Skip navigation


The Seas with Nemo & Friends is one of my favorite EpCoT attractions. Little did I know then that I would walk away with photos perfect for Karen’s October Photo Hunt, which is all about idioms.

We begin with two shots taken outside the pavilion:
 
“Birds of a Feather Flock Together”

“Birds of a Feather” (Animatronic Seagulls, The Seas with Nemo & Friends Pavilion, EpCoT) Nikon Coolpix P7100, 16.3mm, F/4, 1/1000s, -1.7EV, ISO 400, Built-in Rear Curtain Flash

 
and:
 
“Swimming with Sharks”

“Swimming with Sharks” (The Seas with Nemo & Friends Pavilion, EpCoT) Nikon Coolpix P7100, 6mm, F/2.8, 1/80s, ISO 400, Nik Silver Effex Pro ‘Strong IR HC’ Filter

 
For the third entry we head on into the ride itself. When I find myself on certain dark and rather slow-moving attractions, I like to play with slow-shutter speeds allowing colors and forms to bleed into interesting compositions. So, from inside my ‘clamobile’, I clicked the shutter release and held the camera as steady as I could:
 

“Blur the Lines”

“Blur the Lines” (The Seas with Nemo & Friends Ride, EpCoT) Nikon Coolpix P7100, 6mm, F/2.8, 2s, ISO 1600

Visions of coral reefs, sunken vessels and sea life are instantly transformed into a land of pink and apricot clouds along with a lime green sun (or, is it an alien ship??) 😉 

 
For the bonus Halloween shot, we head on over to the Magic Kingdom. I simply couldn’t resist this little guy dangling from one of the scarecrows that decorate the common at the very start of Main Street, USA: 

 
“Hung Out to Dry” 

“Hung Out to Dry” (Pumpkin Mickey Doll, Magic Kingdom, Main Street USA) Canon Powershot SX40 HS, 20.3mm, F/4.5, 1/800s, ISO 100

So, there you have it… THREE days early and complete with idiom bonus! 🙂

22 Comments

  1. What a great place to take fun photos. Great job! 🙂 Love the Halloween shot. 🙂

    • Thank you, Katie! 🙂

      It certainly is a great place to take photos! Never a lack of inspiration, that’s for sure. I’ve been too many times to count and yet, still manage to find new things to amaze me. That doll cracked me up! It’s details just like this that keep me coming back! 🙂

  2. I *still* haven’t seen Nemo yet (other parents said it scared their younger kids so I never got around to getting it for ours) but these characters look amazing,
    The seagulls look like they are having a “right old chin wag”LOL.
    I like the Mickey Doll too… aw.. but I’m not sure if it’s being snatched up in anger or desperately hung on to for cuddly security.

    • Aw, you gotta see it! You and Mister could watch it first and then decide when to let your little ones take a peek. It is such a fantastic movie with good lessons for both parent and child. Really funny, too!

      The seagulls are quite the characters! Just like the ones in the movie, the animatronic versions spout ‘Mine! Mine! Mine!’ Cracks me up every time.

      I love all the little details the Disney Imagineers put into their creations. The doll was being held by a girl scarecrow who had a purse in the other hand so I think we can safely say that Pumpkin Mickey is well-loved! 🙂

  3. More Disney inspired idioms! How marvelous but like the seagulls…it was my, my, my idea first. 😉 Did not get to the Nemo on this last trip. I like how they used the characters to bring new life to a very good pavilion.

    • Ha! Nice try, Scott, but I stated in my comment on Karma’s photo hunt post that if I were to participate it would indeed be Disney-themed! 😉

      Do you remember Sea Base Alpha?? It was pretty lame. We were very excited when they got rid of United Technologies as a sponsor and brought in Nemo. We just HAVE to visit the ride as well as “Turtle Talk with Crush” each and every trip!!

  4. lol! I love the clever way you came up with your idioms.

    • Thanks much, Robin! I admit it…I had so much fun with these!! 🙂

  5. What a great collection, Tracy! The seagulls are my favorite part of the movie Finding Nemo (MINE…MINE…MINE). And congratulations on the bonus pic!

    • Thanks, Ted! 🙂

      I wonder if the animators realized at the time just how much people would LOVE those seagulls?! 🙂

  6. Love the blues in the birds image and I like the abstract style of the Blur image! So easy to see that you were having fun!!

  7. Aw, Ted stole my “mine… mine” comment! Time conspired against me. I’m just so grateful to be back to “normal.” Your choices are adorable! LOVE “hung out to dry”

    • Ha! Thanks, Karen! Who doesn’t love those seagulls?? 😉

      Yes, so glad you are back and that your family is safe!

      The photo hunt idea was a fun one and I was happy to participate! 🙂

  8. Great fun pictures well shot 🙂

  9. Wonderful!!! Love the birds of a feather….and hung out to dry too!

  10. Amazing pics! Love them! 🙂

  11. All very cool!
    I’m particularly drawn to the shark image, though.
    Hmm… I wonder what that says about me?!
    🙂

    • Thank you!

      Hmmmm, I don’t know. Perphaps you simply like to show off your pearly whites…;-)


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] me jealous of yet another trip to Florida, Tracy also featured Disney-theme idioms.  I could hear “Mine, mine!” when I saw her “birds of feather” shot, and […]

  2. […] one I got this year can be seen here) and Mr. & Mrs. Cardinal together in one shot.  Bob or Tracy, any advice for fulfilling those goals? GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

Leave a Reply

