Skip navigation


"Killer Moth" (Moth on Screen) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/5, 1/320s, +0.7EV, ISO 2500, Built-in Front Curtain i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong Puffer, -1.0EV, Color Negative Processing

I really can’t explain why I shoot what I shoot.

Sometimes, it’s as simple as: I see it, I think it’s neat (for whatever bizarre reason), so I shoot.

Earlier today, I came upon a moth on our screen slider. A fairly common occurrence and before now, I never felt the least bit compelled to take a photograph. Today, I did. Why? No idea. 

My gut said, That looks interesting, shoot it.’ (I find it most prudent to listen to what my gut says).

Looking at the result on my monitor, I didn’t hate the image but I didn’t love it either. Until, that is, I processed it as a color negative. Cool!

Does my gut have x-ray vision?? 🙂

28 Comments

  1. Very interesting Tracy! I must say, your point hits pretty close to home with me, too. I can set out to shoot one thing and end up shooting something entirely different! I do like this processing.

    • Thank you, Steve! It’s the ‘discovery’ that I love most about photography. Glad you like it! 🙂

  2. I certainly seems like that was a splendid idea – the result is surprising, beautiful and truly artistic!

    • Wow – high praise! Thanks so much, Truels! (My gut is taking all the credit… 😉 )

  3. I’m waiting for that little guys eyes to start glowing red moth-man style at any moment!
    Seriously, though – very cool effect, M.P. – it almost feels… ‘scientific’ in a way, too – like a view from some kind of scanning device or microscope – love it! 🙂

    • YES!!!! You so get it, Sig! Thanks! You’ve toptally made my day! 🙂

      I thought the exact same scientific-y thing and tried to come up with a better image name but nothing seemed clever enough! So, ‘Killer Moth’ it is!

  4. That’s pretty wild looking. “Like an xray” is what I was thinking before I got to the bottom line of the post. Your guts are smart! 😉

    • [Said in Steve Martin voice, SNL-style], “I’m just a wild and crazy girl!” 😉

      Thank you! So glad what I ‘saw’ after processing is actually being conveyed! 🙂

  5. Very cool. 🙂

  6. When did the avalanche of blog posts hit? 🙂

    I do plan some photos before visiting a place, however, the photos I like the best are the ones which call to me. As this photo did to you. It just took a bit of creativity and imagination to bring out the photo you instinctively knew was there.

    • Ha! It ebs and flows…whatever life and my foot allows. 🙂

      Yep, that moth must have had a telepathic dialog with my gut. I’m glad it did.

      Thanks, Scott!

  7. Okay…the first moth I see on my back door screen is mine!
    This is so cool!

    • Ha! I can just picture you crouched, waiting to strike when a moth shows! (yea, yea, I know…sciatic nerve…there’ll be not crouching nor striking… 😉 )

      I hope you get your prey! Thanks, KD! 🙂

      • I may not have to strain myself in the least…every morning, there they sit sleeping on my screen door. 🙂

  8. One more VERY cool!!!

  9. Cool shot! I have a similar one of a butterfly or moth (couldn’t tell what it was) on the outside of my bathroom window, still waiting in my blog folder to be posted.
    I like how your moth looks like lace.

    • Thanks, M. I swear, the simplest shots amuse me.

      The moth was backlit (hence the sheerness), with a fairly colorful background. All that is what drew me to it in the first place. Inverting it only brought the vision home! 🙂

  10. LOL… Well the processing sure has given it a unique feel… Your gut is working just fine mefinks, so your doctor will be pleased… 😉

    • My, what a politically correct comment, Brian! 😉 A ‘unique feel’…hmm, well I suppose I can’t argue with that!

      Yes, I’ve actually been pleased with my gut as of late…it actually is covered with those strange muscle-y thing-ys known as ‘Abs’…haven’t seen them in decades… 😉

  11. Really nice experiment, Tracy. I know that feeeling of “this looks interesting”or “this might look good” pretty well even though I hold myself very often if I don’t know what I would do with such a photo. If it does not fit into my portfolio it’s not worthy drawing my camera from a bag. If it fits but I really don’t have a clue about the processing I take the photo, let’s say, in 50% of cases.

    • Thank you, Tomas!

      My advice?? NEVER hold yourself back! If your gut is telling you to shoot, shoot! You just never know what may come of it! 🙂

  12. Not to mention all the negative space in the image – great shot!

  13. Fantastic! I love this image. Trust your gut – it definitely has eyes.

    • Thank you, Tammy! I do try as it usually doesn’t let me down! 🙂


Leave a Reply

