Skip navigation


Ha! Not that kind of Peep show, silly…..I’m talkin’ marshmallow critters here! πŸ™‚

"Just Hatched" (Homemade Marshmallow Chick in Nest) Nikon D300, F/5.6, 1/60s, ISO 500

Earlier this week, I tried my hand at homemade marshmallow chicks and I must say, they were pretty easy andΒ oh-so-cute!Β (Yummy, too).

I’m hoping these little guysΒ will helpΒ to keep my spirits up while I wait impatiently for myΒ broken foot to heal. (Sugar heals all wounds, right? πŸ˜‰ )

Happy Easter, everyone! I wish you all good health and much happiness! πŸ™‚

40 Comments

  1. Oh how CUTE!
    If sugar doesn’t lift your spirits, give it some help from chocolate πŸ˜‰

    Happy Easter to you, and Happy Anniversary!

  2. Man, I was hoping you’d be modeling your itsy bitsy teeny weeny red bikini! πŸ˜‰

    Cute pic!

    • Ha! Yeah, I bet you did. πŸ˜‰

      Hubby and I laughed about that yesterday and how what a great look (not!) it will be with the ‘kini and the black immobilization boot.

      Thanks, Derrick! πŸ™‚

      • Yes, just think of the awesome tan line from the boot!

      • Karma!! Here I go giving you a hard time and this weekend I tear a calf muscle!! Crap!

      • Ah, crap is right! So sorry to hear that, Derrick. Sounds beyond painful. What’s the recovery from that kind of injury?? Do you get a fancy boot and crutches, too? πŸ˜‰

        Don’t let it get you down. You’ll bounce back from this in no time! πŸ™‚

      • I get an MRI Thursday to see how bad I messed it up. Can range from physical therapy to surgery… I’m hoping it’s the former.

  3. Peep Sugar High! LOL. Hope you’re healing well. No bunny hopping for you yet, methinks.

    • LOL! Thanks for the laugh, WB! Bunny hopping…hilarious…. πŸ™‚

      I’m amazed at the highs and lows already in this recovery. The human body is an amazing thing!

  4. Aw, how sweet! Very cute!
    Happy Anniversary and Happy Easter. Will you be posting your photo hunt today? Hope so! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Karen! Very kind of you!

      Sadly, I did not complete the Scavenger Hunt, so no entry for me. 😦 I’ll catch you next time!

  5. If the sugar and chocolate don’t work, then I hear that a bottle (or two) of wine are the perfect compliment… and of course you have to have wine today… or champagne !!!… Hope you both have a great day.. πŸ™‚

    • Aw, thanks so much, Brian. No champage on ‘the day’ but did have some Saturday night. Not exactly the Anniversary I was planning, but we did spend the day together which is what is really is important. πŸ™‚

  6. Looks tasty…
    I bet those will ‘fly’ off the shelf!
    Hehehe… oh… oh… my.
    Yeah.
    Eh.
    Happy Easter to you as well, M.P.! πŸ™‚

    • Too funny, Sig! Yeah, these aren’t lasting too long. Plus, we actually like them when they get a wee bit stale so none will go to waste!

      Thanks much! πŸ™‚

  7. Happy Easter!!! These are awesome! You did a fabulous job making the peeps AND staging them for their photo shoot :). Too cute!

    • Thanks so much, Amy! I was hoping to do a bit better with the photo but my foot situation nixed that pretty quickly. Another life lesson for me…the first one was ‘slow down, girl’; This one is ‘stop being such a darn perfectionist!’ πŸ˜‰

  8. Cute! I had no idea one could make peeps at home.

    • Thank you, Robin! I know! Was a surprise to me, too! πŸ™‚

  9. I am thinking your foot and these peeps might delay your swim suit look for Summer 2011. Here’s hoping your are back on both feet fast!

    • NOT a chance! I’ve come too far and you are a big meanie to say so! πŸ˜‰

      Sigh…apologies…boredom and frustration have set in. All I wanna do is return to last week, before the ‘incident’, when all I had to worry about was the small leak in my water bottle! Oh, how I want to be on that elliptical!

      Thanks, Scott! I will take all the well-wishes I can get! πŸ™‚

      • Just teasing…I am sure you’ll be fine. Tough time of year to be on IR but a good time to catch up on any reading or planning activities.

      • Yeah, I know. It’s just a small bump in the road.

        You can’t keep a good woman down and when you add in my level of stubborness and determination, watch out! πŸ™‚

      • Hey, that foot affecting your trigger finger to? πŸ˜‰

      • Just other stuff going on as well. Patience, Scott. πŸ˜‰

  10. Very cute!

  11. I’m not a fan of peeps or marshmallows, but i’ve never tried a homemade one. Yes, sugar does heal all wounds… I’m sorry to hear of your misfortune. Great photo setup of your peep!!

    • Thank you, KC! Much appreciated! πŸ™‚

      I LOVE all things marshmallow…coating in sugar (or chocolate) makes it even better!

  12. My first reaction was… hey, what’s my bath sponge doing here? I’ve got one that looks EXACTLY like this. I kid you not. lol

    • lol. How am I not surprised?

      These are much tastier! πŸ™‚

  13. I bet they are much healthier (relatively) than the store-bought version. Did you try them in s’mores? I saw that in several places over the internet recently.

    • I think it depends upon the brand. We did have some store-bought peeps in the house and I checked the package for ingredients: sugar, corn syrup, water, gelatin, flavoring, color. The ones I made contain: sugar, gelatin, water, vanilla. So, in this case, pretty equal. I have heard that some can contain all sorts of multi-syllabic chemicals (never a good thing). They were just fun to try. πŸ™‚

      LOVE s’mores! Didn’t think of that…bet it would be yummy. I did consider dipping them part-way in chocolate but wanted to keep the calories manageable. Next time. πŸ˜‰

  14. I’m having a problem with disappearing comments, but I’ll try again…

    Adorable shot, but are you going a little stir crazy?

    • Comment received… πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Lynn! This shot was taken prior to the ‘incident’ and when I posted it, YES, I was going completely stir crazy! All that changed on Monday afternoon when I said ‘Screw it’, threw on my Sketchers XF Accelerators and climbed aboard the elliptical. Lo and behold I was able to walk with minimal pain (I was scared to death!) and I realized right then and there I was going to be okay. Lots of icing and elevation and rest and of course, wearing this boot everywhere! Today’s milestone? Driving!! Woo hoo! πŸ™‚

  15. The nest setup is way cute – sorry to read about your foot. Ouch!

    Hope you can get out in that haute couture boot soon…

    • Thank you, Tom. I’ll take ‘way cute’ anytime! πŸ™‚

      Also, thanks for the condolences and the well-wishes. I have been out and about (even been coordinating the wardrobe with the boot, which means, wearing mostly black) and just starting to get used to the sympathetic smiles! πŸ™‚

  16. Yummy! πŸ˜€ Great idea and very well executed.


Leave a Reply

