Skip navigation


Hidden amongst the larger, more showy blooms in a charming cottage bouquet I brought home last week were sprays of tiny pink Dianthus flowers.

"Smitten" (Dianthus Flower) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.8, 1/60s, -1.0EV, ISO 400

Hmmm, how can such a small filler flower draw attention away from the Gerbera’s, white roses and painted daisies? Well, just look at those delicately ruffled petals and dramatically twisted stamens! 🙂

"Courtship Dance" (Dianthus Flower) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/6.3, 1/8s, -1.0EV, ISO 400, Canvas Texture Overlay

Plus, here was a prime opportunity to pull out my 105mm lens and flex my macro muscles. (Yeah, like I needed a lot of arm twisting… 😉 )

"Marry Me?" (Dianthus Flower) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4, 1/50s, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro 'Duplex' Filter

With late afternoon sun streaming through the windows, I honed in on the stamens and allowed the rest to simply happen.

See? Some stories do have a happy ending! 🙂

28 Comments

  1. Such great close-up work, Tracy! Great job.

  2. Tracy,the captions to the photos fit perfectly! (AND the photos show off the flowers amazingly) Great job… I can very much see why these little beauties grabbed the limelight 🙂

    • You noticed!!!! You’ve no idea how much that means to me!!

      Thanks so much, Kiwi!! You’re the best! 🙂

  3. WOW – that last shot is just perfect!

  4. How pretty!
    I was a little bummed that I “only” got roses for Valentine’s Day (a mixed bouquet would have been nice)… I’m getting a little bored, photographing roses. BUT, I was VERY happy that hubby remembered to get me flowers 🙂

    • Ha! Thanks, M!

      You’re the only person I know who’d be bummed about getting roses! BUT, I understand from a photographic standpoint…you’ve shot a lot of roses in your time! 🙂

  5. I love the relationship between those ‘botanical bits’! I have to admit I would have missed out on those amazing details – very cool! 🙂

    • Well, hello there, spilledinkguy! Nice of you to stop by! 🙂

      Yeah, if you visit regularly you’ll see I’m sort of a ‘notice-all-the-little-details’ sort of girl. I could live my life in macro…

      Thanks so much for the wonderful comment! 🙂

  6. One of my favorite flowers!! Great capture! The ones I have in my park, the stamens look like little candy canes!

    • Thanks, Derrick! 🙂

      Oooooh, little candy canes? How interesting! Have you photographed them?

  7. Beautiful…wait! You had sunlight? 😉

    • Thanks, Scott! 🙂

      Yep, even have some today. We have had two days of warmer temps and sun. That ends tonight when we are back to bitter temps, gusty winds and a ‘wintry mix’ on Monday. I’d sit outside and enjoy but the ice falling off the roof and crashing to the ground is a bit frightening! 😉

  8. Well those sure do look like some pretty amazing flowery type things, with their little twisty bits… 🙂

  9. Oh so pretty! I especially love the top flower and the canvas texture is real nice too 🙂 Such gorgeous color!

  10. Excellent stamens indeed, they seem to be living creatures coming out of the flower.

  11. Wow, these are beautiful flowers, I love the colors great shot too

    • Thanks so much Consuelo! 🙂 When everything outside is white, grey and brown, these were a much needed color burst!

  12. Great captioning Tracy and whatever you did to the color of the Marry Me photo is dramatic and beautiful.

    • Thanks so much, Tammy! That is the look I was going for! 🙂

  13. Love the dance the stamens are enjoying. Winter makes us search really hard for beauty in the unexpected or overlooked. Today I’m searching really hard to find beauty in yet more snow. Thanks for your comment on my blog!

    • Thank you, Becky Sue! I am in the same boat today…going to try my hand a close-up of snowflakes. What else can we do? 😉

  14. Hi, I was wondering what type of camera you use for your nature shots. Also, how did you originally get into photography and learn the skills that you now possess? I bought a camera last year and vary between motivated and discouraged. I’m thinking about taking photography classes at the local community college to learn some basics.

    • Hi Amanda! Welcome and thank you for visiting!

      I am currently using a Nikon D300 and I really like it. I also have a Nikon D700 which I use occasionally. Under each image I post, I list all the camera information (camera and lens used, F-stop, shutter, ISO, etc.).

      I am a self-taught photographer. Early on, I attended many seminars and workshops given by photographers whom I admired. Since I’ve never wanted to mimic other photogs, but explore the world with my lens the way I see it, I’ve spent a lot of time simply out shooting and shooting and shooting until I understood all the settings and controls on my camera. Flash was my last nemesis and last year I made a point to shoot more with flash and now am comfortable with it (tho I still prefer natural light whenever possible).

      I think taking classes would do wonders – can never learn too much! It will seem overwhelming at first, but trust me, over time, you will get it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

