Skip navigation


But in a good way! 🙂

Two summers ago, we tried an intriguing antipasto plate at a Boston test kitchen made up of ingredients one might not think would go well together: watermelon slices, mozzarella, prosciutto and sunflower seeds topped off with a drizzle of olive oil, a splash of (some sort of) vinegar and a sprinkling of fresh herbs and salt. When all the components were eaten together, the combination was both magical and addictive.  

"Summer Cubed" (Watermelon, Mozzarella & Prosciutto Bites) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/30s, ISO 1000, Built-in i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong 'Puffer' Diffuser

“Summer Cubed” (Watermelon, Mozzarella & Prosciutto Bites) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/30s, ISO 1000, Built-in i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser

After dinner, I could not get the flavors of that starter out of my mind and set out to recreate the experience, BUT as one fantastic mouthful. It took quite a few attempts (but I admit, even the ‘tries’ were yummy 🙂 ) to get not only the ingredients (type, size and quantity) correct but also, to have them assembled in the perfect order to enhance and compliment each and every one.

"Amuse-bouche" (Watermelon, Mozzarella & Prosciutto Bite) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/60s, ISO 1000, Built-in i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong 'Puffer' Diffuser

“Amuse-bouche” (Watermelon, Mozzarella & Prosciutto Bite) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/60s, ISO 1000, Built-in i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser

These little bites have become one of our absolute favorite go-to items for a quick and elegant snack/appetizer/salad/lunch/side/tapas etc., and with summertime watermelon season now in full swing, something that graces our table several times a week. (Plus, they are finger food…no utensils required).

Is there a recipe for these gems? Sadly, not yet. 😦 Like many of my ‘creations’, it merely exists as a scribbling on a scrap of paper lest I forget an ingredient or the order (and yes, both have happened).

Looks like I just might have to consider writing that cook book… 😉

26 Comments

  1. Well they sure do look pretty tasty… and I’m thinking that an alternative option (to the Prosciutto) would be fresh sliced smoked salmon too… 🙂

    • Smoked salmon is de-lish (!) so I think you are on to something there, Bri! 🙂

  2. I… uh…
    I made some eggs once.
    They were okay.
    A bit crunchy.
    Seriously, though – this sounds wonderful – and you’ve sure made these look great (no surprise there, though, M.P.)!
    🙂

    • LOL! You ‘crack’ me up! (pun intended) 😉

      If you follow the blog, you will quickly learn I am a serious foodie! Thanks, Sig! 🙂

  3. Watermelon is considered a food group here in my house. We can’t eat enough of it. These look amazing. Are you sure there’s no recipe to share??????? Would love to make these for my daughters bridal shower. Yummo!!!

    • Ha! Yes, I am familiar with the ‘watermelon food group, Carol! 🙂

      Alas, I have nothing formally written (yet). But I probably can be bribed. 😉

  4. Man that looks good! Nice photos and yes!! Do the cook book!

    • Wow – the guys are lovin’ these as much as the girls! I must be on to something here! 🙂

      Thanks much, Derrick!

  5. yum!! I love the second image here, the green sets it off. nice work!

    • Thank you, Joe!

      Funny thing about the green plate…I was shooting the group and then decided to do a ‘solo’ shot to see the layers and a friend has just (seriously, that morning) given me a little gift of pottery (small green saucer with a tiny cup for maple syrup). It was there, I grabbed the saucer and voila! There you have it. So nice when things work out that way! 🙂

  6. I would like half a dozen right now please! 🙂 They look delic and your shots are perfect!

    • Coming right up! (tho, if it were me, I’d have asked for more… 😉 )

      Thanks, KC! 🙂

  7. This looks wonderful, Tracy, and I bet it tastes fantastically. I also like food very much (one wouldn’t say it from my figure) and such a specialities are real pleasure.

    • Thank you, Tomas! Yes, tasty indeed! We enjoyed a plateful last night and the watermelon was sweet and juicy…aaaaah…just screams ‘summertime’.

      So, you are one of the lucky ones, eh? Can eat what you want and still look svelt?? 😉 I, unfortunately, have to work out to keep the old bones in shape. But I’d rather do that than worry about what I eat! 🙂

      • Well, after reaching 30 my body does not burn all the calories so well so I think that if I will not start with some energy-burning activity (photography does not count :D) then it will be noticable in a couple years. 😦

      • Ah, yes. I know this well. (I hate to break it to you but it gets even worse after 40… 😉 )

        Start now and you should not have any issues! 🙂

  8. Love little amuse-bouches like these. The idea does sound peculiar but I am sure the combo of flavors is fabulous.

    • Can’t even begin to tell you how good these are. Had a plate of them last night with plans to repeat tonight. In the words of Raychel Ray, “YUM – Oh!” 🙂

  9. Those look delicious 🙂

  10. Looks and sounds delicious! I love the combination of melon and something salty such as prosciutto. Yummy. 🙂

    • Thanks, Robin!

      Yes, I think you could put proscuitto (imported, of course) on anything and it would be good! 😉

  11. It’s so pretty! I bet it tastes as good as it looks. Watermelon is an amazing fruit, my son would eat an entire fruit if I let him!

    • Thank you, Becky! I agree! But not so pretty that you won’t gobble them up quickly! 😉

      Like your son, I absolutely LOVE watermelon! So yummy this time of year!

  12. GORGEOUS. Wow, what an intriguing flavor combination and you captured it perfectly in the photos.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By A very good year « Milkay Photography on 17 Nov 2011 at 1:59 pm

    […] to take a photograph of my creations! We chomped on these delights all throughout July: "Summer Cubed" (Watermelon, Mozzerella & Procuitto Bites) Nikon D300, VR 105mm […]

Leave a Reply

