Skip navigation


________________________________________________________________________

If we opened our minds to enjoyment, we might find tranquil pleasures spread about us on every side. We might live with the angels that visit us on every sunbeam, and sit with the fairies who wait on every flower. ~Samuel Smiles

_______________________________________________________________________

“Tulip Fairy” (Red Tulip) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/5.6, 1/500s, ISO 400

When I was photographing the dandelions last week, a nearby solitary red tulip caught my attention as the sun was lighting it from above, illuminating the interior like a flickering candle. I casually snapped off a few quick shots and then returned back to the dandelions, thinking nothing more of it at the time.

Imagine my surprise, then, to discover the presence of a flower fairy! She must have been watching me as they are known to be shy, yet curious spirits.

Not knowing a darn thing about flower fairies, I did a little research and was pleased to learn that the Tulip Fairy is associated with LOVE:

“Since the tulip is shaped like a chalice, this is the ‘loving cup’ from which the tulip fairy encourages you to imbibe, to feel the blessings of Nature. One of the messages of the tulip fairy is to have the courage to be vulnerable, because only in this way can any of us ever know closeness and fulfilment.”

Hmmm. I think, as artists, we often find ourselves in a place of vulnerability, essentially putting ourselves ‘out there’ for all to see and, therefore, to be criticized. I admit that some days, I struggle to find the courage to do it.

Perhaps, I simply need to look to the tulips. 🙂

32 Comments

  1. OH MY GOSH! (I actually said that out loud the second I looked at your photo! ) SO COOL!!! 😀

    • lol, KD! Your comment has me smiling! Thank you! 🙂

      It IS cool, right?! I’m glad she looks like a friendly fairy… and of the three shots I took, she only appeared in the second one. (queue ghostly music…. 😉 )

      • Ya know….oddly enough, my head is tingling. 😉 LOL (Just kidding of course.)

      • lol! I knew it! 🙂

  2. Your photograph and writing go together wonderfully. Red tulips are much more impressive and expressive to me than red roses have ever been. Thank you.

    • Oh, thank you for such a wonderfully sweet comment! I didn’t know as I was writing this post where it would end up. So glad it made sense! 🙂

  3. So lovely, Tracy! Your words ring so true. I always tremble (mentally, if not physically) just before I submit something. Here is something I found this last week you might be interested in:

    http://www.jonacuff.com/blog/haters-hurt-your-feelings-good/

    http://www.jonacuff.com/blog/quit-giving-the-haters-phds/

    I hope that these links work, if not cut and paste into your browser. (good stuff, at least for me where I’m at) 🙂

    • Thank you, Ted! Good to know I’m not the only one! 🙂

      Good links….both of them. Jon Acuff is a wise man. 😉

  4. I saw her right away…although like you I wouldn’t have seen her in the field. Lovely post, Tracy.

    • Many thanks, Steve! I think this is the way with fairies…only revealing themselves when needed. I’m glad I bothered to view the images on my monitor or else could have missed the magic altogether! 🙂

  5. She is beautiful!!! I love this post! 🙂

  6. Very artistic! Enjoyed viewing your other images. You have created a very good blog. Oh, thanks for stopping my site and leaving a comment. ~ Best ~

    • Thankd, Rick! So glad you took a look around and I truly appreciate your positive comments! 🙂

  7. Lovely picture! I wonder how it would look like if you cropped out the stem almost completely! That would be a totally cool abstract!

    • Thank you, Derrick! 🙂

      Hmmmm, interesting idea. There’s always that fine line between ‘cool’ and ‘creepy’ and for me, without it looking like a flower, it turns towards ‘creepy’. Probably just me. 😉

      • LOL. Shouldn’t you be at Disney?? It’s been like 3 whole weeks since you’ve been there last!! hehe!!

      • (Shhhhhh, hubby has been wanting to go, but who needs Florida when it has been 80 degrees here??)

  8. I saw her instantly and think she is beautiful. She is a gift to you and your artistic ways!

    • Thank you so much, Tammy! What a lovely way to think of her! 🙂

  9. Amazing!! How will you keep the image…dry it perhaps? Oh, you have probably taken lots of photos, that is another way to keep her. You must have felt so surprised.

    • Thank you, Birgitte! 🙂

      Oh, the image isn’t pernament on the flower but something created via light and shadow. It only appeared on one of the 3 images I took of the flower. Just one of those ‘magic gifts’ Mother Nature provides every now and again when we most need it. Yes, a surprise indeed! 🙂

  10. It is scary to do what we do and put ourselves out there. The rewards, thankfully, bring us so much more joy in the end. She is a beautiful little one, your Tuilip farie.

  11. The loveliest Rorschach I ever did see…
    🙂

  12. Mystical and magical experiences you have. Good she brings love to you! I will stick to the tulips the next days 😉

    • Thanks! Sometimes, I do get lucky! 🙂

      Yes, go ‘tip toe through the tulips’, Truels, and find yourself a tulip fairy of love! 🙂

  13. How lucky you are to be in the presence of a flower fairy! Very cool for you to spot it.

  14. What an amazing capture! Lucky, lucky you, to have been blessed by a fairy that way. 🙂


Leave a Reply

