Skip navigation


Anyone living along the east coast who thought the weather forecasters were kidding about the Nor’easter woke up to find the joke was on us! My city faired better than many with only a few inches, BUT it was the heavy, wet kind of snow thatΒ downed many branches including a large oneΒ off of my (already damaged) Coral Bark Maple. 😦 I must admit, Mother Nature got me since I didn’t see that one coming or else I would have strapped the branches together (as I intended to do before ‘winter’ arrived) when we were scurrying around yesterday covering furniture and moving in fragile perennials that I had yet to get planted into the ground. Sigh.

Not wanting to dwell on what was damaged, I decided instead, to look for the beauty of the day. It isn’t often we get the combination of gorgeous fall foliage, crisp blue skies, brilliant sunshine AND a bed of the white stuff.Β As the winds whipped, I walked the landscape, shooting until my hands were frozen.

Folks who don’t experience snowstorms often ask how we ‘deal’ with it.

Well, I think the last photo pretty much sums it up. πŸ™‚

"S(no!)w Welcome" (Welcome Flag with Urn) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 11mm, F/4.0, 1/100s, IS0 125, Built-in Flash, -1.3EV

 

"Duck, Duck, Snow!" (Resin Ducks in Snow) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 13.5mm, F/4, 1/250s, ISO 100

 

"When Seasons Collide" (Backyard Shed in Snowy October) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 6.8mm, F/4.0, -0.3EV, 1/320s, IS0 100

 

"S(no)w Swimming" (October Pool) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 4.3mm, F/8.0, 1/125s, IS0 320

 

"Snow Birds" (Copper Swans with 'Cardinal Red' Hydrangea) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 21.8mm, F/4.5, 1/80s, IS0 125

 

"Seasonal Confusion" (October Backyard, Far View) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 4.3mm, F/8.0, 1/60s, IS0 160

 

"How to Weather Snow in October" (Backyard Vignette) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 7mm, F/4.0, 1/00s, IS0 100

24 Comments

  1. I hope your Coral Maple is okay! That’s what worried me when i heard about the snow–the weight of the snow and the leaves on those trees. Love these photos. Especially the sculpture ones. And the last photo. Laugh, yeah, all you can do. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing these!

    • Thank you, Katie. You are very sweet. πŸ™‚

      The Coral Bark Maple is only about 7 years old and I planted it when it was a mere sapling. In January’s Nor’easter, a branch split off and I repaired it quickly even while the storem wailed on. Thought it was doing okay but the heavy snow and high winds were too much for the same branch and it broke clear off. We cut a chunk off the branch and put it back in place to seal the ‘wound’ so the tree won’t be stressed. I’m sure it will survive but it might look a little funny for awhile. We are getting some warmer temps this week so I hope to give it a once over and see if it requires any pruning to take some weight off the other side.

      Such a lovely tree with fiery red bark in the winter months. It is days like this I wonder why Mother Nature hates me so…

      • So glad the Coral Bark will survive! So nice that you care about it so much. Ah, I don’t think Mother Nature hates you, it’s just what it is. And again, these are great photos, all of them. Really good!

      • Aw. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s good to see that the sun came out – October snowstorms are no fun. The combination of snow and fall colors are pretty, at least, and I’m glad you took the time to catch them! My personal favorite is “snow birds” – but I think I liked the last picture you posted with them, too. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Barbara! πŸ™‚

      Aside from the winds and chilly temps, it was actually a lovely-looking day outside. Always the way after a storm…an apology of sorts from Mother Nature, I suppose. πŸ˜‰

      Glad you liked the photos. I would have taken more but my hands were frozen!

  3. The combination of snow and the autumn colour is pretty special. I hope the weather improves soon!

    • Thank you for your condolences, JP! πŸ˜‰

      Yeah, I should look at it that way but it is difficult to do so when you are in the middle of it! I’m sure in a few days all snow will be melted around my area (not the case in many others who received over a foot of the stuff). In time, I’ll be able to look back on all the photos and say, “Do you remember the time it snowed in October??!”

  4. Wonderful series, Tracy. Although I’m no stranger to seeing fall colors mixed with snow, I still find it an odd (and beautiful) combination. Odder still is that you all have had snow before we did (and we usually see the first flakes by Halloween). It’s a mixed up world.

    I hope your coral bark maple heals from this unexpected storm.

    • I can’t recall another time when we got snow like this in October. My folks live in the western part of the state and they got a whopping 14 inches along with a downed trees and branches. Luckily, no property damage or injuries. Just a huge mess to clean up.

      Thank you, Robin. Yes, a mixed up world indeed!

  5. You’ve got some great fall color!!

    • Yes, we do! Figures, the year we get GREAT foliage we also get snow!

  6. I often can not say this…better you than me! πŸ™‚ You’ve turned the crazy into a lovely positive. Here’s hoping your neighbors in need soon get their power back and life returns to normal (whatever that is!).

    • Ha! Thanks, Scott! (I think??) πŸ˜‰

      We actually had more damage than originally thought. Mother Nature, once again, has expressed her dislike of our black chain-link fence. This time, she down a HUGE branch into the gate waaaaaay in back of our landscape. It won’t be until this weekend when we will be able to see if the gate is re-hangable or not. I see a renting of a chainsaw in our future…

  7. Seasonal confusion – that’s the right word for what you show us here. Or – in other words – climate change…… and whether we can do something about it or not – it is important to see the beauty and the fun of it πŸ™‚

    • You are always so intuitive, Truels! πŸ™‚

      Yes, climate change is right. Mother Earth is definitely sending a message. Whether or not we listen is yet to be realized.

  8. Fine images as always.

    The storm was no joke for me – my power was out from Saturday night until tonight (Tuesday). It’s now 55 in the house with temperatures slowly climbing, but at least there’s light and hot water. We still have a big branch jacknifed over the powerline from the street to the house, making the line sag. But no real damage that we know of – sorry to read about your gate/fence.

    • Thanks, Tom. You are very kind. πŸ™‚

      So sorry to hear about the troubles the storm brought you! (My tree/gate issues are oh-so-small in comparison). Scary stuff with the power being out and that precarious branch. I do hope it gets cleared out soon so that you can resume a (somewhat) normal existance. Ouch. 55 degrees is COLD. I wish you a warm and peaceful night.

  9. Beautiful shots, Tracy. And you are right about dealing with the snow! While growing up, we always counted on the first real snow to happen on Halloween. Before moving to where we are now, we lived in a place where it snowed on the 4th of July and had 36″ of snow (on the level) Memorial day.

    • Thank you, Ted! πŸ™‚

      I cannot even IMAGINE having snow on the 4th of July! That would make me very sad, indeed. We are not used to snow this early…I think the last time it ocurred was in the 1950’s. Luckily, in my area, the snow has all melted and today was a balmy 59 degrees which allowed me to do some gardening chores and get soem perennials planted in the ground.

  10. I agree the juxtaposition is beautiful. However, much easier for me to say from afar. You have a wonderful positive attitude!

    • Thank you, Amy! πŸ™‚

      I suppose I could spend my days wallowing but what good would that do? Many folks faired much worse in this storm…we were very lucky!!

  11. I feel like I’ve been around my share of snow… but…
    well…
    I’d say you definitely made the best of it, M.P.
    As gorgeous as that stuff can look!
    πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

