Skip navigation


“Soul Patch” (Bearded Iris) Nikon D300, 420mm (VR 200-400mm F/4G w/1.4x Teleconverter), F/8, 1/100s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

One of the perks of having a garden is the opportunity to share plants with other gardeners. Many perennials benefit from being “split” and it is a great way to achieve a diverse landscape that is also, rich in history.

Prime example – the bearded irises shown here came from my good friend and next-door neighbor, Nancy, and have a 100+ year-old lineage! Imagine that! 🙂

Here’s the story as told to me by Nancy:

“They were in my mother’s grandmother’s yard and were transplanted to my aunt’s (my mother’s sister) yard in Hanson, Massachusetts. She shared them with me twenty-five years ago when she moved to Florida. I planted them in my mother-in-law’s garden in Beverly Farms and then moved them to this house in 1988. Whew! Since then I’ve shared them with many people who love irises”.

“Drawn” (Bearded Iris with Hoverfly) Nikon D300, 550mm (VR 200-400mm F/4G w/1.4x Teleconverter), F/11, 1/50s, ISO 640, Slightly Cropped

Aren’t I a lucky, lucky girl?And so are all of you since now you get to enjoy them as well! 🙂

I hope to split and pass some of these “heirloom” rhizomes onto some other lucky gardener(s) one day. Just the thought of them growing and blooming long after I’m gone is somehow comforting to me. My link in the “proverbial” chain of life, so to speak, albeit a teeny-tiny one.

Aside from irises, other transplant “gifts” I’ve received (as well as given) include: rhubarb, daylily, peony, hosta, azalea,  rhododendron, monkshood, balloon flower, rudbeckia and butterfly bush. I’m sure there are more but this is all I could think of! 🙂

44 Comments

  1. I like the idea of flowers having a lineage/history. Passing on beauty from one person to another, from one generation to another.

    Gorgeous images. 🙂

    • Me, too! Much better than the usual, “That plant? Oh, I bought it at Home Depot…” 😉

      Thank you, Robin! 🙂

  2. Lovely, lovely shots, the colours are gorgeous. The second shot is amazing, it’s like the bee is about to enter a floral throne room!

    • Thank you so much, JP! 🙂

      I agree! Another thought I had about the hoverfly was that it was peering into the depths of a raging volcano and just couldn’t help itself!

  3. Absolutely wonderful!! Like JP, I think that second shot is awesome, it implies such a story from the flies point of view. We split our irises last year and gave away at least 50 to a lady I work with. It is a joy to be able to give the gift of these flowers. 🙂

    • Thank you, Ted!! I knew you’d like them! 🙂

      How nice for that lady!! I’m sure she will pass them along to folks as well! 🙂

  4. Fantastic images and great back story!

  5. Maybe you can share some of those rhizomes with your mother. LOL
    You know how I love sharing plants.

  6. Very nice images. First shot has a very good background, most people miss this !

    • Thank you, Rick! 🙂

      Oh, once you get to know me you realize I am so much about the background as I am about the subject! I took many, many, many, MANY shots of this flower in this configuration, raising an lowering my angle to play with the background. I really liked the gradation from light at the top to dark on the bottom, which made this shot, the clear winner of the bunch! Thank you for noticing! 🙂

  7. I like the Pic with the “Hoverfly”!! It reminds me of a “car” (the hoverfly) driving down a desert highway into the setting sun!! Pretty Cool if You ask Me!! It is a Pretty Amazing Photograph!!

    • Why, thank you, Bob! I love your interpretation of that image! Your wonderful comment is very much appreciated and I hope you stop by again! 🙂

  8. One of my all-time fav’s! Irises are awesome and these shots are lovely. I took some pictures of buds this week because I’ve been so anxious for them to open. I’ve been rewarded with one bloom today.

    • Thank you, Karma! 🙂

      I’ve moved these arounbd so much in my garden that I hadn’t had that many blooms in years past. I think I finally got them in a spot they like since they are now blooming! Hooray! Let’s hope they multiply and keep putting on a show each and every spring!

  9. Pretty pretty! We have some irises at my park that are at least 70 years old… they’re great!

    • Thank you, Derrick! You sound like “Tony the Tiger!” 😉

      • LOL, now I want some frosted flakes!

      • I’ll get the milk! 😉

      • Now you’ve added that craving to a bag of cheetos I’ve been fighting with the last few days. 😉

      • You’re welcome! 🙂

      • I’m still craving some frosted flakes, you know.

      • I give you permission to go buy yourself some! Hey, you only live once, right? 😉

      • LOL… this is my stress eating week so no fair!

      • Who said life is fair? 😀

        Relax, Frosted Flakes are one of the good cereals…made with whole grains and all…

  10. The second shot really gets me…

  11. Amazing story. Amazing flower. Amazing photos. Amazing photographer.

  12. Okay, okay… there’s a point when you almost get too good with flowers, M.P… you clearly need an EPIC challenge at this point… I should send you some of my sad, sad wilting plants to photograph (if anyone could make them look good it would obviously be you)!
    🙂

    • LOL! You give me waaaaay too much credit there, Sig! You see, when you start with awesome flowers, it is almost IMPOSSIBLE to take a bad shot!

      Thanks so much! 🙂

  13. Nice photos, Tracy. Whew… I didn’t know that flowers can have so long history, I mean a flower from “one root”. Regarding Irises, I like them also and I think that you just made me want to focus on them more this year as their time is yet to come and we have a new apricot colour variety. Thanks for inspiration!

    • Thank you so much, Tomas! Flowers have a rich history…one of the peonies in my garden is from a plant that was in my grandfather’s garden and then my mother’s garden. Nice to have that thought when I see them in bloom each year.

      Glad I could inspire you! 🙂

  14. So very beautiful! Again great focus and glorious color!

  15. Oh, I forgot to add that I love garden stories. I have a similar one regarding my rhubarb.

    • Ha! Me, too! I love talking to others about gardening and sharing stories. Really connects us all as well as to this planet we live on. With the warm temps finally here (yay!) the garden is coming into its own now. LOVE this time of year!!! 🙂

  16. Wonderful shots. The first is a lovely homage to this colourful Iris. But the second is absolutely amazing. A small bee at the entrance to her personal wonderland.

    • Thank you very much! “A small bee at the entrance to her personal wonderland”…a lovely way to state it. 🙂

      So nice to see a new face in the comments! Nice work on your blog…you have a keen eye for nature. I hope you visit often! 🙂

  17. Beautiful shots! The second one is such a neat perspective

    -Nick

  18. I like the play on words of your title.

    Steve Schwartzman

    • Thanks so much, Steve! Glad someone noticed my “cleverness!” 😉


Leave a Reply

