Skip navigation


Even though I seem to be doing things at a very slow pace these days, this summer feels like it is flying by. Here we are in August (AUGUST!) already and the cooler days of fall are fast approaching.

‘Slug-ish’ (Land Snail on Daylily Frond) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/5.6, 1/125s, ISO 640

That isn’t to say I’m tossing in the (beach) towel ;-). Nope, I’m the girl that grabs onto summer and holds tight with both hands. Temps in the 90’s? Keep ’em comin’. I’ll sacrifice a few plants in the garden and a sweaty brow for every last ray of sunshine I can soak in. It’s the only way I can make it through the inevitable winter. (Oh, well, that and a few trips South. 😉 ) 

They say that snails are BAD for a garden, but I’ve only seen these little guys hanging out on the daylily fronds so, for now, they can feel safe here. This fine specimen was actually moving right along (yes, at a snail’s pace) leaving a trail of slime in its wake. I thought the sprinkling of snails added some rather nice ‘bling’ to the mass of green and when the sunshine struck their iridescent shells, they would glow like fine gemstones.

As far as I’m concerned, August can take a few lessons from the snails.

No need to rush on by… take a load off and sit awhile.

You are welcome to stay as long as you’d like. 🙂

20 Comments

  1. hmmmm. Your macro work is so crisp!!! And your stories that go along with them never fail to make me grin a little bit.

    Now when are you going to break out all of those red polka dot suit pictures!!:??? 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Thanks, Derrick! Glad I could provide a grin! 🙂

      Ha! I assume you are referring to the orange bikini with the little white fish details as I do not own a red polka dot swimsuit?? Sorry, but a photo of me in any swimsuit is just not gonna happen. Simply not my style. That isn’t to say that I’m not totally rockin’ it, mind you. Six months of sweat has paid off in spades! 🙂

  2. I’m sooo with you on this.
    IF I believed in reincarnation, then I’d have to assume I was a tomato in a former life becuase put me in a hothouse and I’d be perfectly happy.
    Like you, I don’t look forward to the long cold winter months, the short days and restless kids indoors as the freezing rain pelts down outside. Summer can come early and stay as loooong as it wants, it will NEVER over-stay it’s welcome in OUR home. I married a man who was used to more cold weather than I am but hates it just as I do, so if I suggested a holiday to the sun?… he’d almost drag me to the airport without packing LOL!

    • Hi Kiwi!!!!!! So nice to ‘see’ you!!!! 🙂

      How does this not surprise me? I sooooo knew you were (also) a Summer!!

      Once your foot is healed (yes, it WILL heal!!), you and Mister Kiwi should plan a trip to the US in Oct-Nov, to sunny Orlando and attend the EpCOT Food & Wine Festival. Warm weather, gorgeous location, Disney magic AND the most wonderful food and wine events!

  3. Lovely image. I really like your composition!

    • Thanks so very much, Ted! I do like the crossing fronds…like the snail’s little roadways. I took quite a few shots of the snails and this happened to be the very first one. After this, s/he was on the move making it difficult to get a good composition.

      So glad you like it! 🙂

  4. Oh yes, that is the one! I had to go back to your motivation post! I’m sure after all of your hard work it has paid off! You have done really well considering what you have had to deal with!

  5. Now that I think about it… I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a snail like this before. I guess I might have expected one to be a bit more… opaque? Very interesting (although I can’t help but feel an urge just to give him a slight, gentle poke… he looks so… squidgy)! Anyway, I’m sure he’s much happier to spend a poke-free summer hanging out in your garden, M.P.!
    🙂

    • Ha! Too funny, Sig!

      To tell you honestly, before now I never really gave snails more than a passing glance. It was the iridescent shells, glowing in the afternoon sunshine that finally made me take a closer look. That’s typcially the way it goes with me. One day I couldn’t care less and then boom! Something suddenly strikes me as interesting and the camera lens is raised.

      If it makes you feel better, I’ll go out and give ’em a poke. 🙂

  6. Generally I’m happy with snails ( and I love the snail’s pace! )- BUT: For the last 10 years we have got a new invasive snail here ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spanish_slug ), our name for this fellow is in Danish: Dræbersnegl = Killer-snail 😦 !!! Some years it has been eating most of my salad and many other vegetables….. Today I walked around in the evening in my garden and killed MANY of them….

    • Thanks, Truels!

      Ugh – SLUGS! 😉 I can understand the slug genocide!

      Not a fan of slugs. I suppose snails are very similar but for some reason, they don’t seem as destructive (or downright icky) to me as slugs. Yes, my salad garden has been devastated a time or two by slugs. Still can’t brign myself to kill them, though. I typically gather up the lot and toss them over the back fence into the wild areas.

  7. I’m not normally a snail person, but he’s so cute, I’m glad he’s safe 🙂 I’d prefer autumn and spring all year long…

    • Yes, isn’t he?? I think it is that little ‘swoosh’ under the eye that makes it so. Gives sort of a friendly, cartoon-like look about him.

      Thanks so much, JP! 🙂

  8. Excellent photo, Tracy, with great advice to move slowly in the summer and congrats on getting fit.

  9. Wow, I think you made that snail look cute! I, too, desperately hold on to summer.

    • Ha! Thanks, Becky!

      I think the snail may have been cute already.. 😉

  10. Very cool shot, Tracy. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a snail so up close and personal. We seem to have only slugs around here.

    • Thanks! This is the first year I’ve noticed the snails. I prefer them over snails (something we have in abundance). I think of snails as the ‘upper crust’ of slugs. Still in the same family but somehow, perceived prettier due to their lovely shells. 🙂


Leave a Reply

