Skip navigation


 
Hard to believe another Christmas come and gone. Sigh.

I always find the week after New Year’s to be a little sad since I know the time is near to take down the garlands, box up the ornaments and lights and put away all the dressings of the season.

But before we do, let’s make the magic last a wee bit longer with a tour of this year’s holiday decorations. I guess you could say my style is traditional with just a bit of whimsy for the part of me that refuses to grow up! Enjoy! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please Note: Unfortunately, I cannot control how quickly the images advance. HOWEVER, if you hover your mouse over the slideshow area, a set of controls will display allowing you to STOP the auto advancement of the images. Then, you can use the forward and back arrows to scroll through the images at your leisure.

32 Comments

  1. Happy New Year, Tracy!! Hope 2012 is a great one for you and your family.

  2. Tracy, I must say, that even though it’s MANY days after Christmas now – I have been sitting and ENJOYing all the photographs from your Christmas House Tour – you have indeed an adventurous and unusually nice and beautiful home… Just a few highlights for me: Doll Assembly on the stairs. The sledge on the wall. Oooohhhh ….. and MUCH more….. 😉

    • So glad you are enjoying your tour!

      Ah, yes, the Misfit Toys on the staircase…are you familiar with the animated story of Rudolph? These ‘collectibles’ have been around for quite a few years and it is a challenge to find a creative display for them each year. Hubby thought of this one and I laugh at their little faces every time I pass them by. They will probably be one of the last things boxed up.

      We love old items and that sled also gets displayed in differnt spots each year. Good thing we have an old home so old mixed with new works rather well!

      Thanks for stopping by, Truels! Oh, and make sure you grab a mug of spiked cider on your way through the kitchen! 😉

  3. So very beautiful! How can one not be happy when surrounded by such a festive atmosphere? I am slowly undecorating, my least favorite part.

    • Aw, thank you, Becky! 🙂

      I do so love the spirit of Christmas. We’ve been burning candles each night so the scents of balsam and spice fill the air. All the lights add such a glow to each room…it will feel cold when they are all gone, which is why I put it off. Every year the very same thing happens – just when I think I’ll keep up the decorations forever, I wake up one morning and just like that, I know it is time. Hasn’t happened yet but it will!

  4. Your decorations are beautiful! They look like something out of a magazine (as do the photographs!)

  5. You have a lovely home, Tracy, and your decorations enhance that loveliness. I particularly like (LOVE) the whimsical bits. 🙂

    • Thank you, Robin! So glad you took a look around!

      I knew you’d love the whimsy! 🙂

  6. Wow, what a wonderfully decorated house. Great photos, Tracy. 🙂

  7. Your decorations are wonderful – I too love the misfit toys!! I am slowly beginning the undecorating process as well 😦

    • Many thanks! So nice to meet another ‘Misfit Toy’ fan! 🙂

      It is actually humorous how I quickly I go from “Aw, it’s over…I don’t want to take these down ever” to “Seriously, I am so over it!” 😉 I felt a little twinge today and actually started to pull a few things. I bet by the end of the week the undecorating will be in full swing.

  8. At first I wasn’t sure what to say…

    The Joy of Christmas!!

    A Very Cozy Feeling!!

    Very Nice!!

    I Like the way You decorated the Stairway!!

    • Ha! Thanks, Bob! Looks like you figured out what to say! MUCH appreciated! 🙂

  9. Your decorating skills put me to SHAME, M.P.!
    Beautifully done!
    🙂

    • Ha! You make me blush, Sig, with your kind words. Thank you! 🙂

  10. The care you put into your decorating is obvious. I bet you are a wonderful auntie, and that nieces and nephews love visiting you, especially at Christmas. Thanks for sharing. I have big hopes and dreams of a happy 2012 – I hope it is for you too.

    • Thank you so very much, Karma! You are beyond sweet! My nieces and nephews are all older now so I bet they think all of this is simply too much. But I like it. 🙂

      I hope all your big hopes and dreams for 2012 come true! 🙂

  11. You are certainly one ambitious decorator and photographer. Just the photographs would have been more than I could handle… you go girl!! 🙂

    • Ha! Yes, I suppose I am. Let’s just say that Christmas is high motivation for me as I do love the holiday!

      Thanks, KC! 🙂

  12. Your house is gorgeous! And then add in all those beautiful (and I too love the whimsical…) Christmas decorations it becomes even more fabulous!

    I couldn’t wait to get the decor packed away. It feels very cluttered after Christmas with all the boxes and toys, clothes and pine needles… 🙂

    • Thank you so very much! I dabble in interior design and it has taken me YEARS to finally (I think?) get it right! 🙂

      Packing up things now and this week. I can see how the ‘clutter’ feeling can happen. That is exactly what finally gets me over the ‘magic’ and into the ‘oh, this HAS to come down NOW mood’!

  13. Love the way you decorate!

  14. Your decorations are beautiful – tasteful and traditional. Happy New Year!

  15. Fantastic decorations. Tracy, tell me, how long did it take you to arrange everything like this? And I, too, feel the 1st week of each year a little sad. We are looking forward to Christmas whole year and then it’s suddeny gone in an instant (sigh) 😦

    • Why, thank you, Tomas! We’ve actually have become quite proficient in setting these up…only took about a day to do, with me adding in some finishing touches throughout the week. I was actually under the weather at the time so that made for easy decisions on where to place things! 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] believe me? Well, you can check out the 2010 and 2011 line-ups to see what I’m talking about. If I do say so myself, I think I just may have […]

Leave a Reply

