Skip navigation


Just kidding! 🙂

Although I’m definitely a fan of the mouse, I’m not so far gone as to think an animated character is qualified to lead the free world. But, if I think about the current list of presidential candidates, eh, we could do worse. 😉

While perusing the shelves at “The Yankee Peddler” in the Magic Kingdom’s Liberty Square, I became fascinated with the rows of trinkets for sale and how the items appeared as little soldiers in some sort of bizarre mouse army.

“Ice, Ice Mickey” (Mickey Mouse Pepper Mills, The Yankee Peddler, Liberty Square, Magic Kingdom Theme Park, Walt Disney World, Florida), Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 13.8mm, F/4, 1/20s, ISO 1000, Photoshop CS4 Inverted

Back home, I decided the resulting images could use a tiny bit of creative assistance which was easily achieved via Photoshop CS4. For the first photo, I simply inverted the colors to transform what were once rows of Mickey Mouse Pepper Mills into glowing glass sculptures in blue and white.

“Pop Art Mickey” (Best of Mickey Mouse Kitchen Timers, The Yankee Peddler, Liberty Square, Magic Kingdom Theme Park, Walt Disney World, Florida), Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 13.8mm, F/4, 1/25s, ISO 800, Photoshop CS4 Posterized, Level 2

Since the colors and composition of the Mickey Mouse Kitchen Timers were already reminiscent of pop art, I decided to simplify things even more by ‘posterizing’ – which essentially means, converting a normal photograph into an image consisting of distinct, but flat, areas of different tones or colors.

Luckily, this effect isn’t as difficult as it sounds and only required a single click of the mouse ( 😉 ) and a slider adjustment to achieve.

Oh, why can’t selecting our next president be as easy? 🙂

24 Comments

  1. Let’s just hope that our next president isn’t as easily manipulated! What a fun project!

  2. Couldn’t be any worse than what we’ve got and what we could get!!! Cute pics, Tracy!

  3. The top photo looks as if they could be perfume bottles. Those timers are adorable. Just a couple of weeks until we’re down in the land of Mickey!

    • I thought so, too! Thanks, Becky! 🙂

      Woo hoo! You must be getting so excited!!!!

  4. A Mickey Mouse Army is actually quite a chilling thought… 🙂

    No matter how many times people have explained it to me, I still can’t keep the US presidential election process straight. Ah well, I guess ours is just as confusing for non-Australians.

    • Indeed, JP. Indeed. 🙂

      You are not alone, JP! No matter how many times people explain the process to me, I can’t keep it straight either! 😉

  5. If we used a “slider adjustment” to select candidates, Rupe believes we would become a bit creative with that ourselves … and “slide” them right off the voting ballot.

  6. I think Mickey would do a good job. Unfortunately, he would have to deal with a Congress full of rats. 🙂 Maybe, one of these days the American people will give their chosen President a Congress to work with him instead of for themselves. Wouldn’t that be something.

    • He probably would, Scott! And yes, a Congress of rats is a good way to describe them. That is why I stay completely out of politics! 🙂

  7. I think you Americans deserve something better than a mouse as your president….
    And did you know, that if we Europeans should elect the American president – we would choose Obama!?

    • That is very kind of you to say, Truels! I am not so sure what we deserve anymore…all I know is that it has been rough to be American.

      I did not know that. Hmmm, I wonder what the appeal is?

  8. Love pop art Mickey!!

    As for Mickey for president, he has a lot of things that many past presidents have… The wealth to fund his campaign, the celebrity to get his name on the ballot, and his distinct voice to be imitated on SNL. You may just be on to something.

    • Thank you, Amy! 🙂

      I think you are right! I’m not the first to think of this, though…I was stunned to see online that folks have actually tried to get Mickey on a ballot! Crazy!

  9. Hahaha… something tells me Mickey would poll pretty well these days, M.P.!
    I think I’d be ‘all ears’, too!
    🙂

    • Yep, I agree, Sig!

      A friendly mouse beats a couple of rats, any day! 🙂

  10. Love your question, why can’t it be as easy?

    • Thank you, Tammy! Sadly, no one has been able to provide an answer! 🙂

  11. Haha.. Yeah I’m pretty sure Mickey might do as good a job as anyone else.. Just as long as he keeps a tight rein on Pluto..

    • Ha! At least Mickey isn’t a RAT! 🙂

      Methinks Pluto would be sort of like our current Joe Biden… 😉


Leave a Reply

