped by and took the tour. Donations gladly accepted at the door! 😉

  6. Tracy – your garden was such a wonderful place when you showed us around there – and your house is even more wonderful and impressive. And you are not only a great artist in photographing and creating your house and garden – but also in decorating your home, amazing!!!

    • So sweet of you to say, Truels! Thank you! 🙂

      Christmas is really the only time of year I go, well, a little over the top. I do try to stay below that fine line of ‘oh-now-that-is-just-too-much’ and actually find myself editing when it gets too cluttered looking. I think that is the reason why I tend to go for oversized items – you need so much LESS to fill the space!

      Of course, you realize with positive encouragement like this from you I won’t ever stop… 😉

  7. Merry Christmas, Tracy! Beautiful job with the decorating… Looks like Better Homes & Gardens over there! Maybe you can come over & help me get my decor act together next year? I’m a little challenged in that dept… 🙂 Cheers!

    • Merry Christmas, Christine!!

      Thanks so much! (Not to brag BUT our home WAS photographed for the Country Sampler Decorating Ideas December 2001 issue…even made the cover!)
      Suuuuurrrrre, but we’d have to start in October to get your house done so that I have time to get mine done, k? 😉

  8. Merry Christmas Tracy.
    And thanks for the tour in your beautiful house. Your decorations are outstanding. It reminds me of when I saw Disney on tv when I was a kid.

    • Boy, Carsten, you’re doling out Christmas wishes right and left here – I’ll take them all! 🙂

      So glad you dropped by! WOW, thanks! – that is some compliment (you realize I’m a HUGE Disney fan, right??) I do think the whimsy of Disney does come into play in a huge way in our home. Why take things so seriously, right? One room I didn’t photograph is our sunroom where I have these FABULOUS jumbo-sized colored lights – I’m talking seriously HUGE here – strung on a garland. They are supposed to be used as lawn stakes but heck, now that would be boring…. 😉

      • I remember Mickey’s ears 🙂

        I just had to comment on your Christmas world. And do it without a greeting? No way…

      • Of course, Carsten, you are far too well-mannered for that! 🙂

  9. Wow, that’s some dedicated decorating! I hope you had a Merry Christmas worthy of all wonderful setting.

    • That’s putting it mildly, JP! 😉

      Yes, we had a lovely Christmas (Santa was very good to both Jim and I but the best part was simply spending it together).

      Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  10. Thank you for the tour, Tracy! You have a lovely home and a warm way of decorating it. Oh, and thanks for the slideshow directions which I borrowed for an upcoming post. 🙂

    Happy New Year!! Hey, did you get your kitchen done?

    • You’re welcome, Scott! 🙂

      Thank you for your lovely comments – much appreciated!

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, too!

      Yes, kitchen is pretty much completed…just waiting on a bonus new butcher block table! Pics coming soon! Thanks for asking! 🙂

  11. Your house is gorgeous and the perfect Christmas setting. So impressed by your conversion to LEDs! I didn’t decorate this year as we are traveling and looking at your home, I miss it. Merry Christmas!

    • Thank you, Tammy! 🙂

      We’ve been wanting to switch to LEDs for a few years now but haven’t been happy with the ‘antiseptic’ appearance of most brands. This year we found some warm LEDs that actually look warm! PLUS, when we went to hang our outside garlands, three of them were DOA so we really had no choice in the matter. Lots of work but well worth it!

      Merry Christmas! 🙂

  12. Your decorations make this not a house but a whole Christmas kingdom! I don’t like too much decorations but you managed them very well and it’s not overdone. Simply fantastic!

    • Many thanks, Tomas!

      It is a fine line and I know my style isn’t for everyone. We host a party each year and all our friends do seem to appreciate the effort. Does make things festive! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] believe me? Well, you can check out the 2010 and 2011 line-ups to see what I’m talking about. If I do say so myself, I think I just may […]

Leave a Reply

