Skip navigation


Every professional photographer (or any visual artist for that matter) knows the most difficult part of this job is selling. From the very beginning, I’ve controlled every detail of my small business… from marketing and promotion to the actual creation of prints, mounting, matting and framing. As you can imagine, this leaves one very little time for the fun part – taking photos!

“On the Red Bubble” (Soap Bubble with Color Reflections) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F2.8G, F/7.1, 1/50s, ISO 800, Built-in Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser

With age comes wisdom ( 😉 ) so I’ve decided to relinquish (some) control and allow the good folks over at redbubble to create my photographic prints, as well as other really cool goodies such as iPhone/iPod cases, for me. Neat, huh? 🙂

Click the button below to access my redbubble portfolio, view sizes and pricing and, most important, place your order.

Buy my work

I so appreciate all the folks who stop by my blog and especially want to thank those of you who take the time to click the “Like” button as well as post a comment. Your feedback and support inspires me to keep looking through the lens and without you, I’d just be a girl with a camera and no purpose.

What’s the fun in that? 🙂

43 Comments

  1. Welcome to the bubble world! I really hope it works for you. 🙂

    • Thank you, Ted! How nice to already find friends who live in the bubble!! I had no idea! 🙂

      I already feel at home. 🙂

  2. Great Tracy, congratulations, what a good idea. I´m looking forward to hear more about how it will be.
    And it´s a pleasure to see your photos together almost like in a collage. They are amazing. Good luck. I love the red photo at this post.

    • Thanks so much, Birgitte! You have always been such a wonderful supporter of mine. That has meant alot to me. ♥ ♥

      I hope I can sell my work on redbubble. Lots of competition out there and alot of wonderful photography. Just have to keep plugging away at it.

      Yes, a collage! I see it now. So interesting to think of it that way! It will constantly change as I add more new works. Nice to keep things fresh!

      The red was very intentional (REDbubble and all…sometimes I can be soooo literal!) 😀

  3. GORGEOUS stuff my friend!!! 🙂
    I want one of those cases….only problem will be deciding which one!!! Will think on it more, but that hummingbird has captured my heart. 🙂
    I went and “pinned” you on Pinterest….will let you know how many repins you get!
    Best of luck in this venture. Giving up control is tough for control freaks like us! Congrats on making that leap! Whoohoo!

    • Oh, my gosh, KD! I don’t know what to say! (Well, I guess, thank you would be a good start, huh? 🙂 )

      You are so very kind, in both your comments and that you pinned me!!! YOU, my dear, are my first! I’m feelin’ the love, for sure! ♥ ♥

      This has been in the works for some time now and it has been so hard to give up control, but it simply had to be done. I want to get back to the fun of taking photos. I’ve really missed that and came very close to stopping altogether.

      Thanks so very, very much for your support! You rock! 😀

  4. Tracy, the picture in this blog post is fantastic! I took a quick peek at your new site and am looking forward to spending more time exploring it. Congratulations!

    • Oh, if you could have seen what I went through to get this shot! I had an idea in mind (red + bubble, etc.) and discovered that photographing bubbles is not quite as easy as it looks. (Isn’t that always the way?) I was happy to get this shot as the (natural) light I was using was quickly moving away from where I needed it.

      So glad you like my redbubble portfolio! I really wanted it to present well. Phew!

      Thank you, Barbara! 🙂

  5. sweet!

    • Ha! Yes, yes it is… 😉

      Now let’s watch the orders come in, right? Oh, if it was only that easy!

      Thanks, Derrick! 🙂

      • You’re like me… gotta learn to beat your own drum. 😉 If you can figure out how to do that without sounding like a pompous ass, let me know!! 🙂

      • Ha! I think I’ve always followed my own drum…which sometimes, is certainly my downfall. Just trying to find my way through this strange world of photography. I’m certain I’ll figure it out when I’m 90… 😉

  6. Nice photo and welcome to redbubble.

  7. Looks great! I’ve seen other professional photographers use Redbubble. I wish you great success!

    • Aw, thank you, Becky! I so appreciate the well-wishes and the shot of confidence and support! 🙂

  8. Awesome image here (you keep amazing me) 🙂 and I wish you lots of success with the RedBubble site.
    Carol

    • Thank you, Carol!! I will take all the well-wishes I can get! 🙂

  9. Spectacular, Tracy! Love those colors!
    Surface tension must be in the air today – or the bubbles, anyway!
    I’ll probably instantly be thrown into a fit of jealous sobbing, but I’m off to check out your link anyway.
    🙂

    • *sob sob*
      Dang it…
      *sob sob*
      I knew this would happen!
      *sob sob*
      😉

    • Thanks so much, Sig! 🙂

      Funny, when I saw your bubble shot today it was I who was jealous! So brilliant! 🙂

  10. That’s a pretty amazing shot tracy, and you’ve reminded me of my redbubble account too.. lol.. Must dust the cobwebs off that myself one day..

    • Thanks, Bri!

      I took a peek…nice stuff over there! Yes, go NOW and do some dusting! 🙂

  11. This is pretty cool Tracy. Some really nice color and great lines. It’s a really fine abstract. Good luck with the shared management. Most people think professional photography is a life filled with adventure and accolades. If only that were true…for more than just a few of us any way.

    • Thank you so very much, Steve! Your words are very kind, indeed. 🙂

      Sigh…yes, there are the downsides to being a pro photographer and lately, I seem to be bogged down with many of them. Tough economy for visual artists and those of us who still like to practice “pure” photography techniques and not rely so much on computer software to “fix” our images. Tough times and I am not so sure anymore I will survive.

  12. It’s been a while since I’ve been here. I have just been enjoying browsing through your images and posts. Your work seems highly innovative, ingenious and fun. I like the Red Bubble. A question about that, if you will. I put an ID sticker on the back of Dad’s authorized archival digital prints and my own archival digital prints. It is a special all-archival quality sticker, even the stickum is archival. I had to search far and wide to find such a critter. The sticker includes image info and a signature. Do you know, with any of these services like Red Bubble, if it is possible to get them to put these stickers on after they make a print? Do you have them ship your prints directly? In that case, what do you do about quality CONTROL? With Dad’s work especially, I have to be concerned that each print is perfect and museum quality, 50, 100, 200? years from now.

    • Welcome back, David! 🙂

      Thank you for your kind words. I am by no means a redbubble expert as I’ve just started putting my work there. I don’t think folks expect archival-quality prints from redbubble. I don’t think they are that kind of site. When I printed everything myself, all of my work was museum quality. I finally decided to just let that go in order to get my work out to more people. I also like the idea of having photos on iphone cases (perhaps appeal to a younger audience).

      Another photographer on redbubble suggested that I look into Fine Art America for higher quality prints. Here is a link to a discussion on FAA where you can get sample packs of their print media:

      http://fineartamerica.com/showmessages.php?messageid=676675

      You could always contact them re: the sticker thing. Maybe they do something already.

      I haven’t done anything with FAA (yet) but hope to at some point.

      • Got some more information on the redbubble print quality. Here is a response to a question I posted in their help forums:

        Canvas PrintsPrinted with Epson pigment inks using Giclée inkjets to ensure a long life
        UV protection provided by a clear lacquer

        PostersThey’re printed on durable 180GSM matte stock. These posters are water-proof, which we discovered when James “washed” one in the sink. Although the print survived surprisingly well, we recommend ordering new posters in preference to scrubbing them under a faucet.

        Photographic Prints (includes mounted prints, framed prints, matted prints)Superior quality silver halide prints
        Lustre or Metallic finish
        Lustre – Kodak ENDURA professional photo paper with a fine grain pebble texture.
        Metallic – Kodak ENDURA Metallic paper has a glossy finish and metallic appearance that creates images with exceptional visual interest and depth.This is the traditional wet/chemical process.”

        I, for one, was glad to read this as it indicates the print/ink quality is there. I know some redbubble artists complain about their prints not looking like they see them on their monitor but I suspect that has everything to do with their system not being properly color-calibrated. I use EyeOne by Gretag Macbeth so I am pretty confident that my colors are correct (I’ve had excellent results with other online printing such a Blurb).

  13. Congratulations on this new venture. Blog more details for us as it gets going.

  14. Congratulations on start on redbubble. You have really a load of excellent photos. Wish you a lot of sold photos. Keep us informed how satisfied you are.

    • Thank you so very much, Tomas, for the kind words of encouragement! Much appreciated! 🙂

  15. Welcome to the 21st century! 🙂 Now, you have more time for promotion. What? You’d thought you have more time to take photos? 😉

    BTW, that is a gorgeous macro photo.

    • Thank you, Scott! It takes me awhile… 😉

      Ugh. I am so not good at promotion! Want the job?? 🙂

  16. Welcome to Redbubble! I’ve sold a few things on there, and get my Calendars done by them every year.

  17. Found you via Ted’s blog. Fantastic pictures and your playground equipment book is amazing. I had forgotten about the joys of some of those things.

    • Welcome! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! I so appreciate the positive encouragement and feedback. You are very sweet! 🙂

  18. It has to be hard to give up that control. I know I would have a tough time. BUT a smart woman, and even more importantly a smart BUSINESS woman, knows when you need help. You found it and I wish you the best of luck!

    • Oh, you know me so well, Amy!! 🙂 It WAS very difficult but now that I’ve relinquished, I feel very good about it. Thank you SO MUCH for your blog love and support! MUCH appreciated!! 😀


Leave a Reply

