Skip navigation


Sometimes, you just can’t look at any more SNOW! 🙂

To take my mind off of all the wintry weather, I played with a couple of images from our October trip to Walt Disney World that I knew would be perfect for some Nik Color Efex Pro filter action.

“Molten Mickey” (Turn-style Gates at Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 52mm, F/7.1, 1/200s, ISO 250, Nik Color Efex Pro Detail Stylizer & Bi-Color Filters

Millions of people pass through the turn-styles at Disney’s Hollywood Studios yet few seem to take notice of the fantastic gates on either side, simply adorned with the iconic Mickey Mouse head shape. As we entered the park one morning, the crowds were pretty thick so I knew I’d have to wait for a better opportunity to get the shot I wanted.

Later that afternoon, I got my chance and snapped away. I thought by shooting in b&w, the few people milling about would somehow magically disappear and on the small screen, they did seem to fade into the background. Oh, how I wish that were the case once back home, viewing the images on a larger screen! Sigh.

Nik filters to the rescue! 🙂

A few clicks of the mouse is all it took to isolate the Mickey shapes from the distracting background. More clicks brought in a punch of amazing color. I’m soooo digging the oozey, molten result… must be my wishful thinking that the blazing heat of the Florida sun will come through my monitor and melt all the snow! I can dream, can’t I? 😉

The second image comes courtesy via the queue area leading to “The Seas with Nemo & Friends” attraction. If you are familiar with the animated film ‘Finding Nemo’ upon which the ride is based then you would completely understand why a large monitor is cycling through various shapes being created by a school of metallic fish. The animation is meant to entertain and delight patrons as they patiently make their way through the line.

I decided to stop and photograph a bird shape that appeared momentarily on-screen, not really thinking I had captured anything particularly interesting. However, seeing it today and being in this ‘filter’ frame of mind, I was fairly pleased once I cross-processed the image to enhance the, ahem, feathers.

“Flight of the Albatross” (Bird Abstract, The Seas with Nemo & Friends attraction, EpCoT) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/2.8, 1/1.6s, -0.3EV, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Cross-Processing’ Filter

Pretty darn cool, eh? 🙂

34 Comments

  1. Yup, pretty darn cool! I LOVE the Mickey one! I can totally see those being sold as posters at all the gift shops…. or imagine a tumbler or glass with this image all the way around. Now THAT would be cool!

    • Thanks, Michaela! Me, too!! 🙂

      You would make a fantastic AGENT as you have great ideas!! So, as your first official task, do contact Disney and set that all up, k? 😀

      I’ll be waiting for their phone call… 😉

      • YOU need to contact Disney…. you’re the artist after all 😉

      • Damn…shoulda known you wouldn’t fall for this… 😉

  2. nifty! I haven’t even begun to figure out Lightroom yet and now look at all this stuff…. 😉

    • Thanks, Derrick!

      No worries…I don’t know Lightroom. We all have our strengths! The best tools are the ones that work for us! 🙂

  3. Those are some cool toys you’ve got there!

  4. Tracy, I LOVE the first image, but to be honest, the second one looks more like a flower to me (yes, I know, even in spite of the bird shape… )
    The first photo could be Stained Glass, my eye wanders around the image finding new things all the time. Excellent photo!

    • Thanks, Kiwi!

      Hmmmm, perhaps those pain killers are kicking in? 😉 No, seriously, I appreciate your honest comment! This is what abstract images are all about…something different for everyone!

      • I’m heavy on the pain killers today as I now sport plaster cast number six (Grrr) ok, it’s a thinner sort, like a hard bandage but not a hard as the full plaster, it will help support the bones whilst I practice standing up and walking again. The pain generally lasts a day or two and then things settle so I hope to be trying to walk soonest. In two weeks hopefully I’m *really* plaster free!
        As for the photos, personal preference is EVERYTHING, I can’t get into the second image because I’m so besotted with the first LOL.

      • See? I knew pain killers were involved! 😉

        Ouch! Cast #6! You have been through so much with your ‘Franken foot’! If I could, I would snap my fingers and make it in the future and you could be past all this pain. But for now, enjoy the hallucinations! 😀

  5. The top one is very cool, but I love the bottom shot! I’ve heard good things about the Nik software, keep meaning to try it one day…

    • Thanks so much, JP! Abstracts are great, aren’t they? You just never know how they are going to be received.

      There are so many good filter packages out there… I really like the versatility of th Nik ones (I have Silver Efex Pro as well). Worth looking into! 🙂

  6. Wow Tracy, great photos, both of them. I agree with Michaela, the top is a poster, no doubt. I like the blue one too, and would love to see it closer. It has an interesting texture. Makes one think about what it could be, and that is a quality for a photo, I think.

    • Thanks so much, Birgitte! Your comments are so very kind!

      Do you HEAR this Disney??? Here’s TWO votes for making this image into a poster!! 🙂

      pssst…check your email…I’ve sent you a little surprise…

  7. The first images reminds me of an ice cream mickey head melting down my arm. Mmmmmmmm…Ice Cream…

  8. Your processing for both of these adds all the interest! So good!

  9. I have always liked Nik’s software. Well, not the Nikon software but the rest of it and here is a great reason why. Love how you did these.

    • Nik and Nikon are two different beings! But, I get what you mean (I have Nikon Capture and don’t use it much). The Nik stuff is great – I also use Nik Dfine to process my images (removes digital noise beautifully).

      Thanks, Burst! Much appreciated! 🙂

  10. Pretty darn cool indeed!! I do no processing other than a little contrast here and a little saturation there. Maybe someday…

    • Thanks much, jewel!

      We alll start off that way but somehow, in the end, the digital toys lure us all in… 😉

  11. I’ve been torn between shooting just snow and trying to find some color in this world, guess you choose the latter. Does the mind good to see something other than white.

    • You are braver than I, Lynn, to venture out into the bitter temps! I have many images from our October trip so more color and interest to come!

  12. Well you sure can’t beat a splash of colour like that to brighten up a winters day… What a great effect…

    • Thanks so much, Brian! That is exactly what I was going for! 🙂

  13. Nik filters are awesome. These sure are fun 🙂

  14. i really can’t fathom what this first is a picture of. i mean, i understand the actual words you used: turn-styles and gates and such. but i can’t make any sense out what that means in the picture. are those mickey heads really high up in the air?

    but really i don’t care even a tiny bit because it is a very cool image. there is a sort of mid-century modern-ness that comes out of it that i really like.

    • Yes, the gates are very, very tall and to exaggerate them, I did shoot from a squatted position.

      Thanks so much, Stephen! You have this ability to elevate an image to greatness with your descriptons! 🙂

  15. Spiffy imagery! I’ve yet to come anywhere near mastering the simple click of the camera before attempting clicks of mousery alteration.

    Love it, you.

    • Thanks much, Rupe!

      You are being modest there….you do pretty well with your ‘simple clicks’! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By A very good year « Milkay Photography on 17 Nov 2011 at 1:58 pm

    […] our October Disney trip since by then, I simply had HAD it with winter! (Molten Mickey post is here). "Coquettish" (Lesser Flamingo, Disney's Animal Kingdom) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/7.1, […]

Leave a Reply

