Skip navigation


When Karma posted an invitation to participate in a Photography Scavenger Hunt I immediately thought ‘How fun!’ fully intending to give it a go despite the short time frame. But then, life got away from me (as it tends to do) and before I knew it, the deadline was looming and I had little accomplished. 😦

Turns out, I wasn’t the only one having difficulty so Karma extended the submission deadline to March 6th – hooray! 🙂

Right from the get go I planned on posting the images in a collage and when I went to assemble the structure itself, I realized I needed a few more images than the 12 in the hunt to make it visually appealing. (Birgitte, my dear, you do make it look so easy! 🙂 )

Scavenger Hunt Collage

All but TWO images were taken specifically for the scavenger hunt. The two in question are previously un-posted images that just fit the bill (details follow).

So here it goes:

“Bad News” (9/11 Headline, NY Times) Nikon D300, 80mm, F/5, 1/100s, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Bi-color’ Filter

 
 
 
 
(1). Newspaper Headline  – For my generation, the attack on September 11, 2001 has to be themost horrific event to occur on U.S. soil.

A day I will never forget…
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

“Tick Tock” (Clock Face) Nikon D300, 170mm, F/5.6, 1/15s, ISO 400, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Old Photo’ Filter

 
 
(2). Big Round Clockface-Didn’t have to travel far for this one! Here is one of three large clock faces painted in a row on a decorative board in my living room. One clock is set to PST, one to EST and one to GMT (since hubby travels often to the UK).

“25 W 893” (Fruit Truck, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 46mm, F/8, 1/250s, ISO 200, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Bi-color’ Filter

 
(3). A Big Lorry/Truck – On our October 2010 trip I spied this large, old-time Chevy truck parked along Sunset Boulevard in Disney’s Hollywood Studios. Now, knowing Disney’s reputation for details, I imagine the license plate must have some significance… anyone know? Anyone??

“You Take the High Road” (Veterans Memorial Bridge) Nikon D300, 36mm, F/16, 1/100s, ISO 200

 
 
 
(4). Bridge – Not one bridge but TWO!🙂

Constructed in 1997, the Veterans Memorial Bridge connects Beverly to Salem and rises high enough over the Danvers River to allow boats to easily pass underneath without the need for a drawbridge (huge improvement over the old bridge).

The lower bridge seen in the background is used by the MBTA commuter trains.

“Open Seating” (Park Benches at Percy F. Lyons Park, Beverly) Nikon D300, 75mm, F/18, 1/250s, ISO 200, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Color Stylizer’ Filter

(5).Park Bench – Here’s the first 2-for-1!

(I really couldn’t decide which image I liked better and, with the collage requiring additional images to be balanced, I didn’t have to! 🙂 )

The first shot is definitely more indicative of my photographic style but, I was actually proud of

“Smoke Break” (Smoker on Bench, Percy F. Lyons Park) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/10, 1/400s, ISO 200, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Color Stylizer’ Filter

   
myself for the second shot since I am not all that comfortable photographing strangers. 

Turns out, the guy on the bench with the headphones and cigarette was completely oblivious of my presence… 🙂

“Directional Snow” (Snow-covered Fences) Nikon D300, 55mm, F/7.1, 1/100s, +0.7EV, ISO 100

(6). Stripes – This image is from February of 2010. While standing on the other side of our chain-link fence I thought the layering of textures and directional lines would make for an interesting photograph. Back then, I never did anything with it. I guess it was simply waiting for the right moment. 🙂

“Button Pusher” (Heart-shaped Button Sampler) Nikon D300, 130mm, F/5.6, 1/40s, ISO 640

 
 
(7). Something Heartshaped – I posted a close-up of this sweet button sampler for Valentine’s Day.

Serving as more than just a decoration in my livingroom, it reminds me that we are all stitched together with the common thread of LOVE.

Awwwwww

“Eyes for You” (Sewing Needles) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro with 3-ring Extension Tube Set and 1.7x Teleconverter yielding 180mm, F/9, 1/3s, ISO 640, Nik Silver Efex Pro B&W Filter

 
 
 
 
(8). Eyes – Yeah, I took creative liberty with this one… you gotta problem with that? 😀

“Sneaks” (Jack Purcell Converse Sneakers) Nikon D300, 56mm, F/4.8, 1/25s, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Color Stylizer’ Filter w/Selective Toning

 
 
 
(9). Your Shoes – NO closet should be without a pair of Converse sneakers.

These are my broken-in, well-worn, limited-edition, no-lace, slip-on, olive-green Jack Purcell’s.

Love ’em! 🙂

“Play It Again” (Wooden Toy Piano) Nikon D300, 40mm, F/5.6, 1/100s, ISO 100

 
 
 
 

(10). Musical Instrument – This wooden toy piano from my childhood will always have a special place in my heart.

They just don’t make ’em like this anymore!

“POST” (Stylized Mailbox Letters) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/5, 1/15s, -0.7EV, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Solarization’ Filter

 (11). Post Box – Another 2-for-1! 🙂

I happened to have my neighbor’s mailbox in my possession as it required refurbishment from all the winter abuse. (I built it for her as a birthday gift oh-so-many years ago). So, while  it underwent repairs, I snapped a few stylized images of the front.  Can’t get more literal than this, huh? 😉

“What Can Blue Do For You?” (Post Boxes in Front of Beverly Post Office) Nikon D300, 18mm, F/16, 1/125s, ISO 200

  
To make up for it, I went out looking for some real post boxes to photograph. At one time, you’d find post boxes on every corner but these days, they are becoming quite rare.

I risked getting run down by a car to take this shot outside the main branch of the local P.O.

Okay, it was worth it. 🙂

“Short and Stout” (Red Teapot on Stovetop) Nikon D300, 90mm, F/5.3, 1/10s, ISO 640

   
(12). Something Red – I struggled for days on this one since the prompt was beyond simple and so very wide open. You see, I have many red items in my home yet, none seemed all that interesting.

Then one morning, there it was, like a slap to the forehead as if to say, ‘Hey! What took you so long?’ 😉

So, there ya have it, folks, and just in under the extended deadline. Phew! 🙂

35 Comments

  1. What a great idea. Your choices work very well together Tracy.

    • Thanks, Lynn! 🙂

      Glad you could see this as I intended…it appears to be posting differently on different browsers and OS’s – aaarrrgh!

  2. Love this collection of pictures! I’m especially partial to the toy piano.

    • Aw, thanks so much SWK! Your comment is much appreciated!

      Yes, that toy piano is sweet! 🙂

  3. What a cool project!! Nicely done all around.

  4. Wonderfully done! 🙂

    I so wanted to do this but even with the extension, I couldn’t find the time. I’m hoping there will be an excuse to do it again in the future. 🙂

    • Thank you, Robin! I really didn’t think I was going to make the extension either…just caught a break yesterday!

      Look at you keeping up with all of us even while away! 🙂

  5. You sure managed to get some great shots there Tracy, and the collage was a stroke of genius too… Love the sneaker shot, and at least you won’t trip over your laces… lol.. but where’s YOUR self portrait.. 😉

    • Thanks much, Bri! ‘Stroke of genius…’ me likey! 🙂

      Funny you should mention the laces…when I first saw the sneaks (on clearance) I just figured they were missing…it was only when I put them on it became clearly evident they are supposed to be! Who knew?! They are olive green with a touch of orange (one of my very favorite colors to wear) so these will have to literally fall apart before I give them up!

      What? You don’t see me walking along the bridge?? 😉

  6. Tracy, this is an elegant collage, with a fine mix of close ups and totals. It would do fine as a card or poster. Good colors too.
    I wanted to join too, but didn´t have the time. I had to use the dictionary first though, as I didn´t know what a scavenger hunt was. According to the explanation there, (refuse collector) I was a bit surprised, but google translater has a more understandable explanation, (treasure hunt) I suppose that is the right one. I will try to join next time.

    Thank you for the nice compliment to me 🙂

    • Birgitte – I am truly honored by your approval! Collages are tough! I think I really got lucky as things started to fall into place…the flames on the newspaper balanced with the flame under the teapot; the blue in the truck balanced with the blue in the post boxes, etc. Leave it to me, though, to make an already difficult task (the hunt) even more difficult!

      That is so very interesting…I never would have guessed the term ‘scavenger hunt’ would cause confusion! YES, you must join next time as they are right up your alley!

      Thanks so much! 🙂

  7. Great shots, Tracy! So many favorites, like the shoes… clock… your tea pot… LOVE the collage! It all fits together so well and nothing seems out of place.
    I couldn’t find the time to do this either, even with the extension.

    • Thank you, Michaela! 🙂

      The shoes are a funny thing…I first went for the standard (strappy heals or my summer sandals), but then realized, ‘Who am I kidding?’ 🙂 At times, I am a girly-girl for sure, but let’s be real. I’m all about comfort! I’ve been known to wear these sneaks with a sundress in the summertime…can’t take the tomboy outta the girl, I guess. 😉

      No worries….you’ll join in next time, right?

  8. Beautiful photos! What a great collection. Love the “eyes”. I’ll try to participate next time.

    • Thanks, Becky! 🙂 I do hope you do next time!

      With hubby working for an optical scanning company, traditional ‘eyes’ would have been waaaaay too obvious! Plus, my super-macro stuff was already set up (from the flower stamens shoot) and with a need to shoot something even smaller, the needles just made sense. I’m pretty stoked it all worked out! 🙂

  9. I’m so glad things worked out for you to participate! I knew you’d do an amazing job with the shots. The collage is beautiful. Mind if I ask what site and/or software you used to do it?
    I love the play on words for the “eye” shot.
    The 9/11 shot is powerful – is this an older shot or did you have the scary headline tucked away somewhere?
    Our park bench situation is similar.. *sigh*… will it ever melt?
    I’m thinking of posting the scavenger hunt every other month – for the months when Scott Thomas doesn’t have an assignment. I think your participation and Scott’s may have helped drum up interest!
    Thanks again for participating!

    • Thanks, Karma! I had alot of fun with this and it was just the motivation I needed to get out and shoot! So, the ‘thanks’ really goes to you! 🙂

      The 9/11 headline shot was taken this week….yes, we have many newspapers on important historic events like this squirrelled away…

      Sigh…the snow, I know! We went for a walk yesterday (Saturday) to the same location (the park bench shots were taken on Friday) and I was actually amazed at how much melting had occurred in one day. So, there is hope!

      Looking forward to another one! Perhaps next time you’ll think of all the prompts yourself?

    • Ooops! Forgot to answer one of your questions!

      I created the collage in Photoshop, pulling in all the images as seperate layers and then cropping the entire thing to the size I needed…not the easiest thing to do. I’m sure there are packages out there specifically designed for collages but I just use what I know best! 🙂

  10. The eye follows this so nicely – and it tells a great story, too. It’s wonderful how you were able to combine images that hold so much meaning in such an effective way – awesome! 🙂

    • Hey, thanks spilledinkguy! That is really so very nice of you to say!! 🙂

  11. Love the collage idea. They are not as easy to put together as they look. Your images are a delight with meanings and remembrances some we all share and some specifically yours.

    • Thanks, Scott!

      Random images just seem to look better in a collage, don’t they? But, yes, if you only knew the time it took me to put that together – oy! 😉

  12. The collage came together really well. I was struck by how many vintage designs and timeless images found their way into photos made this week.

    • Thanks, Gerry! Vintage and timeless…you know me so well. 😉

  13. What fun!

  14. I’m still clueless when it comes to a collage, and yours turns out very nice. I like the “Smoke Break” bench, the image looks vintage and absolutely love the tight shot of your photos.

    • Thank you , Nye! The collage was tricky but well worth the effort.

      I applied a ‘Color Stylizer’ filter to both bench images to yield that vintage look. With all the snow and the smoker dressed all in black there wasn’t much color going on in the first place! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  15. I really like this collection of shots – and well done photographing the stranger!

    • Thanks so much, JP! I’m going to make a point to include a human element in more of my shots!

  16. December 7th and September 11th are dates that conjure images that are the antithesis of July 4.

  17. supercool. makes me want to do a scavenger hunt, too. the sneakers and clock face really pop out for me in the collage.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] over at Milkay Photography turned in a stunning collection of photos, as I was sure she would when she said she wanted to participate.  Her macro take on […]

Leave a Reply

