Skip navigation


I don’t know what it is, but I find flamingos completely fascinating. I suppose it could be that they are pink – a color I am hopelessly drawn to when it comes to flowers so why not with birds, too?

No denying it, flamingos are exquisite birds – fluffy poofs of feathers balanced atop spindly legs, long graceful necks and piercing eyes encased in black eyeliner. C’mon, what’s not to love?

“Coquettish” (Lesser Flamingo, Phoenicopterus minor) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/7.1, 1/200s, -0.3EV, ISO 400, Nik Color Efex Pro B&W and Bi-color Filters

This beautiful bird was definitely playing coy with me. Little did it know, s/he had me at ‘pink’. 🙂

30 Comments

  1. What a wonderful ‘head’ shot! Great eye contact between the delicate feathers. Oh yes, wonderful birds–then again, what bird is not a piece of wonderful work? Hi.

    • Thank you, whitebuffalo!

      Yes, I agree, as I do find most birds fascinating. BUT, some birds do have a way of drawing my attention!

      Hi, back. 🙂

  2. What an amazing shot, Tracy! Love the dark backdround – it really highlights the flamingo! Great job!

    • Thanks, Steve! They are just so graceful and curvy…I really couldn’t miss! 🙂

  3. It is quite a sweet photo.

    • Thanks, Burst! Looks like s/he had you at pink, too…. 😉

      (Ya, ya, I know, I changed the colors so s/he really isn’t pink anymore but, well, you know how it is. Some photos just beg for manipulation!) 🙂

  4. Coy indeed and a real beauty too.

  5. Nice photo with common and not so common pose 🙂 The eye contact is excellent. What distracts me a bit is that the neck comes out of nowhere. Great photo anyway! Flamingos are tempting many photographers.

    • Thank you, Tomas!

      Hmmm, yes, I can see that being problematic. I think it may depend upon your monitor since on mine, the transition of the neck to the background fades nicely. I also think when seen larger, the eye plays a greater role in capturing attention. I appreciate the comment! 🙂

  6. Nice capture, although it took me a minute to realize what it was 🙂

    • Thanks, M! Not a bad thing to have a little mystery, no? 😉

  7. Gorgeous shot! I love birds too. I find them to be so sweet and beautiful! This is an inspiring shot of how they can be amazing photography subjects.

    • Thanks, Amy! These guys are gorgeous without even trying! I wonder how that goes… 😉

  8. I love how you captured this, it’s beautiful

    • Thank you, Consuelo! Always appreciated when you comment! 🙂

  9. I love it when they do that!! Great capture!

  10. Wonderful shot – I agree with everyone else about the pose and the eye contact. You know, I don’t think I’ve every seen a flamingo in ‘real life’…

    • Thank you, Steve! I’m surprised to hear this with all the amazing places you’ve been!

      I’d love to see them in the true wild (I’ve only seen them at animal parks/reserves). Those shots photogs get where there are THOUSANDTHS of them must be surreal to experience in person! 🙂

  11. That is so cute! I just learned that they turn pink from the shrimp that they eat.

  12. No denying they are quite the appealing looking bird… but I’ll avidly deny any attraction to their pinkness… lol… Amazing shot though Tracy…

    • Hi Brian!! Oh, you are soooooo attracted to pink, my friend, and you know it!!

      Thanks, Brian! 🙂

  13. My soul sister and I have this flamingo joke between us. I told her that if she ever gave me another flamingo she was no longer my sista. Of course if she were to purchase this photograph I might reconsider!! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. My sole sister actually was the one who said something… she was sitting behind her jewelry booth at a vintage market when she saw me walking up. It was funny… everyone was taking pictures of us. Our outfits were very similar as well. I like your digs… I’ll be back. 🙂

    • Ha! What a great story!

      I think anyone who wears such funky boots is more than welcome to visit my blog! I think you and I would get along great! 🙂

      Thanks for your comment! So glad you liked the shot and that you’ll be back! 🙂

  14. You are right, they really are a compelling subject. And not being skittish (like say a raptor) helps too! I think this is a lovely composition. Well done.

    • Thanks so much, Bob!

      So true! Male Cardinals could learn a thing from these beauties! This flamingo couldn’t have cared less about me or my camera. Now, that’s my kind of subject! 🙂

  15. if you looked up “demure” in the dictionary…

    really nice photo. someone up there disagreed with this, but i like how the neck fades into the darkness. somehow it’s like the flamingo is choosing to appear in front of us. and the eye contact is pretty fantastic.

    sorry i’ve been absent! catching up.

    • Now you come up with ‘demure’?? If you could see how much I struggled with the name of this image!

      Thanks, Stephen! I do too! I didn’t find it too severe and more along the lines of a fade as you see it. Ooooo, yes…I do so love that eye!

      No worries. Glad you’ve stopped by. You’ve been missed! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By A very good year « Milkay Photography on 17 Nov 2011 at 1:58 pm

    […] couldn’t pick a favorite from January. Both images hail from our October Disney trip since by then, I simply had HAD it with winter! […]

Leave a Reply

