Skip navigation


"Little Joe" (Eastern Grey Squirrel, Juvenile Male) Nikon D300, 600mm, F/6.7, 1/160s, ISO 640

Looks like I have a few entrants to consider for the next issue of ‘Critter Beefcake’ magazine! 🙂
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This time, the boys decided to show us their softer, gentler sides.

"Leisure Larry" (Eastern Grey Squirrel,Male) Nikon D300, 650mm (200-400mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/6.7, 1/100s, ISO 640

"Mighty Max" (Eastern Grey Squirrel, Male) Nikon D300, 330mm, F/5, ISO 400

Now ladies… how could I resist? 🙂

37 Comments

  1. Oh these are wonderful! Sooooo cute and beautiful captures of them too. 🙂

    • Thanks much, Amber! I know you are a critter-file just like me! 🙂

  2. I like those names, M.P (almost sound like they have ‘connections’).
    And cool shots? Absolutely! Foh-ged aboud’ it! 🙂

    • Hehehehe…thanks, Sig. You are kind. I actually wish they were a little more creative but my brain just wasn’t having it yesterday. I even googled ‘top male models’ to get some clever names…now that will remain an interesting thing in my search history! 🙂

      • Ha!
        ‘If there is anything that this horrible tragedy can teach us, it’s that a male model’s life is a precious, precious commodity. Just because we have chiseled abs and stunning features, it doesn’t mean that we too can’t not die in a freak gasoline fight accident.’
        🙂

      • lol!

  3. Cuties, Tracy! Nice to see you posting again. When I read the title of this post in my email, I thought I was going to see pictures of cows, LOL!

    • Thank you, Karma! This damn broken foot is really slowing me down. Everything is more difficult and takes twice as long to accomplish!

      HA! That is funny! Don’t you like being surprised? 😉

  4. lol! I couldn’t have resisted either. Too cute. 🙂

  5. Awww 🙂
    Leisure Larry is adorable!

    • I swear our squirrels act more like dogs and cats than they do squirrels! We see them lounging ALL the time and it never fails to amuse me!

      Thank you, M! 🙂

  6. nice and whimsical, i especially like the fellow lounging!

    • Thanks so much, Greg! Yeah, LL cool guy is quite the dude, ain’t he?? 😉

  7. LOL. OOO Leisue dude is a rarity in relaxation. These are great.

    • We see this behavoir quite often…it is even more amusing when they lay full-bellied down on tree limbs. What struck me most about this fellow is that his posture is so like a dog or cat…just hanging out on a hot day, staying cool in the mulch.

      Thanks so much! 🙂

  8. Wow, those cant have been easy shots to get.
    Nicely captured

    • Thanks! I usually end up shooting these guys (and other critters) while I’m impatiently waiting for some colorful bird to photograph or I am bored with the flowers. On occaision, I get lucky! 🙂

  9. Well… I have way to many of them to classify as cute, but your photos of the destructive creatures are very nice. I presume they have never ripped the shingles off your house or you would be “shooting” them with something other than a camera! 😉

    • Oh, we have a whole herd of the furry beasts and au contraire, several have taken a liking to our CEMENT shingles and have chewed them considerably (only in one corner, tho)! I’d be more upset about it if I didn’t know that at some point, all the siding is to be removed and replaced since the siding contractor installed it wrong. AND no, we won’t be putting up the same kind! 🙂

      Somehow, we manage to look past their destruction since they provide us with hours and hours of entertainment! 🙂

  10. Three cute and charming guys – they seem to spark off life into your garden ( and in the garden owners’ mood ) 😉

    • Why, yes, truels, they do! Wouldn’t want it any other way! 🙂

  11. Larry looks so smug!

    How’s the foot?!

    • He certainly does! Like, yeah, I’m pretty, I know it, go ahead, take a photo…it lasts longer. 😉

      Ugh, the foot is the foot. X-rays on Monday showed that the bone is healing so that is good and they ‘graduated’ me to this splint thing-y for around the house but all it did was make my foot feel ‘tired’ so I am sticking with the boot. The whole thing is really gettin’ old but I tell myself it could be much worse.

      Thanks for asking! How’s the muscle tear??

  12. Oh, so cute they are!! Little Joe should come here and play with my two new friends, Chip and Chap, who plays in the trees just outside my window. I think they are kids of my “old” squirrel, who sadly have been killed by a car. At least we haven´t seen him since my husband saw this dead squirrel not far from here. Chip and Chap seems to be able to do without him – or more likely – her. This long story just to entertain you a bit, now that I understand you still are very affected by the foot accident. I hope it will be well soon.

    • Thanks Birgitte! Partly a cute story (could have left out the part about the mystery squirrel’s unfortunate demise but, as my husband would say, ‘circle of life’, right?) I appreciate your thinking of me and my foot. It is healing but the process will simply take time.

      Enjoy the antics of Chip and Chap! 🙂

  13. LOL… Gotta love the one just laying there posing…

  14. Good news!! You’ll be done with it before you know it.

    As long as I stay hydrated, it’s good. Not enough water and it lets me know.

    • I hope so as the boot is really NOT the best pool accessory (not to mention, it really clashes with my bikini!)

      Never would have guessed that hydration and a muscle tear would have anything to do with each other. How fascinating!

      • speaking of your bikini….. LOL!!

  15. Love how busy the Little Joe looks in the first photo…

    • Isn’t he adorable?? I love watching the youngins as they discover the strange new world around them! 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

  16. That second one is so funny! I’ve never seen a squirrel relaxed, they are usually so busy! Great photos!

    • Ha! I think the free food, fresh water and nice digs might have something to do with it! Thanks so much! 🙂

  17. I can honestly say I’ve never seen a squirrel just lay down and chill out like that. Great shots!

    • Hehehehe…well, we see this kind of lazy behavoir all the time from these guys especially when it is hot. Maybe they simply feel that comfortable in our landscape?? Or is it that they are well-fed they have some downtime that other squirrels just don’t have. No idea but I won’t complain!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Eden! 🙂


Leave a Reply

