Skip navigation


Seems I’ve got a case of ‘warm fuzzies’ with all the yellow flowers blooming in the neighborhood! Now, I could have gone for forsythia, daffodil or tulip but nope. What caught my camera’s eye today were the dandelions! Go figure. 😉

“Dandy” (Taraxacum officinale, aka Common Dandelion) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/3.8, 1/2000s, ISO 200

Snubbed by most as a lowly weed, but when you get belly-down to these sunny blossoms you start to see them in a whole different light.

“The Art of the Dandelion” (Taraxacum officinale, aka Common Dandelion) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8, F/6.3, 1/200s, ISO 200

Ever take a close look at the leaves? Before today I can’t really say that I had. And there they’ve been all along…the spikey, deep green background players, edged and veined in purple, with little white tips, waiting patiently for someone, anyone, to take notice.

Well, there ya go little dandelion. Sorry it took me soooo long. 🙂

26 Comments

  1. I just love that purple lined green leaf!!! Sooo lush!

    • Thank you, whitebuffalo! 🙂

      Perhaps the dandelion should be upgraded from weed to ‘royal flower’? 😉

  2. They are beautiful, Tracy! 🙂

  3. How dandy! 😉 These are so beautiful…..love the colors.

    • Thanks much, Carol! I tried really hard to get good background colors (knowing purple would be perfect)! So, there I was, literally flat out on the ground! Thank you for noticing!! 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness! Beautiful!
    I have always loved dandelions…and have always been looked at strangely when I mention it. But really….is there anything prettier than a yellow speckled lawn filled with dandelions?? Some only see weed, I see gorgeous color.
    Just might have to go spend some time with my weeds today. 😉

    • Ha! Thank you, KD! 🙂

      How am I not surprised that you, too, like to root for the underdog? 😉 I mean, that is what the weeds are, right? We go out an spend good money on flowering annuals and perennials (which, alot of the time, die on us because they are so needy) when we have all these FREE flowers nature provides us that grow without us doing a thing! For the ‘most intelligent beings on the planet’ we certainly do stupid things! 🙂

      Have fun with your weeds today! 🙂

  5. I really like the first one, especially the mix of bright yellow and violet in the background. I would perhaps focus a liiiitle bit closer on the center. Dandelions are amazing flower if you get realy close (http://closenature.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/meadow-sun-and-a-bit-of-fun/)

    • Thanks, Tomas! 🙂

      At first I thought the very same thing of that first image, and almost didn’t post it. BUT, the more I looked at it, the more I liked the dreamy quality of it. The 105mm macro at F/3.8 results in a VERY shallow DOF that I think works here (I wanted the orange-y yellow spikes to stand out with just a hint of the center…sort of like it was hiding). I appreciate your input! 🙂

      Those are gorgeous macros of the dandelion! Soft and dreamy, too! 🙂

  6. The color combination in the first one is super, lovely selective focus detail as well. I like the shallow DOF look. I should pay more attention to the leaves, they look cool!

    • Thanks so much, Tom! Amazing what the camera ‘sees’ before we do, huh? 😉

  7. pretty pretty!

  8. I took a few dandelion shots today too! Lovely detail here. My grandmother used to pick, cook and serve the greens with a little or a lot of vinegar drizzled on top. They were pretty bitter.

    • Cool! Can’t wait to see what you shot, Becky!

      I don’t think I’ve ever eaten them. I have heard they are a bitter green, popular in the South.

      Thank you, Becky! 🙂

  9. So nice, M.P.!
    Dandelions are my wife’s favorite… which is kind of funny, because growing up there wasn’t a single one to be found in my dad’s lawn… and it’s a big lawn!
    🙂

    • Thanks, SIG!:-)

      So, what you’re really sayin’ is, Annabelle goes for the underdog type. Explains sooooo much… 😉

      • Hahaha!
        ABSOLUTELY!
        Thank god some smart women really do like slow guys.
        🙂

      • Me and Annabelle have ALOT in common. 😉

  10. Great! I love the shallow depth of field in these shots!

    • Thanks so much! I do LOVE macro and that 105mm lens is sweet! 🙂

  11. Really pretty, Tracy! The dandelion is such a cheerful little flower. 🙂

    • Thank you, Robin! It is, isn’t it? Mother Nature’s yellow polka-dots! 🙂

  12. The first shot – is a winner! Love it.


Leave a Reply

