Skip navigation


“Left 5th Metatarsal Base Break” (aka Jones Break) (X-ray courtesy of Beverly Hospital Emergency) Watermark added to discourage copying/reposting. Please respect privacy.

So, just 10 weeks into my workout commitment and I’ve hit a stumbling block.

Literally.

Well, more accurately, I’ve stumbled upon some very uneven blocks resulting in a broken foot. A ‘left 5th metatarsal base break’ (aka Jones Break) to be exact.

Sigh.

I’ve never broken a bone before and, judging by the amount of pain, swelling and bruising, I would prefer this to be my first and last time doing so.

Fortunately, no cast or surgery is required but I am now sporting the most lovely black immobilization ‘boot’ accessorized by a pair of aluminum crutches. (Didn’t you hear?? This look was all the rage on the Paris runways…the ‘must haves’ for spring). 😉 ) 

I have to admit the ‘boot’ and crutches are indeed a much better solution than hopping around on one foot – something I did quite a lot of this morning prior to my visit with the very nice orthopedist. 🙂
 

I don’t plan on being down for long but only time will tell.

If the universe is trying to tell me to ‘slow down’, message received.

Yeah, this sucks.

48 Comments

  1. Ouch! So sorry Tracy 😦 Hope it heals quickly!

  2. Ouch. But I did like the visual!

  3. Yikes!
    Cool image, but it would be a lot nicer if that metatarsal base thinger was in one piece! I’m very sorry to hear about that, M.P.!

    • If by ‘Yikes!’ you are referring to the G-rated form of expletive that erupted from my lips at the moment of said injury, then yes, you are correct! 😉

      Thanks, Sig! Not exactly the kind of image I’d like to get in the habit of posting! 🙂

  4. AS someone who’s broken more bones than I can remember, I can tell you this – it will get better. 😉 It will ache like hell for a bit, and then the ache will go away and it will start itching, believe it or not. And then it will eventually go away and just become a distant memory. You might ache a little bit when the weather changes, some of my breaks do…. but other than that, rest it, ice it, elevate it and do what the doc’s tell you. 🙂

    The good news is you can still lift weights!! There’s a ton of sitting down exercises you can do, and it probably won’t be too long before you can ride a stationary bike without discomfort.

    Hang in there girl. It’ll get better.

    • Your ‘expertise’ in this matter is much appreciated, Derrick! How am I not surprised that ‘Mr. Adventure’ has had more than one encounter with a broken bone?? 😉

      Ache is a good description…and today, with the rainy weather, I’ve been getting these unexpected twangs and twinges of shooting pain…yeah, those are nice. Trying my best to avoid taking the Vicodins…so far so good.

      You’ve just reminded me…haven’t iced in awhile. Probably need to do that. Who knew that elevation was such an amazing thing?

      Itching?? Seriously??! No one mentioned the itching. Man, this thing just gets better and better.

      I do appreciate the encouraging words…not even 48 hours into this and the range of emotions I’ve gone through have been incredible!

      I actually did an upper body workout late yesterday as well as an Ab workout. Sadly, no stationary bike in the house so I will simply need to work my way up to the elliptical. I may ask the orthopedist for a shorter ‘boot’ which will allow me to do just that. All in good time.

  5. And oh yeah, advil is your friend. 🙂

    • Oh, yeah….always. 🙂

      • That’s a good point – you have the benefit of being able to take a bath! Nothing like having to use a coat hanger to scratch that itch on your ankle or on the sole of your foot. Not to mention the dead skin smell… Yech.

        Hang in there – and keep in mind that it will probably stop hurting before it’s fully healed and you’ll want to go push it, at which point your body will let you know in no uncertain terms that you have screwed up royally.

        You can always rest assured though, that pain is just weakness leaving the body. 😉

      • Now, that IS a relief! 🙂

        Yeah, I hear ya. My body has NEVER had an issue letting me know EXACTLY what it is feeling. It lets me know how stupid I am ALL the time. 😉

        Foot felt great last night…did some walking sans boot (yes, granny-pace slow and very careful but still…) I’m taking that as a small victory! 🙂

        Of course, was back in boot right afterwards…

  6. Oh Cr*p… My wife did the exact same thing a few years ago and had one of those sexy boots instead of a cast… At least you can take it off and bathe properly, as there’s nothing worse than hobbling around like a lame giraffe on Red Bull AND smelling line a Rhino’s armpit (not that I’ve ever smelt one obviously.. lol)…

    She healed up pretty quickly though, despite my best efforts to tip her over… teehee… Hope yours heals real quick too, and you make the most of being waited on hand and.. ummmmm.. foot… 😉

    • There ya go…gettin’ closer to the proper expletive (you potty-mouth, you) 😉

      So, your wife’s a klutz, too? Sounds like me and her would get along just fine.

      Yes, I totally agree on the ‘boot removal’ being MUCH better than a cast! Though, being black and all velcro-y, I can already tell that by the time I get to my follow-up visit to the orthopedist in 4-weeks, it will have more a ‘furry boot’ look. 😉

      Thanks for the encouragement, Bri! Healing quickly is what I am aiming for!

  7. I’m so glad you don’t need a cast! When Greg broke my wrist (We were in a car accident and he was driving, so its all his fault, right?) I had my arm in a cast for over two months. In the summer!!
    I know this won’t keep you down, and even though cardio has to be put on the back burner for a bit, you can still do some strength training and toning.
    Hugs, Tracy ♥

    • Oh, you poor thing! I can’t imagine how badly Greg felt about that! Did you make him pamper you during your recovery?? 🙂

      Thanks, M! I appreciate the hugs and the encouragement! I really need it! (Foot is pretty darn sore today…it is so easy to get all cocky and overdue and then boy-oh-boy does it ever let you know you’ve done just that).

      Yes, I am quickly realizing the advantage of the boot over the cast. Though, I haven’t had to shower yet (I showered about two hours before the ‘incident’ so I was all nice and clean for my ER visit). I expect that to be an interesting adventure when the time comes. All the simple things we take for granted, eh? 🙂

  8. That sounds very painful. I hope it mends soon and well.

    • Painful? Yep.

      Frustrating? Unbelievabley so.

      Getting all these well wishes? Priceless. 🙂

      Thanks much, Robin!

  9. Darn! I’m so sorry. I’m just coming off of a shoulder injury myself so totally understand why it sucks.

    • Thank you, Tammy. So sorry to hear about your shoulder. Let’s toast to both of us being back to 100% in no time with all this ‘suckage’ a distant memory! 🙂

  10. Oh gosh that does suck. I give thanks for healthy feet every run. It is something we take for granted a lot. Hope you feel better soon!!!

    • Oh, so true,Amy! Once I am back on my feet, I will be sure to give thanks every day!!

      Thanks so much for the well wishes! Much appreciated! 🙂

  11. So sorry to hear about your foot! Get better quickly!
    Going through a bit of a bad patch myself, so I feel for you!

    • Thank you, KD! I do hope so! And, I wish the same for you!! 🙂

  12. Oh no! Feel better soon! Do you know how/when you did it?

    • Yep, no mystery with this ‘accident’. 😉

      I was being my usual ‘hurried self’, not paying attention in an unfamiliar area when I rolled my foot. I instantly knew I was in trouble but in no way thought I broke a bone. Sadly, X-rays do not lie.

      Thanks so much for the well wishes. So far, so good. Just trying not to do anything stupid! 🙂

  13. Oh dear. I hope it heals soon. I have had a broken and dislocated meta tarsel and a broken ankle. Painful and more disabling than one would think – pretty difficult to do much when one’s hands are occupied with crutches. Don’t push too hard, I think you’re right when you say the universe is telling you to slow down. x

    • Thank you, Sync! I hope so, too.

      To my total shock and surprise, I am mending quicker than I ever thought I would but realize that it will be quite some time before I’m able to walk barefoot. I’ve been able to stop using the crutches (tho, am glady they are there if I need them for some reason or another) and I’ve been able to do some walking in sneakers (most of the time it is the aircast/boot).

      The HARDEST thing I’ve done so far is showering! Man, standing on that cold, hard cast-iron porcelain surface stressed my foot more than anything else!

  14. Oh Tracy, I was so sorry to read this! I know how difficult many things suddenly become when you are suddenly dependent on crutches… ( I used crutches for several months after each of the 3 operations I got for my hip between 2007 and 2010).
    I hope your foot will heal SOON!

    • Aw, thanks Truels!

      I am healing quite well and have been able to rely less and less on the crutches (this aircast/walking boot thing-y is an amazing invention!) Right now, I am doing my best to heed doctor’s orders and taking rests when I need them, but also letting my foot know, in no uncertain terms, that I fully expect it to be fully functional and that any less is unacceptable! 🙂

  15. Man, that sucks. I’m the queen of broken bones. It almost sounds like the lyrics of a song, but, it’s not. What did you step on anyway? Or did you find out you were “setting your foot on the ground in the wrong, wrong way”? (I’ve no idea how to translate this to English, hope it makes sense!) Because that can happen. Feel better! Hugs, hugs and more hugs to you. 😀

    • Thank you, Babs! Yes, it does sound like a song title! 🙂

      Oh, I know exactly how it happened (and your English translation is perfect). Totally operator error.

      I was hurrying along a very uneven, unfamiliar surface and rolled my foot causing the strong tendon to snap the base of my 5th metatarsal (the long bone that runs along the outside of my left foot). Since the ‘incident’, I must have gone over it a thousand times in my head, realizing just how stupid I was for running and not looking where I was going.

      Thanks for all the hugs. Much appreciated! 🙂

  16. A Jones break huh? Bummer. Hope you get better soon.

    • Ha! ironic, huh? If I find out you had anything to do with it… 😉

      Thanks, Robert! Me, too!

  17. Tracy, you poor thing, what a bad luck!! I am sorry for you, be careful when you walk around and not too impatient.
    Why not use some of the rest hours to make pre-blogposts? I have decided to do that myself, to prevent periodes without life at the blog, which sometimes happens to me. God bedring!

    • Thank you, Birgitte. You are so sweet! 🙂

      The foot gets better every day and I’m able to do a little more every day. It will be awhile before I will be able to walk barefoot but I am so very thankful that I am able to walk in the ‘boot’! Small things, right? 🙂

      I’m not very good at doing pre-blogposts. I really should be. You are right…perhaps this is the perfect time to do so!

      Jeg vil gjøre mitt beste!

      • Oh Tracy, you speak Norwegian, how nice! The nordic countries understand eachothers language, Danish, Swedish and Norwegian, many words are almost the same. In Danish this sentence would be: Jeg vil gøre mit bedste. If you are interested in knowing more about this Danish polite frase, “God bedring” would be answered with “Tak” (Thank you). But I like your answer better, it sounds like it is more your style to include some action, right? 🙂

      • Well, uh, no…I just know how to use ‘google translator’ (choosing English to Norwegian…next time I will know to use English to Danish!) 🙂

        I actually WAS going to write ‘Tak’, but I had already said that in English so then I decided to go with a more exuberant phrase! 🙂

  18. Dang! That totally sucks! Let’s hope for a speedy recovery, a temporary setback. Quick-healing vibes heading your way!

    • Thank you so much, Becky! I accept your vibes! 🙂

      I must admit, I was a bit distraught early on but then vowed to not let this get me down (hubby has been fantastic!). Also, the orthopedist couldn’t have been more awesome and really gave me the confidence to push myself. He told me that the speed of my recovery lies solely in my hands. I truly believe that the exercising I’d been doing prior has put me in such a good place to heal quickly. Making strides every single day.

  19. I broke my 4th metatarsal a number of years ago when two large running dogs decided to tackle one another on my foot. Yes, I wore the fashionable black boot as well. What I found was that it was so difficult to slow down and stay off my feet. Hope you are having a better go of it.

    • Ouch! That must have quite a (painful) shock!

      I do find it a challenge to slow down but I want to keep my recovery as short as possible so I have followed the doc’s orders. Already making amazing strides, 7 days into it. No crutches and I can walk with the boot without pain. (Barefoot? Well, now that’s a completely different story!) I’ve even been able to get back onto the elliptical which was a mental victory as well as a physical one. I do envy all the walkers/runners I see outside my window!

      Thanks, Lynn!

  20. Sorry to hear about your foot, hope you are feeling better

  21. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear this, Tracy! I also never broke a bone, yet and I hope it won’t ever change but I guess that’s what you thought also, right? 🙂 I wish you quick and not painful recovery.

    • You are correct! I really didn’t think I’d ever break a bone. Guess I can check that one off, huh? 😉

      Thanks, Tomas! You are sweet! The foot is doing extremely well. Making strides every day and trying so very hard not to do anything stupid! 🙂

  22. That’s terrible news, Tracy; sorry to hear it. Here’s wishing you a speedy recovery.

    • Aw, thanks, Dave. 🙂

      I’ll be just fine as long as I stick with to the program. Had a few rough days recently but totally my fault as I pushed too hard too soon. Lesson learnt! 😉


Leave a Reply

