Skip navigation


Well, when they’re made of flowers! (C’mon now..what’d you expect from a nature photographer? 😉 )

No one does topiaries better than Disney and it was a treat to see Lightning McQueen and Mater ‘large’ and ‘in charge’ at the entrance to Disney’s Hollywood Studios. You can’t help but squeal like a child upon spotting their silly grins. Just too cute!

As a gardener, I can certainly appreciate the hard-work and countless hours that must have gone into these full-sized floral masterpieces. With such attention to detail, I almost expected at any given moment for these two to rev their engines and take off for a spin around the park, spouting any one of their memorable quotes. It was very polite of them to oblige me and stay put while I snapped their photos. Oh, how they love the spot light! Enjoy! 🙂
 

“I’m Lightning McQueen” (Pixar’s ‘Cars’ Lightning McQueen Topiary, Disney’s Hollywood Studios Entrance) Nikon D300, 26mm, F/8, 1/320s, ISO 200, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash, -0.7EV

 

“Number 95” (Pixar’s ‘Cars’ Lightning McQueen Topiary, Disney’s Hollywood Studios Entrance) Nikon D300, 22mm, F/9, 1/320s, ISO 200, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash, -0.7EV

 

“Git-R-Done!” (Pixar’s ‘Cars’ Mater Topiary, Disney’s Hollywood Studios Entrance) Nikon D300, 20mm, F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 200, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash, +1.0EV

 

“Tow Mater” (Pixar’s ‘Cars’ Mater Topiary, Disney’s Hollywood Studios Entrance) Nikon D300, 52mm, F/8, 1/250s, ISO 200

 

“Tow Tag” ((Pixar’s ‘Cars’ Mater Topiary, Disney’s Hollywood Studios Entrance) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 200, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash, -0.7EV

30 Comments

  1. These are great! Topiaries of cartoon cars. Wonderful and so silly. 🙂

    • Thank you, Katie! ‘Wonderful and silly’…I totally agree! 🙂

      • I had to come back and these cars just make me smile. I’m so glad you took such wonderful photos that really showed that. Great work! And thank you!

      • Ha! You’re welcome!

        Glad they make you smile. They are really quite something! 🙂

  2. Absolutely fabulous. It is amazing how they do this and I can certainly appreciate the hard work it took to create these.
    Great shots, you really made them come to life. Love & Kisses

    • Thanks, mom! It took some maneuvering to get the shots I wanted without people in them, but you know me… determination pays off! Glad you liked them!

      Hugs & kisses back! 🙂

  3. Oh yeah….THAT took some time!! Cute!

  4. Here comes more enthusiasm from another gardener;-) – these must be tomorrow’s “green” vehicles – that use carbon dioxide and produce oxygen!

  5. I love those! Makes me think of the Rose Bowl parade. I envy Florida’s ability to garden all year, esp. in the winter.

    • Thank you, Becky! Yes, veryRose Bowl-like these are. They would make fantasticparade floats!

      True FL’s growing season is longer BUT they have to contend with very hot summers and drought conditions so I think I’ll stick with what we’ve got. 😉

  6. I think they’re pretty impressive. The foliage makes them look so squeezable.

  7. So cute! I can’t imagine how often the staff would have to trim them to keep them looking so good.

    • Thanks much, JP! Knowing Disney, I’m guessing the gardeners are out there every single day making sure these guys look their best. ‘Man-scaping’ at its finest! 😉

  8. These are just too cool! As a terrible gardner not only do I appreciate the hard work, but stand amazed at how they do it and the creativity involved!

  9. Pretty cars and fun shots! Nice 🙂

  10. nice!

  11. Sorry we did not get to meet. Maybe we could us it as an idiom for Karma’s October Photo Hunt…Close but no Cigar! LOL

    • Ha, funny! Yeah, me too. But what would we use as a photo?? 😉

      We had a fantastic trip… I hope you did as well.

      So difficult to be back to ‘reality’ – it is too cold here! Just makes me think we might have to sneak down again to get into the holiday spirit! 😉

  12. Amazing!

  13. So cute and amazing 🙂

    • Thanks so much! And, welcome!!

      Nice to see a new face in comments! 🙂

  14. That’s impressive!
    Weeds are the only green things I can keep alive!
    🙂

    • Yes, I agree! 🙂

      I have a bit of a green thumb myself and have dabbled in topiary but these people clearly know what they are doing!!


Leave a Reply

