Skip navigation


Success! 🙂

As promised, I re-created the edible birdhouses with stronger eye hooks and hung them in a different location (high up in a tree far back in the yard).

Within minutes, the Black-Capped Chickadees were feeding! Granted, they were the only brave ones that first day but it didn’t take long for the White-Breasted Nuthatches to catch on by the following morning, with the Dark-Eyed Juncos snacking happily below (they are ground feeders).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please Note: Unfortunately, I cannot control how quickly the images advance. HOWEVER, if you hover your mouse over the slideshow area, a set of controls will display allowing you to STOP the auto advancement of the images. Then, you can use the forward and back arrows to scroll through the images at your leisure.

I’m not saying the squirrels didn’t try but they just couldn’t get to the houses so they had to settle for what scraps the birds allowed to fall to the ground.

Aw, poor babies. 😉

With the voracity at which the birds are feeding, I suspect by the end of this week, the houses will be stripped clean and the process will start all over again.

Oh, my. What have I gotten myself into? 😉

22 Comments

  1. Sweet photos! I really enjoyed this post. A little tip: if you want to display photos where anyone can control the speed, put them in a gallery, not a slideshow. (I have many on my photography website and it works very well) Hope to see more great work from you!

    • Thank you, Aaron! For the kind comment and the posting tip! Much appreciated! 🙂

      Glad you like this post!

  2. latest score: birdhouse 2 – 0 nitzushouse 🙂

  3. These are adorable, albeit temporary, works of art! How’d you get them in spot where the squirrels weren’t able to reach?

    • Thanks, Karma! 🙂

      We hung them on a tree where the branches are very far apart from each other. The branches are also long and on the thin-ish side (I think it is a silver elm tree). I made sure the hanging strings were very long and hung the houses towards the edge of the branch. I did see the squirrels trying, and some were light enough to get to the part of the branch where the house was hanging, but they couldn’t hang down by their hind feet and reach the house. They also couldn’t jump to them from any other tree or branch. Was driving them crazy!

      BTW…I just went out and checked on the houses. They are PICKED CLEAN! So funny to see than hanging, like skeletons, with the decorative bows still attached. Silly of me to think they’d last til the end of the week, huh?! At least I got some nice shots for today’s post and most likely, I have some pretty happy birds. 😉

  4. Well the latter is undeniably one small disadvantage of edible houses – they disappear ….. But congratulations with the victory this time for you and the birds. And with the beautiful photos in this series.

    • Alas, yes. But, I like to look at it as something I made brought sustenance and joy to a creature of the earth. And that, my friend, makes me smile. Plus, I do get such a kick out of making them! 🙂

      Thank you, Truels! 🙂

  5. I love these houses! Did you send a link to Martha Stewart?

  6. Wow… superb idea!! This is an inspiration to me.. I shall set one similar to yours now 🙂

  7. You have a wonderful collection of photographs here. And as for this post, I must say that you’re very creative indeed. Keeping track of your new posts eagerly. 🙂

  8. So clever…and the birds obviously love them!

    • Thank you, Cindy! They are spoiled little beasts! (and yes, totally my fault!) 😉

  9. Did you make those edible bird houses and if so, would you post the process? I think they are amazing.

  10. Tastes delicious *burp*
    Er, I mean… LOOKS wonderful. LOOKS wonderful.
    🙂

    • Ha! I’ve been wondering what the Chickadees were sayin’…. 😉

  11. One Red Two White Three Black–You cannot make a photograph better than this.


Leave a Reply

